We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute rubbish!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Citta di Milano
Ranked #325 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolute rubbish!”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We agree with most comments of other Advisors; this hotel sucks.

While it is situated in a great spot, that's about all it has going for it. The management are woeful, with barely the charm to muster a smile.

Our air con didn't work. They didn't care. Our bathroom was on a noticeable slant with a big leak covered by towels. They didn't care. The toilet seat was broken, to the point where I slipped off and almost cracked my head. They didn't care.

The breakfast is as described; not fresh, with everything pre-packaged. We ate out. There is NO downstairs restaurant, contrary to other posts. They've got the wrong place.

An absolute nightmare to find, as it surely must be one of the most inconspicuous hotels in Venice.

Pay attention to the poor reviews; the majority is certainly right and we doubt the management care about that either.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TashaAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    105
    111
    50
    50
See reviews for
58
170
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel was in a perfect location in san marco - equidistant from the grand canal and san marco vaporetto stop. Our room was tiny! Had to squeeze round the double bed, but it was clean and comfortable. Shower was powerful and we never had to wait. We wanted a base for exploring venice and the hotel was perfect, very good price for the location and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank BeckySmith2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Arrived to be greeted by an arrogant rude male working on the desk. Told us to leave our passports with him for 30 minutes and showed no customer appreciation.. The twin room turned out to be a double which was only fixed after a big complain. Location is good, the rest of the staff were nice, but would never stsy there again. Ps the breakfast area was small resulting in a line and bottle neck.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MavericksamTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

The girl at the reception could use a few classes at charm school. The bathroom was dirty we spent one night so checked out first thing in the morning and showered at our next hotel. The only thing going for the place is the location.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Priya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel had a very nice location, only a couple of minutes from San Marco's square, but sadly our positive remarks stops here. Staff spoke some English, but didn't look up or greet us whenever we needed their assistance. There was no air condition in our room and whenever we opened the window we were invaded by mosquitos. All I can remember from our three nights there is the buzzing of mosquitos ALL through the night, and air so warm and suffocating it was unbearable to stay there when we were awake. As we are used to staying at 2 star hotels and hostels we are not picky, but this was not near worth what we paid. Venice is expensive, but I would rather pay more than stay at this hotel again. The worst part was probably breakfast that consisted of packed croissants, and those crackers similar to croutons for salads, and some jam and cheese. Coffee was terrible. We had to go out to eat, which is sad when we'd already paid for breakfast. The shared bathrooms and shower were alright. A bit moldy and also crowded by mosquitos, but ok.

Room Tip: We ended up in two single beds on each side of the room, as a couple on vacation, this was kind of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridA483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Very well located, 2 min from Sant Marco Square, hard to find because it's in a small alley. Cheap but bad quality. The room was like a oven, thanks god they have a big fan on the ceiling which helps a little bit. Bathroom not so clean, no lift. Staff just average, the guy working on the morning is very nice (looks like American because of his accent), can't say the same about the girl on the afternoons, doesn't help really much.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhvx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I booked a room at this hotel online and was promised with a double bed, an en-suite bathroom, along with a flat-screen TV. When I finally arrived at the hotel, I was instead given a horrible small room with a twin bed and a sink. No bathroom, no TV.

After making some noise with the receptionist and showing my booking, insisting that the booking is a good enough contractual agreement between both parties and that the hotel should honour our contract, she called her boss and gave me a much bigger room on the top floor, this time with the private bathroom as promised. The flat screen TV was there as well, but probably for display purpose, as no single channel or program is available. The bathroom was big, with a shower area, sink and lavatory. Also, the double bed is actually 2 twin beds placed side by side.

There is a cafe in the form of a small room, fit for a few tables, opened in the morning for breakfast, with breakfast being cereals and some off-the-shelf bread still wrapped in plastic bags. I don't suppose they actually cook anything there. So don't expect much if your booking comes with breakfast.

The location of the hotel is extremely good. It is very much near the Piazza San Marco and is right in the middle of where the action is. Only that finding the hotel can be a bit tricky as it is hidden from view, no big signs anywhere and only the entrance door is visible. The picture indicated on tripadvisor.com and booking.com is in fact, the building opposite it!

You can buy a wifi plan for only €2/day. Network is excellent.

This is a 2-star hotel and is quite pricey, probably due to its excellent location. However, its rooms, service and facilities here can be improved.

Room Tip: Unless you are a backpacker on a budget looking for cheap stay, insist on a room with private bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arifeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Residenza Favaro
Residenza Favaro
#244 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#265 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#59 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#80 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#251 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Vagon
Hotel Al Vagon
#174 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Citta di Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Citta di Milano

Property: Hotel Citta di Milano
Address: Sestiere San Marco 590 | Campiello S. Zulian, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Citta di Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Citta di Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing