We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So great!”
Review of Hotel San Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo
Ranked #118 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were a little worried about staying the night in Venice. We'd heard clean hotels were hard to come by, but this one was fantastic! The room was tiny, but who's hanging out in their hotel room in Venice anyway? It was clean, the staff was friendly and spoke English, it was in a fantastic location, and the continental breakfast was great! Not to mention, for Venice, the price really wasn't bad. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

If you want to live in the center of Venice & you don't care about view & you don't mind to hick the stairs, there's no bell boy to carry your bags & want to pay much less, here's the deal.

This hotel has a clean rooms, AC working perfectly, nice free breakfast, (4~5) minutes walking to San Marco Sq. Nice staff they will guide you for free (off course) in the lobby.

If you're young ppl or families with kids & don't want to pay much for other hotels, STAY HERE.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Thamer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

For my bithday I booked our vacation to Venice at the Hotel San Gallo. Beautiful Artisanal Hotel just off the San Marks Square. It was easy to find, close to the Water bus stop .Tough you had to walk up a flight of stairs the hotel room which is not big was clean and always done up .The staff was excellent and welcoming and the breakfast and morning coffee always very good, enough to keep you going till lunch time . I can't say enough good things about this little Gem of a hotel they made our stay in Venice wonderful I WANT TO GO BACK!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are not mobile and find it difficult to go up stairs this is not a hotel for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The attention and professionalism of the staff were excellent. They helped us with check-in on-line. Thank you very much. The location is very good but is a bit tricky to find. The room was very comfortable.
The worst was the breakfast which is very limited.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paloma_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Only spent 1night in ihis small friendly hotel situated just off St Marks square.
Although just off main busy tourist area, hotel was quiet witg many shops and restauarants nearby.
Check in was great, we were even assisted with our cases from the street, which was greatly appreciated.
They went out of their way to look up bus timetables etc for us.
Twin room was nice, not huge but adequate and traditional breakfast served on the terrace was lovely. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is up a large flight of stairs, however, staff helped us in and out. In all respects, the staff was helpful, friendly and courteous.The breakfast was good served up on the roof. The room, while clean, was insanely small. Inches from the side and the foot of the bed to the wall. Getting into the bathroom required turning sideways and no place at all for the suitcases.

While we were looking for old world charm, we really would have appreciated just a bit of space. From viewing the photos, I'm convinced our room was the smallest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrKite9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here May bank holiday May 2014.

It is up some stairs so if you have mobility problems it might be an issue.

Checkin was quick and friendly. Great to have a free bottle of fizz in our room as a welcome.

Our room was very small and the shower not that great but it was clean and the bed pretty comfortable. We had no view and it did feel a bit cramped. There was a mini bar in the room which was useful and not too expensive.

Breakfast was ok - usual bread/cheese etc.

The best thing about this place is the location which is why we chose it. It is a 1minute walk to San Marco sq and so you can beat the Qs to the Basillica in the morning which was great.

There are lots of restaurants near by which range in prices and we had a ok meal for the both of us with wine for about £60. Venice is not very big and so we did a lot of walking to different places.

You can spend a lot more money for a better hotel but then how much time do you want to spend in your room? We found this hotel in a good location and price wise was reasonable. We would use this hotel again if we visited Vencie again.

If you are paying coke a cola prices dont expect champagne...

Room Tip: There was a much bigger room next to ours so there are bigger rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxfordPingu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#174 of 384 in Venice
487 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#199 of 384 in Venice
423 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 384 in Venice
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 384 in Venice
875 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#132 of 384 in Venice
439 reviews
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#103 of 384 in Venice
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 1093/A | Campo San Gallo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £61 - £687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Gallo Hotel is located in a small characteristic campo (square), called San Gallo or Rusolo, which has an ancient well and curb. The hotels location is unique thanks to its proximity to the major places of interest in the town; in fact, St Mark’s Square is only 50 metres away, and La Fenice Theatre is only 5 minutes walk from the Campo. The hotel can be very easily reached, should you travel by car, by train or plane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing