We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find of a Hotel”
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #82 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Spent a few nights at this hotel with family recently in July. We all really enjoyed our stay. The location was excellent. Very easy to get to (with luggage!!) from the San Zaccharia waterbus stop. The Hotel felt very homely and the Family who run the Hotel were so friendly and helpful too. Would definitely stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We felt like we were staying with family rather than staying in a hotel. The people you spoke with had an ownership interest in the hotel, so all issues were quickly resolved efficiently. The friendly and invaluable advice from staff was much appreciated. The most outstanding characteristic of this hotel was definitely the location. Just around the corner from the Church of San Zaccaria, it was a short and pleasant stroll from Piazza San Marco, which you must see in Venice. Catch the #4.1 (about 25 minutes) or the #1 (about an hour) ferry from the Venezia Santa Lucia train station and disembark at the San Zaccaria pier, so you don't have to lug your luggage over the bridge (which are stepped without a ramp). Breakfast was good each morning - I especially enjoyed the croissants!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in May 2013. This hotel is just what we wanted. Great location, right in the heart of Venice, right on one of the many piazzas one finds in Italy. The hotel was very clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is very close to the San Zaccharia water transportation stop, where we arrived from the airport, and then left for the train station. It’s also, literally, just a few minutes from St. Mark’s Square.

We stayed in Room 1, which gave us pause at the outset, worried that it would be noisy, right at the top of the stairs on the first floor. But, it turned out to be extremely quiet. .

If we ever visit Venice again, we would definitely book the Fontana. If this hotel seems to fit the category someone is looking for, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Excellent location. In a small square a short distance from St. Mark's square. Excellent customer service and very friendly staff. we stayed 3 nights. Was very close to catch San Zaccharia waterbus stop. nice small bar area, breakfast buffet included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colorado2Connection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A week-long stay in Venice was made all the better by the Hotel Fontana.

The hotel itself was very easy to find if getting off at the San Zaccharia waterbus stop, and can be reached in a couple of minutes. It was also about 7 minutes from St Mark's Square.

On arrival, we were greeted enthusiastically and provided with useful information on how to get around. Since it was also recently my birthday I was given a lovely photograph of Venice from the air, taken by a member of the Stainer family, who run the hotel.

The room was exactly what we needed, clean and airy with excellent air conditioning which was definitely needed at this time of year. The room faced out onto a busy thoroughfare but this didn't bother us at all since we were so tired at night to be concerned with any noise, and with the windows also having shutters it would have been possible to lessen noise from the street.

Housekeeping were fantastic, changing the bed often and making the room feel fresh again.

The breakfast that was provided was a lovely continental breakfast, and left us feeling satisfied every morning.

Another bonus was the great bar next door to the hotel, Bacaro Risorto, which had a great atmosphere and great lively young staff.

The staff were fantastic overall, and keen to help with any request. For any future trips to Venice we would definitely be staying at the Hotel Fontana, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

In July (2012), in the heat and mass of tourists the Hotel Fontana was the most welcoming oasis. The hotel was small but perfect everything outside at ones fingertips. The most benefit for us as a couple staying there was the extent to which they made our stay so enjoyable no limits to where this was or that was - how long to get here and then get there - visit this Restaurant and then another one would also be recommended and everything totally honestly with our well being the central focus of the professional family's efforts from morning til night.

Room Tip: All rooms have airconditioning and, at the rear, are quiet even at the height of the season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRicardo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I wasn't sure about this one, the website doesn't give alot away and the reviews were mixed, but I needn't have worried. A clean and tidy hotel, in a fabulous location, it's within three minutes of the vaporetto stop from the airport (and no bridges if you have luggage). The hotel is in a small 'square' (actually more of a triangle) with three decent restaurants and a quaint bar within five metres of its front door, and plenty more in the surrounding streets. Despite this, its actually quite quiet and not as crowded with tourists as other streets. I had a courtyard room, though, which might have helped. Room was a decent size for Venice: included a double and single bed which would have been great if I'd been with the family. TV was only Sky pay-per-view and looked to be mostly in Italian, but you don't go to Venice to watch TV. The bathroom was very small - stand up shower only and little space. Breakfasts were a bit synthetic but plenty of it - rolls, cheese and ham, eggs, sliced fruit (tinned), yoghurt, croissants, cereals, etc. Machine coffee and juice: nothing was hand-cooked. Staff were friendly and helpful; young chap on the desk spoke good English, a towel rail that fell down was fixed swiftly without fuss and without me even reporting it. There's a lift!
I have stayed in a few better hotels in Venice but the Fontana is really good value and has a good feel to it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiegoLele, Direttore at Hotel Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Sir,
I'm very happy to read about your pleasant stay at Hotel Fontana. I just want to clarify something for the readers: Sky TV is not only pay-per-view, we offer full Sky tv programs for free, including News, Cinema channels (italian and original language) and international main broadcasters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#113 of 387 in Venice
865 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#58 of 387 in Venice
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 387 in Venice
463 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#102 of 387 in Venice
843 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#18 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Address: Campo San Provolo Castello 4701, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Venice
#96 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £76 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1968 the Hotel Fontana is owned and run by the Stainer family. The building was originally built in the 18th century and restored in 1984. The typical atmosphere of a venetian house and the friendly staff will make you feel at home. All 15 rooms, overlooking campo San Zaccaria or campo San Provolo, have a private bathroom (with shower or bath-tub),air-conditioning, sat-tv,safe and telephone. Free wi-fi available in room and all common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing