We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Ranked #55 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. The hotel is located very close to St Mark's Square and a high end shopping area, as well as a loading area for the gondolas. People - watching is great from the 2nd floor balcony! The rooms are small with high ceilings and clean. The staff is wonderful- helpful, smiling, and knowledgeable. The breakfast is very well appointed. We would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jwood3116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice hotel within a five minute walk from St. Marks square. Nice breakfast although it can get very crowded to find an open table later on in the morning. There is a gondola stand just outside the door and you are in the midst of the "fine" shopping district. Rooms were fine but small, showers were a little awkward, but typical for many European hotels. Also, pleasant service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Violino D'Oro for 3 nights with my husband to celebrate our wedding anniversary in the most romantic city of the world! We had given room 203 which was located on the 2nd floor viewing at the canal and the piazza! Very nice room with view and quite too. The hotel has elevator so no need to worry about carrying the luggage. The hotel had provided complimentary wine "prosseco" on arrival. The breakfast was great. Excellent location - easy access to most major attractions. We found everyone in the hotel to be courteous and helpful.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for four days and had a lovely experience. Very friendly staff, we had a superior room looking out over the canal wich was a +. Breakfast was plenty and of good quality and a fresh espresso gave you the perfect start to each day. Could not fault anything and will certainly want to stay here again coming back to venice, certainly since its located perfectly and yet quiet enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel with a warm welcome from staff. Rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very nice and plenty to choose from. Location was perfect. Would come back again. Our room was 103 with a lovely view and the other 3 rooms for the rest of our family were all on the same landing with tables and chairs which was perfect as we all sat together and drunk our Prosecco on the landing. Thank you Violino for making two couples 30th wedding anniversaries perfect.

Room Tip: 103 with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexMaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located near by Piazza San Marco and the vapporetto station of San Marco Vallerosso. The room was confortable, but the wardrobe should have some shelves for clothes. The staff was really kind and helpfull. The bathroom was very clean but the shower should ve bigger maybe by taking out the bidet. Breakfast was wonderful and you can ask the staff for a espresso or a cappuccino instead of regular american coffee. It was a nice experience and we hope to come back soon!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a great little hotel right in the heart of Venice - perfectly located for first time visitors. Staff were very helpful - we were able to leave our luggage at 8 am after disembarking a cruise ship. 1 to 2 bridges from major vaporetto stops and St Marks Square. Breakfast had a lot of variety for a small hotel. The bottle of Prosecco and little treats were great. Wifi very good. Our room had a little balcony which you got to by going through the bathroom - very Venitian we thought. We booked via hotel website and confirmations etc were promptly answered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vada_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
857 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#59 of 385 in Venice
760 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £72 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing