We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Giorgio
Nearby Hotels
US$866
US$497
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,311
US$938
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$356
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$316
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Albergo Marin(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$340
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$386
US$333
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$450
US$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal(Venice)
US$1,191
US$1,095
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$426
US$365
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$950
US$646
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
35
92
76
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
92
76
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold furnishingssmall showerstayed here for nightsexcellent breakfastst marksmajor sitesa lovely staygrand canalfive minute walkbreakfast roomst mark's squarerialtomapvaporettowardrobe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed in Hotel San Giorgio for three nights in July 2011. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. The check-in went smoothly and efficiently. The gentleman also gave us a city map immediately, which I found very nice. Our hotel room, number 15 (standard double), was quite compact but nicely furbished in "baroque" style, which probably befits Venice. Room had smallish double bed, a small table and a cupboard with safe. There was a small minibar (empty - but there is complimentary water in the room) and a tiny TV. Bathroom was ok, but very dated. Room and bathroom were perfectly clean. A bit of a problem in the room was the airco, which worked, but was not very efficient (room felt stuffy if we didnt have it on full power). On one day we noticed a bad stench in the room, but we figured it came from the canal outside - so that might me a problem all over Venice. Breakfast was nothing to write home about but not worse than in other places in Italy (the usual Italian dry breadrolls and so on). Nespresso machine was a small plus. Staff was very friendly and helpful throughout. Hotel is located close to Rialto/Piazza San Marco (each maybe 10mins walk) but far enough from the crowds of tourists that visit Venice. Vaporetto stop (S'Angelo) is about 5mins away and far less crowded than Rialto stop (which is the next stop).

Overall for me it was an enjoyable stay, mostly due to central location, friendly staff and absence of any major negative points.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickory8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We found the San Giorgio to be a great little hotel, the staff were welcoming and friendly and our room not as small as we had maybe expected. The air con was very welcome as the weather was fantastic and very warm. The bathroom like some other visitors had commented on was a little tired although spotlessly clean it could just have done with a face lift but shower was good and hot and everything worked! The breakfasts were fantastic, continental in style but so much choice and plenty of it a great way to start the day. After a bit of research on the net before our trip I discovered a fab web site which told us to take the orange line alilaguna from the airport direct to the san angelo stop which cost 15euro single. This stop is only 5 minutes easy walk to the hotel and was so easy, just buy your ticket at the ticket office on the water front at the alilaguna stop outside the airport, turn left from airport and follow covered walk way only 5 min walk. We found this info really useful. The San Giorgio is perfectly situated less than 10 mins walk from St Marks and 5mins from the Realto. We loved it and would definately return. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We arrived into Marco Polo airport and wanted to buy tickets for the water bus. As we were unsure about which stop to get off at, we showed the lady at the ticket office a map of where the hotel was. She looked up from counting her money, simply said 'dont know' then carried on counting her money. Thankfully the gentleman sat next to her helped us and sold us the tickets - these were 25euro each for a return journey. The waterbus we got stopped at 'San Angelo' which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel (when you know where your going!) but does involve a few steps. If the bus doesnt stop here, you can get off at Rialto which is around 10 minute walk.

The hotel staff were very friendly, check in was very smooth and quick. The breakfast was lovely - a selection of juice, cereal, pastry, cheese and ham. The room was basic but very well decorated which gave it Venician charm. My only niggle was the shower was actually a wetroom, and because the bathroom was so small it was swimming with water, making going to the toilet interesting!

Make sure when you go to Venice you get yourself lost; this might sound silly but its the best way to see everything. The Gondola's are very expensive (around 80 euros for 40 mins) however you can sample the gondola experience for a fraction of the price by taking the Traghetti. This is a gondola service which takes you from one side of the canal to the other and only costs 50cents!!

Make sure you take a visit to San Marco square during the evening. They have some fantastic musicians and its a great place to watch the sun go down.
Also a trip up the Campanile (tall tower in Piazza San Marco) is a must. Its a great way to see over the city and costs 8euro each.

A warning - the drinks are VERY expensive. In the main tourist areas expect to pay 4.50euro just for a can of coke, as well as 7euro for half a pint of beer. We found some little shops (when we were lost!) away from the tourist areas and got bottles of coke for 1.80euro and cans of larger for 3.50euro.

Overall a very enjoyable stay in a fantastic city!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcsGinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

If you are a light traveller like myself then you will find this B&B a gem. Simply because for the price it is value for money but you have o book really early if you plan. Stay in the summer months.

Finding it can be somewhat difficult at first but that is the charm of Venice, to discover the nooks and cranny of the island through their small lanes.

Those with huge bags beware as there are a few steps to climb as the place has no lift. If you are from the airport and took the alilaguna, stopping at San Marco will require 15min of walking. Otherwise from San Marco you can always take a public water bus called the vaporetto and alight at Rialto instead.
The stop before Rialto is actually much nearer but only one water bus goes there but many water buses go to Rialto.
From there it's just 5 min away.
During my stay from June 6th to 8th I manage to find 6 different ways to reach there without a map from the main Piazza.
The room was basic but nice interior though. I opt for a single but was given a twin so it was a tad bigger for me otherwise you need o be mentally prepare fr the small size. Bigger rooms in other hotels tend to be more expensive. I paid 70euros per night for my June stay but then agin i booked mine in february.
Free wifi too.
Value for money for young travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vafirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Outstanding location, rooms very clean, and the service helpful and friendly. A good selection of food at breakfast filled us up until afternoon. 5 minute walk from the Vaparetto stop where you can get the alilaguna to (or from) the airport - although I believe you have to actually buy the ticket at another stop - we bought ours at Rialto stop, but got the boat at Sant'Angelo which is the one nearer the hotel (on the Arancio Line). BEWARE that Google Maps places the hotel in the WRONG place which caused some confusion when we arrived. No fault of the hotel though, of course. There is Wifi and also a place to leave your bags if you have time to kill after check-out and before your flight. Things people have said about the smell: we did notice an odor when we checked in, but it was soon very apparent that it was the canal just outside our window and that it wasn't going to be a constant thing. In other words, it was nothing to do with the cleanliness of the hotel or quality of the plumbing. In fact, we had our window open all four nights we stayed and other than a slight detection from time to time it was fine. Check out the wine and snack bar just outside called Teamo for very friendly service, nice snacks and drinks at fair prices. We stopped there after hunting around all over for a place to sit and enjoy a nice bottle of wine without having to have a sit-down meal and were very pleasantly surprised to find we had such a good place within yards of the hotel door. Considering the price and the fact that we were smack in the middle of everything, I have no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marycciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews