We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Venice”
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #103 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ideal location in Venice”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent two nights in Venice in March. We had a large room on the fourth floor, overlooking the church. It was very quiet and certainly large enough. The entire hotel was extremely clean. The staff were very accommodating - helping us plan our two day excursion. The location is ideal. We took the Vaporetta from the train station on arrival and walked everywhere after that - the walk to the train station is about half an hour and the routing is quite well laid out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeniorTraveller11_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    166
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
65
220
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I traveled to Venice solo and wanted a place close to the Venice Biennale sites. Hotel Fontana was perfect. Had a room to the back with a terrace overlooking San Zaccaria. The staff, in particular Diego, was very helpful and kind.
Location was great - close to vaporetto stops, Alilaguna stop from the airport and shops, cafes, etc.
Yes, I will stay in Hotel Fontana again.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back of the building - faces a courtyard - quiet day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PJ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manassas, va
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here in July during a multi-city tour of Europe. As this was my second trip to Venice, I was not interested in staying canal side at canal side prices. I was just in town long enough to go to the Biennalle and Lido beach. I stayed in a single room on the top floor expecting a claustrophobic hot room. What I received was a pleasant surprise! The room was cool, pleasant, and thee most spacious single I ever saw in Europe. The housekeeping staff kept the room fastidiously clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is family run and they were so nice and accommodating. The location a bridge free walk from the San Zaccaria stop for the Allilaguna and vaperetto and a very short walk to St. Mark's. Breakfast was basic but fine. The only drawback in my room was the shower could be a challenge for a tall man. Five foot five inch me was fine with it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suchagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

As the other reviews state, this hotel is very well located, especially if you are new to visiting Venice -- it's easy to get anywhere from there. The rooms are large and pretty comfortable, the breakfast is perfectly acceptable and served at reasonable hours, and the staff really is very warm and helpful.
There was one big problem. Mosquitoes! And we were there in October. The room had several of them every night even though we had the windows shut tight -- where did they come from?!. Got several bites and spent the nights being dive bombed by winged whiners. Not so sure this is the hotel's problem or just a reality in Venice, but be warned!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego_Stainer, Direttore at Hotel Fontana, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. I'm really sorry for the mosquitos issue but the warm temperatures and humidity have extended the phenomenon up to first weeks of November, not only in Venice but all over Italy (http://www.tgcom24.mediaset.it/2013/video/ancora-zanzare-a-novembre_2003523.shtml). We try to solve the trouble by placing repellent tablets to be used with proper device, provided in all the rooms.
I really note that you enjoyed for stay anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Hotel Fontana is in a great location, a short walk from the Alilaguna (from Marco Polo Airport) and no bridges for our rolling suitcases to navigate. We stayed for two nights prior to our cruise. Diego at the desk was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, breakfast good and the value for that amazing location near San Marco Square could not have been better. I am highly recommending this family run boutique hotel to all Vencie visitors.

Room Tip: The front rooms of the hotel overlook the street and a little noise...but that is the charm of a Ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CST747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Fontana where my wife and I were celebrating our 25th Silver wedding anniversary. What can I say?

On arrival we were met by Gabriello who was wonderful. Immediately upgraded our room as it was our 25th to a room with balcony overlooking San Zaccaria church and square.
The rooms are clean and the towels changed every day. The rooms are small but adequate for your visit, with plenty of hot water. The rooms are not luxurious but are really well priced and comfortable.

Gabriello and his cousin run the hotel and in all honesty could not be anymore helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were both eager to offer advice and help. As Venetians go they are a credit to all Italians!

Breakfast is Continental style. Tea, coffee, rolls and meats if you want or cereals and lovely croissants are available. Food is adequate but please do not expect large fried breakfasts.

The lobby and foyer has a small bar with free WIFI!

Appart from the lovely people who run the hotel the best reason for staying at this hotel is....location, location, location!!
A couple of good restaurants opposite, wine bar next door and only 2 mins to the Vaporetto stop in San Zaccaria. (and I mean only 2mins). Only 5 mins to the square at San Marco with the Basillica (St Marks Cathedral). Campanile (Bell Tower) and The Doges Palace!

The Vaporettos and public transport system in Venice is excellent. Do not be afraid to absorb everything Venice has to offer. Be bold and walk! We walked miles around the different Sestierres (Districts). We got lost once but soon found our way. We took a 24hr ticket to use the Vaporettos and were not disappointed. Just remember to get onto the platform for the right direction. Once you understand the stops are much like the tube in London you will get it!
On our 24hr ticket we walked to Fuerte Nove and caught boat to the Islands. We could have caught boat from san Zaccaria but it has to travel lot further around venice. Fuerte Nove is located North and about 20min walk.
Caught the vaporetto to MURANO - Very good! Watch them make the glass and wonder the streets. Then caught the vaporetto to BURANO - Amazing! Take your camera and go to Burano. Eye catching images of colour. Houses painted in all colours of the rainbow. (This was our favourite place and recommended by Gabriello at our hotel).
Another must see trip is to go to RIALTO BRIDGE. We had a lovely meal alongside the Grande Canal. We also walked down to san Paulo district and went over the bridge at Accademia. This is where the Universities tend to be. Food is a little cheaper here and the atmosphere quite vibrant at night.

Gondalas!! They tend to have a set price of 80 Euros for a Gondala. Not cheap but my wife and I did it because on our anniversary. 40mins soaking in the atmosphere!!

In summary.....The Hotel Fontana is not luxury but is very well positioned for all the major attractions and sights in Venice. The food in Venice is not cheap. You can easily spend 50-80 Euros on a meal for two. However, there are cheaper options you just have to check out the many menus and prices. Be careful! There is normally a 12% service charge and an additional cover charge per person but some restaurants offer No service or Cover. Food in general everywhere was of a really good standard. I recommend the Falciani Ristorante just off St Marks. Not hugely expensive but good quality meal. We went back!!! And he remember us and gave us a free drink! Also the Ristorante Terrazza Sommariva by the Rialto Bridge. You can sit outside in October by the Grande Canal. They have little heaters and is always busy. Good quality food!!!!
Local drink in Venice is the SPRITZ - made of Aperto, Campari, Soda. Really nice! Try it!
The water in Venice is perfectly safe to drink from the tap! No ill effects whatsoever. In fact its okay to drink from the many water fountains around venice. Tipping is up to you. They dont expect it but the occasional tip gets you a free drink if they remember you when you go back!

My wife and I took 1000 photos and 50 video clips in 5 days! Awesome place!
Thank you Venice and thank you Hotel Fontana for such a great holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you are looking for comfortable, centrally located, well priced accomodation in Venice ...look no further. Although not luxurious it represents good value, is clean and the family could not be nicer or more helpful. Rooms overlooking the street can be a bit noisy but quietens down after midnight.

Room Tip: Ask for room 14 or Superior rooms with terrace are 9 &10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#94 of 385 in Venice
815 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#15 of 385 in Venice
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 385 in Venice
682 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#26 of 385 in Venice
791 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#88 of 385 in Venice
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Property: Hotel Fontana
Address: Campo San Provolo Castello 4701, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1968 the Hotel Fontana is owned and run by the Stainer family. The building was originally built in the 18th century and restored in 1984. The typical atmosphere of a venetian house and the friendly staff will make you feel at home. All 15 rooms, overlooking campo San Zaccaria or campo San Provolo, have a private bathroom (with shower or bath-tub),air-conditioning, sat-tv,safe and telephone. Free wi-fi available in room and all common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing