We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable location and wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
Ranked #82 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Hertzlia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Unbelievable location and wonderful stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We've booked Fontana for a 2 nights' stay pre-cruise, mainly because its location on the Alilaguna Blue Line and its affordable price. Turns out it was a brilliant choice.
From the airport directly to the S. Zaccaria stop, and then, we simply couldn't believe it, 3 min walk to the hotel, no steps and no bridges to cross.
This hotel enjoys the benefits of being right in the middle of action, while located in a quite square. 5 min walk to S. Marco, 20 min to Rialto Bridge. We walked everywhere.
The room (for Venice, that's it) and bathroom were very spacious and spotless clean, with a variety of amenities. The breakfast was included and was various and tasty. The staff - very friendly and helpful.
After our short stay, we walked again to the S. Zaccaria stop and took the Alilaguna Blue Line to the ship terminal. Less than half an hour later, we found ourselves right near our ship, no hassle and no fuss, for 8 Euro pp.
Excellent location and stay, what more can u desire? Much recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielakorem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    172
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
73
226
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Agonized over where to stay while in Venice as part of our 2-week 30th Wedding Anniversary trip to Italy. Considered everything from b&b, vrbo, to 5-star hotels and finally settled on this...What a gem! Quaint & charming. A/C (self regulated), elevator, and complimentary continental breakfast. Room was plenty of space for us as a travelling couple (but who's going to Venice to stay in their room for a long period of time?!) Clean and well kept. Easily requested, and were provided, extra towels and hair dryer. Free wifi to guests; accessible in lobby and restaurant area. We got there before check-in time and they happily watched our bags while we scampered around town and began our trip. Family owned and operated, Diego spoke wonderful English and was a HUGE help in providing directions. Claudio ran the desk while Diego was away and though not part of the family, was friendly and helpful as well (his English wasn't as good as Diego's). Would DEFINITELY stay there again!

* Short walk (just a couple of blocks - straight shot - easy to find) from San Zaccharia Vaparetto stop

Room Tip: Room # 12 on 3rd floor has a terrace with a view of nearby San Zaccharia cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Pitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Great for what we needed. Nice clean hotel with helpful staff that will provide you with whatever you need. Located far enough from St mark's that there were no crowds but close enough that everything is right around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel had a great location not far from St. Mark's Square. Easy walk there and to the vaporetto. Staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was decent. I stayed on the 4th floor and one of the drawbacks was the size of the bathroom. It was very small and the shower had a low ceiling. I am tall, so I was afraid I would have to stoop, but luckily there was a skylight that I could stand under that gave me room. There was also no hair dryer, which is a basic item I expect in a hotel. The last night in the hotel I had the window open and was bitten badly by mosquitos. Keep the windows closed and use the the air conditioner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuts4TravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is a great location. Family run cannot find anything wrong with this place. They offer breakfast, provide clean towels and shampoo shower gel. It is really clean the room are comfortable. I would go back again and recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kllysndh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was a very friendly family owned hotel with an elevator! The staff had great recommendations for restaurants and places to see. It is an easy stroll from the water taxi making hauling luggage a breeze. Close to St. Mark's and other attractions. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Excellent locations easy to get to from the ferry and great for getting around Venice. Friendly team of staff and good value drinks in the bar. Three good restaurants across the alleyway from the hotel. Recommend this hotel for your stay in Venice and I will be going back on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New-Wingcommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#93 of 385 in Venice
837 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#15 of 385 in Venice
972 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
710 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#92 of 385 in Venice
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Property: Hotel Fontana
Address: Campo San Provolo Castello 4701, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1968 the Hotel Fontana is owned and run by the Stainer family. The building was originally built in the 18th century and restored in 1984. The typical atmosphere of a venetian house and the friendly staff will make you feel at home. All 15 rooms, overlooking campo San Zaccaria or campo San Provolo, have a private bathroom (with shower or bath-tub),air-conditioning, sat-tv,safe and telephone. Free wi-fi available in room and all common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing