We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located Lovely Hotel”
Review of Locanda al Leon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda al Leon
Ranked #43 of 463 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Jordan, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly Located Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Perfect little hotel just a very short walk from Piazza San Marco. The room was neat, spacious, and very clean. It included modern conveniences without sacrificing the old-world charm of this 15th century home turned hotel. The staff at the front desk, especially Marco, were very helpful (Great suggestions for restaurants!) and made us feel very welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    197
    35
    13
    9
See reviews for
96
381
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel was beautiful and charming, and as close to San Marco as you could wish without being caught in too much bustle. The owner and staff are kind and extremely helpful. I would have stayed here for a week if I could. Clean, modern accoutrements but old-world charm. Everything you could want for in the city of romance.

Room Tip: One room has a private patio where they will bring you breakfast - truly romantic among the rooftops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TolinRiedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a very quaint hotel located on a small street in a great location. We stayed in the annex, which had a separate entrance. The room was very comfortable, clean and furnished very nicely. We were welcomed in a tiny lobby by the friendliest and warmest people. They continually answered our questions and gave us good advice. Breakfast was served in the annex in a lovely room or one could sit in the garden. We traveled by train and took the Vaporetta. We couldn't have asked for a better location, reasonably priced and more comfortable place to stay. Breakfast was more Continental than the other hotels we stayed at in Italy. But it was more than adequate.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Annex and had all the privacy and quiet we could want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

From the moment we were buzzed through the secured door at Locanda Al Leon and were greeted by Marco (Giuliano;s Nephew), we knew we'd selected the perfect place to stay in Venice. We'd actually reserved two rooms for our party of five-adults and Marcella and Giuliano thought we'd be more comfortable in the apartment so presented us with the pleasant surprise upon our arrival. The apartment was about a 5-minute, 2-bridge, walk from the hotel and was absolutely perfect for us. The two bedrooms (one room with a queen and single bed) and two bathrooms (one was ensuite). was very clean, quiet and the kitchen contained everything we needed to prepare our meals. I can't give enough praise for the friendly, professional, helpful, gracious, compassionate and personable family of Marcella, Giuliano and Marco of Locanda Al Leon. There is no doubt that we'll stay with them again during our next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Fabulous location; clean; comfortable; lovely owners; 2 br/2 bath apt had beds for all four family members. We, being from the US, thought "2 star hotel" meant sort-of yucky--not at all. It meant "no view." We were hardly in our apt except to sleep so it was perfect and affordable. It was dark since all windows looked out onto other buildings--cave-like, but that wasn't important to us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferQ457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We returned to Locanda al Leon this year and it was just as awesome as 5 years ago. The same owners, Juliano and Marichella accommodated us in every way possible. We arrived a day early and Julliano found us a room at a nearby hotel. We asked for our room from 5 years ago and we got it. They took good care of us and it was hard to leave. They are friendly, helpful, and attentive.A great location for all things touristy but it doesn't feel "touristy". Wonderful rooms, large and clean. The water runs hot and the a/c is cold. Yep, the stairs are steep and the building is old and it certainly fits in with what Venice is about. A true Venetian Experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and # 23 is our favorite as it looks out on the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hotel/Rooms: Its a renovated old Venetian building so there is No elevator and narrow steep steps, prepare yourself for a lot of steep steps to climb. Rooms are spacious and Clean. The furniture have antique feel. The dining area is very small and only 3-4 small tables are available in a small space. The breakfast was Ok.

Location: Superb, right in the heart of action.

Staff: Friendly and Helpful


We were in Venice on 2014 New Year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadel-MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#93 of 385 in Venice
836 reviews
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#92 of 385 in Venice
412 reviews
Castello
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
#151 of 385 in Venice
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#90 of 385 in Venice
425 reviews
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Leon

Property: Locanda al Leon
Address: Castello, Campo St Filippo e Giacomo, 4270, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 463 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda al Leon 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guest, Marcella & Giuliano are happy to host you in this original Venetian House of the 15th century, that is divided in to floors.The estate was built is therefore about 500 yeras old.The property is considered a historic house and is subjet to constraint from the fine arts, so you can't transform or change the type and magnitutde of interior spaces and stairs but must keep the original layout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Locanda al Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Al Leon Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing