We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quad Room - a rarity in Venice”
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #102 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quad Room - a rarity in Venice”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights prior to a cruise...difficult to find family/quad room but this was perfect! A double and two twin beds in a large room was ideal for our short stay. Air con was welcomed! En suite was adequate and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was simple but enough to satisfy ones appetite. The free wifi in bar area was a lifesaver for teens!!! Located close to San Marco. All in all a hotel providing very good value for money (£279 for 2 nights/quad room incl breakfast)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raquelquefois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    166
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
66
220
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Spent a few nights at this hotel with family recently in July. We all really enjoyed our stay. The location was excellent. Very easy to get to (with luggage!!) from the San Zaccharia waterbus stop. The Hotel felt very homely and the Family who run the Hotel were so friendly and helpful too. Would definitely stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We felt like we were staying with family rather than staying in a hotel. The people you spoke with had an ownership interest in the hotel, so all issues were quickly resolved efficiently. The friendly and invaluable advice from staff was much appreciated. The most outstanding characteristic of this hotel was definitely the location. Just around the corner from the Church of San Zaccaria, it was a short and pleasant stroll from Piazza San Marco, which you must see in Venice. Catch the #4.1 (about 25 minutes) or the #1 (about an hour) ferry from the Venezia Santa Lucia train station and disembark at the San Zaccaria pier, so you don't have to lug your luggage over the bridge (which are stepped without a ramp). Breakfast was good each morning - I especially enjoyed the croissants!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in May 2013. This hotel is just what we wanted. Great location, right in the heart of Venice, right on one of the many piazzas one finds in Italy. The hotel was very clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is very close to the San Zaccharia water transportation stop, where we arrived from the airport, and then left for the train station. It’s also, literally, just a few minutes from St. Mark’s Square.

We stayed in Room 1, which gave us pause at the outset, worried that it would be noisy, right at the top of the stairs on the first floor. But, it turned out to be extremely quiet. .

If we ever visit Venice again, we would definitely book the Fontana. If this hotel seems to fit the category someone is looking for, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Excellent location. In a small square a short distance from St. Mark's square. Excellent customer service and very friendly staff. we stayed 3 nights. Was very close to catch San Zaccharia waterbus stop. nice small bar area, breakfast buffet included.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colorado2Connection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A week-long stay in Venice was made all the better by the Hotel Fontana.

The hotel itself was very easy to find if getting off at the San Zaccharia waterbus stop, and can be reached in a couple of minutes. It was also about 7 minutes from St Mark's Square.

On arrival, we were greeted enthusiastically and provided with useful information on how to get around. Since it was also recently my birthday I was given a lovely photograph of Venice from the air, taken by a member of the Stainer family, who run the hotel.

The room was exactly what we needed, clean and airy with excellent air conditioning which was definitely needed at this time of year. The room faced out onto a busy thoroughfare but this didn't bother us at all since we were so tired at night to be concerned with any noise, and with the windows also having shutters it would have been possible to lessen noise from the street.

Housekeeping were fantastic, changing the bed often and making the room feel fresh again.

The breakfast that was provided was a lovely continental breakfast, and left us feeling satisfied every morning.

Another bonus was the great bar next door to the hotel, Bacaro Risorto, which had a great atmosphere and great lively young staff.

The staff were fantastic overall, and keen to help with any request. For any future trips to Venice we would definitely be staying at the Hotel Fontana, it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

In July (2012), in the heat and mass of tourists the Hotel Fontana was the most welcoming oasis. The hotel was small but perfect everything outside at ones fingertips. The most benefit for us as a couple staying there was the extent to which they made our stay so enjoyable no limits to where this was or that was - how long to get here and then get there - visit this Restaurant and then another one would also be recommended and everything totally honestly with our well being the central focus of the professional family's efforts from morning til night.

Room Tip: All rooms have airconditioning and, at the rear, are quiet even at the height of the season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRicardo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#91 of 385 in Venice
819 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 385 in Venice
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#15 of 385 in Venice
939 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#86 of 385 in Venice
413 reviews
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#104 of 385 in Venice
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Property: Hotel Fontana
Address: Campo San Provolo Castello 4701, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1968 the Hotel Fontana is owned and run by the Stainer family. The building was originally built in the 18th century and restored in 1984. The typical atmosphere of a venetian house and the friendly staff will make you feel at home. All 15 rooms, overlooking campo San Zaccaria or campo San Provolo, have a private bathroom (with shower or bath-tub),air-conditioning, sat-tv,safe and telephone. Free wi-fi available in room and all common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing