We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to be in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Citta di Milano
Ranked #325 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location to be in Venice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I booked a room at this hotel online and was promised with a double bed, an en-suite bathroom, along with a flat-screen TV. When I finally arrived at the hotel, I was instead given a horrible small room with a twin bed and a sink. No bathroom, no TV.

After making some noise with the receptionist and showing my booking, insisting that the booking is a good enough contractual agreement between both parties and that the hotel should honour our contract, she called her boss and gave me a much bigger room on the top floor, this time with the private bathroom as promised. The flat screen TV was there as well, but probably for display purpose, as no single channel or program is available. The bathroom was big, with a shower area, sink and lavatory. Also, the double bed is actually 2 twin beds placed side by side.

There is a cafe in the form of a small room, fit for a few tables, opened in the morning for breakfast, with breakfast being cereals and some off-the-shelf bread still wrapped in plastic bags. I don't suppose they actually cook anything there. So don't expect much if your booking comes with breakfast.

The location of the hotel is extremely good. It is very much near the Piazza San Marco and is right in the middle of where the action is. Only that finding the hotel can be a bit tricky as it is hidden from view, no big signs anywhere and only the entrance door is visible. The picture indicated on tripadvisor.com and booking.com is in fact, the building opposite it!

You can buy a wifi plan for only €2/day. Network is excellent.

This is a 2-star hotel and is quite pricey, probably due to its excellent location. However, its rooms, service and facilities here can be improved.

Room Tip: Unless you are a backpacker on a budget looking for cheap stay, insist on a room with private bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arifeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    105
    109
    50
    49
See reviews for
58
167
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

The poor atmosphere although quite ambitious maybe because of the location - anyway good, just few steps to S. Marco but through the ugly dark passing with the smells of trattoria. The staff just does nothing except browsing facebook. And in the breakfast room you'll meet a really ugly person, a home-made tyran who will never let you sit whenever you want and just throw you in the face cheep croissant. The milk for musli can be not fresh for a long time already but talking of that won't help. They do not work honestly but most in Venice are the same. Sorry!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Doncaster
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

After reading adverse reviews of this hotel, we were a bit worried that we had booked it. However, we found it to be very suitable for our needs, being very central. Our rooms were well-appointed, and the en-suite bathrooms lovely, with jacuzzi-style baths. The beds were large and comfortable, and maid service was daily. The only down side was the heat in the rooms. We think they must have been over the next-door restaurant's kitchen, as the temperature was very hot, and we couldn't leave the windows open as the mosquitoes would eat us alive! (we got bitten anyway!) We asked one of the receptionists if the air-conditioning was broken, and he told us it was too early to be switched on (April). We asked if we could have an electric fan, and he very obligingly provided one, which helped considerably.
The continental breakfast was more than adequate, and the service was excellent. All the staff seemed very friendly, and were very obliging. Other than the heat, we had no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seem better appointed, but the hotel seems to be undergoing a re-vamp, so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great location, good value for the solo traveller. Helpful staff, easy access to P.san Marco, vaporetti, shops etc. Chose hotel on basis of cost alone from a list supplied by airline i booked with. Had read mixed reviews on Tripadvisor so went prepared with this in mind. Would stay there again and hope to do so in the future. I stayed there for nine nights end March beginning April. Easy enough to find given the labryinthine nature of Venetian streets. Co-op supermarket about five minutes from the hotel, if you don't take a wrong turn on the way! Helpful friendly staff in the main. Breakfast and housekeeping staff very friendly. Good efforts made to fix TV in my room. Had a single room, very clean and well appointed with its own ensuite. Location very convenient to have a rest after a day exploring islands before heading out to enjoy Venice at night. Would stay there again and hope to do so in the future.

Room Tip: I had a single room that overlooked a small courtyard with a resturnant, which closed around midnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AntonioMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Arrived back today after 8 nights and we wish we hadn't left. I had read the reviews and seen the pictures so I didn't expect much so when we walked in to find a jacuzzi for a bath and a glass chandelier over the bed WOW!! Loved the location half way between the Rialto and San Marco. The staff are lovely, the breakfast lady would have our coffee's ready for us, the receptionist was really concerned when I got sun burnt and the cleaning lady always had the time for us even with the language barrier. Little restaurant downstairs perfectly located for one last drink to take to your room. Would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I spent three nights in this hotel. It provided all the facilities that I required: sufficiently comfortable, clean and quiet.
It is not at all easy to find, but that is hardly the hotel's fault, since much of Venice (and this area in particular) is a labyrinth of narrow alleyways, and Venetian postal addresses are incomprehensible.
Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but that is fairly typical for Italy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We had a two bed room with a shared bathroom on the hallway right across from our room. The room was really small, had two single beds, a fan, a sink and a small drawer. At night it was really hot and sticky in the room but with open window and fan on it was okay. The only problem we then had were the moskitos. We were in Venice in early October but the weather was great, so I would definetely bring Autan or something against moskitos if I'd go back there in summer. We had to kill several of them and so did other people before us so there are a few spots of dead moskitos on the walls of the room. Since our room was right next to the breakfast room it got quite noisy in the mornings around 6-7 a.m. when they started to set up the breakfast. All in all the room was okay: clean but small and warm.
The breakfast was a typical italian breakfast: great coffee, some small rolls and sweet baked goods with jam, honey or chocolate cream. There were also cornflakes with milk and orange juice.
The hotel was literally 3 minutes by foot from the St. Mark's Square and you don't have to cross one channel on this way so if you have a big suitcase it's no problem to get there. Around the hotel there are several nice restaurants and one small place to get pizza slices that are really good and cheap. From the hotel you get to all the nice areas in town really fast by foot.
The staff in the hotel was really nice. You can get a hair dryer at the front desk and you can leave your luggage there if your flight comes earlier than the check-in time or leaves later than the check-out time. There is somebody at the front desk 24-h.
The hotel is not very easy to find but if you follow the directions on their website you should be fine.
So all in all it was fairly clean, the staff was nice, the breakfast was good for italian breakfast and the room was small but okay. If you don't expect to much and plan on saving money on the hotel but still be in the city centre you should stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northwest-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Residenza Favaro
Residenza Favaro
#229 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#260 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#56 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#63 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#241 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Vagon
Hotel Al Vagon
#173 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Citta di Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citta di Milano

Property: Hotel Citta di Milano
Address: Sestiere San Marco 590 | Campiello S. Zulian, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citta di Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Citta di Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing