We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Gallo
Nearby Hotels
Bel Sito e Berlino(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$225
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Messner(Venice)
US$260
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Campiello(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$195
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montecarlo(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$407
US$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Bellini(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Foscari Palace(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Flora(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
248
345
133
34
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
345
133
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan marco squaregreat locationst marks squarecroissantsreception areavenetian styleroof terraceless than a minute walkflights of stairsfirst floorbudget hotelhotel is locatedfamily roomwould stay againrialto bridgecontinental breakfastthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in hotel San Gallo for 3 nights April-May 2014. We stayed in the quad-share room with our 2 young children. The hotel and the rooms were small, but cozy. It was quiet at night as it is tucked away from the hustle and bustle. It suited us fine as we were there to explore Venice and not stay in the room. The hotel and the room were clean and it had a charm about it. The staff was friendly and helpful. A little bonus was waking up in the morning to the smell of fresh pasteries. The location of the hotel was perfect and close to everything. St Mark's Square was less than a minute to get to and everything else was walking distance. If you want to be close to all the attractions and only need somewhere nice and clean to sleep at good value, then Hotel San Gallo is great, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: The quad-room is on the top floor and quiet. I am assuming it is the hotels largest room, which is still quite small but cozy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zoran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely little hotel and were very happy with the location, the service and the ambiance. We had done the research and knew that the rooms were compact, but as we wanted to spend our time out and about in Venice this didn't matter; they were clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was on a sweet little terrace and one morning we wanted to eat early - (6.45am) and they were happy to oblige.
The only downside was carrying the cases up the flights of stairs up to the hotel, whilst a large group of tourists were coming down!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is in a fantastic location, very central and very close to St Mark's square, The Doge's palace, Rialto bridge, shops, restaurants and bars. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was small but had everything we needed. It was quite dark but it didn't bother us too much. Bedding and towels were clean but the shower was quite dirty especially around the shower head and tiles. The hotel in General was a bit run down in the communal areas with wallpaper peeling etc. Breakfast was nice and had a range of choices. The hotel shares an entrance staircase with an art shop and it was very popular with tour groups, every time we arrived back at the hotel we had to battle through groups going up and down the stairs. Although this only took a few minutes I think it would put some people off. Overall if you're looking for a clean bed in a good location at a reasonable price and you're not too picky then San Gallo will be great for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

It took me a while to find it because I relied in directions from Google, but once I made it there I found it to be very charming. The gentleman at the desk spoke fluent English and brought my suitcase to the room for me. It was a bit small, but of old fashioned decide, complete with blown glass light fixtures on the walls. The bed was a little hard and the shower was lukewarm, which was awful after getting caught in a thunderstorm! Breakfast was the usual pastries and cereal, and the coffee was pretty good and served with warm, frothy, creamy milk.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank AshleyW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is located very close to San Marco Square and almost 5 minutes walk from the Vaporetto station. Staff is good and the gentleman helped us carrying our luggage through the stairs. The hotel is in old building but rooms are nice. Breakfast is fine, not great though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuhammadNauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews