We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My steak moo'ed at me!”
Review of Al Gabbiano

Al Gabbiano
Ranked #1,138 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: US$44 - US$87
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Castello
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My steak moo'ed at me!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We started with pasta, I had the spaghetti with tomato and basil which was pretty good and my husband had the pasta with scallops which I spit out when I tried it, it was gross. Then we both ordered the filet, wow what a horrible piece of meat. There was literally blood all over the sauce on my plate and looked like it was raw, the smell that came from it when I cut it was naseauting. My husbands was the same way but he ate a few bites. I didn't eat any of it. The waiter even looked right at me a few times and kept avoiding me. When he cleared our plates, mine was still just a steak, I mean piece of cow, cut in 1/2 not eaten and didn't say anything. Would not recommend it or go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbs3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    28
    20
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
149 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great view, tasty food!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went there with my boyfriend for lunch and I must say I really enjoyed it. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating, but we stayed outside, right next to the sea and gondolas gliding by! The decor was very nice and the waiters very friendly. The menu was varied and quite comfortably priced, considering the excellent location right next to Piazza San Marco.

The food was very tasty, however the only complaint I have is that although the food was not expensive the drinks were EXTREMELY SO, considering that one normal sized tin of ice tea was priced at 6.50euro! Plus a service charge of 3euro for each person. However, it was our last day in Venice, so we decided to enjoy it anyways.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_Moonsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
280 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Loved the pizza whilst enjoying the gorgeous view!!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Went there for lunch with my girlfriend. The waiter was very friendly. We both ordered a pizza which was delicious. The view was amazing. It was an enjoyable lunch, albeit a bit pricey, though all restaurants in the area are.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sacrilegious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a coffee with a view”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Perfect for a cup of coffee either early in the morning, or after a hard day's walking around. This was obviously the place where locals go, so that gave it an extra buzz.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great view great pizza great service”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped here while exploring Venice as it looked a great place to watch the sun set and get a couple of beers.the service was swift and friendly and after our first beer we decided to grab a pizza we went for the 4 cheese and it tasted great.the view was brilliant boats speeding by in front of landmarks with the sun setting .we had 4 pints of beer a pizza and side of chips it came to around 50 euros so if your on a budget maybe not your first choice but with the view and great pizza it's worth a visit even if only for a beer and watch the sunset.

Helpful?
Thank BRENTF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Gabbiano also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing