We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Ranked #58 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient location in Venice”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice hotel with easy access to St. Marks Sq. and vaporetto stops. Great showing nearby as well as gondola rides. Room was spacious, bed was comfortable. Air conditioning was inadequate. We required a floor can to keep the room cool at night. Very complete breakfast. Hotel was good value with convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icepucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    438
    81
    16
    6
See reviews for
191
768
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We went for a journey of three days. Everything was perfect in this charming little hotel. Very good situated, 5 minutes from the Saint Marc place and the center with all the shop and little narrow streets . Excellent service. Staff is really at your service if needed. Good prices. Perfect adress to keep in mind

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliciablom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, quiet hotel, spacious rooms, friendly staff, lovely breakfast with a view to gondolas outside the window. Easy walk to most attractions, and close to catch public ferries. Walk a little further from the St Marks area to find more reasonably priced restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Hotel Violino d'Oro is in an excellent location. It is on the Rio de San Moise canal, a gondola station is out the front, the hotel fronts a square and St Marks Square is a 5 minute stroll away. We came by vaporetto and the hotel was easy to find and was only a 5 minute walk away.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, and those breakfasts, - the best we have had so far on our four weeks of travelling. I especially appreciated that the coffee was freshly ground and made to order. The hotel had a lift which was good for us, a couple in their 60's.
We stayed four nights in the Junior Suite, ( room 301 ) and it was worth every cent to pay more and choose this room. The room was huge and we had our own private terrace, 5 m x 5 w, that overlooked the canal and square. We spent a lot of time on the terrace laying on the lounges and listening to the sounds of life below us. To hear the serenading on the gondolas as they passed was great. People watching from our terrace was a favourite pastime! Also we had room to do our laundry and let it dry in the open air without intruding on our visual space nor being able to be seen from below.

I would thoroughly recommend spoiling yourself and staying in room 301 at the Hotel Violino d'Oro.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is well worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived in Venice by train, and took a taxi boat to the dock by St Mark's Square. It is a bit of a walk to the Hotel from the drop off point. If you have large luggage you have a couple of stairs walkways you will have to go up and down. The walk is about 10 minutes. The hotel is right of St Mark's Square so you are really nicely located. Rooms were very nice. Bed's are hard, pillows somewhat flat, but a little ingenuity can make the beds more comfortable. I put blankets under the bottom sheet. The bathroom is small but clean, new and has the complimentary shampoo, soap, hair dryer, even tooth brush and tooth past (small amount). The breakfast are in the main floor but very good and a big variety of items. WIFI is included and pretty good connections. We were on the second floor and discovered a small patio area off the second floor which we utilized a lot. Outdoors, but quiet and private.

Room Tip: I requested an iron which I was pleasantly surprised that it actually came with an ironing board. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slfrickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Picked this hotel based off of reviews and suggestions from trip advisor. We made an awesome decision, as soon as we walked in we were greeted by an awesome man named Raz. He made the check in process simple. He gave us out key and we were off to our room. We were assigned room 210. Awesome room with it's own little private balcony. The room was a bit larger than the rooms we had in London or Paris (hotel rooms in Europe our all tiny no matter where you stay). The hotel was extremely central to St Marks square about a 5 min walk and also about 5 minutes from the boat bus stop. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainman0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was very nice, very clean, and room was very spacious for Venice. The included breakfast was great -- best breakfast we had during our 10 days in Italy. The hotel is located on a canal, just a block from the Grand Canal and was very easy to find (use the hotel's map). The location is within walking distance of everything, and far enough away from the crowds at St. Marks. I booked directly with the hotel which was cheaper than through travel booking sites and it included a welcome bottle of champagne and a water taxi (not Valporetto) trip to Murano and free glass factory tour (return trip is on your own, but Valporetto is just 7 euros). Murano was really nice and worth the trip! And the free water taxi trip was great! I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Any room is good. We didn't have a view of the canal but didn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamFromHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#45 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#25 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#56 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Property: Hotel Violino d'Oro
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing