We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Locanda San Barnaba
Ranked #43 of 474 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 9 days here in August and had a wonderful holiday. Locanda San Barnaba has a great location in Dorsoduro only 2 minutes walk from the Ca'Rezzonico vaporetto stop. There are plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby and we especially enjoyed our spritz aperol each evening in Campo San Barnaba. Our large room on the first floor overlooked the garden and had very good air conditioning which coped with the high temperatures. The hotel is elegantly decorated and our room was off the salone on the first floor. We enjoyed our plentiful breakfast each morning in the garden, which looks on to a canal. There were both sweet and savoury items such as cheese, eggs, ham, croissants, cereal, yogurts etc . We really appreciated the lovely cappuccino freshly made for us. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and we look forward to staying with them again on our next visit. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and the district of Dorsoduro in which to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doodlebugSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our zillionth time to Venice, but still fascinating. We have experienced many hotels and "pensione" and this is a very good in between. Spotless, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast by Italian standards, very good location at a very short stroll from Ca'Rezzonico, its vaporetto or/and its "traghetti" which can have you cross the Grand Canal in no time, close to Accademia and its bridge and museum, very quiet though. A lot of nice cafés and restaurants near by and you you can forget about the hectic crowd in San Marco - enjoy la dolce vita!

Room Tip: the suites are perfect for up to 3 or 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pendragon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed in the Locanda San Barnaba hotel with my girlfriend for 5 nights during my vacation in Venice and it was a very good choice. The hotel has a great location in the Dorsoduro district. You can easily get there from the airport with a water transport, you leave at Ca Rezzonico stop which is 50m from the hotel entrance. The hotel has a very nice atmosphere of an old Venetian house. It has a very large saloon where you can relax and the rooms are very nice. We wanted to stay in the Il Cavaliere e la Dama room to have a canal view but it wasn't available for the first two nights so we first stayed in Gli innamorati room. Both rooms were very nice and the hotel staff has moved our suitcases during the day so that it was very easy for us. The breakfasts are great with delicious Italian coffee, especially if you eat them in the very nice patio. Watch out for the sparrows, they will want to get part of your breakfast :) The staff is very helpful and will help you with whatever questions you may have. The location of the hotel is a very big advantage because the Dersoduro district is one of the few places in Venice where you can find open restaurants and cafes in the evening (which is not that easy in other parts of the city because many places close early).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyKlaudyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

From the first contact by e-mail to saying goodbye at the end of our stay the staff at this hotel, particularly Roberto, went out of their way to make our visit wonderful. The hotel is easy to find, a few steps from the Ca'Rezzonica stop on the Grand Canal. We stayed in a room off the beautiful salon, with a mural on the ceiling and a mezzanine area where my teenagers slept in separate beds (it is difficult to find reasonably priced family rooms that have separate beds for the children). It has excellent air-conditioning and the bath was big enough for the four of us!!!!! There is a lovely garden next to a small canal, where breakfast is served. There is a venetian salon and roof terrace for guests too. The breakfast was plentiful which in Italy is a rare thing in a reasonably priced hotel. We had a late flight in the evening and as well as looking after our bags, we were able to come back for a much needed rest in the garden with our picnic! There were also nice toilets we could use, another rarity in Venice. My husband and I have stayed in several hotels in Venice and this was easily the best, with the service second to none at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed two nights in a suite on the second floor. It was quite spacious, air-conditioned and clean. The staff was helpful answering questions on directions and providing us with suggestions for sites and restaurants. Getting there on the vaporetto was very easy. It's close enough to walk to places but not in a crazy busy location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CANJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A very nice hotel in a wonderful location. We would definitely stay again! The staff was extremely nice and helpful and the hotel was furnished beautifully. It has very elegant ambience. The location is nearby to two lovely piazzas and has shops and restaurants nearby. Many locals are out and about - it is not a touristy area. It is just steps away from the Ca'Rezzonica vaporetto stop and that makes it even nicer for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessaRizla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel is located on a side canal just off the grand canal. It is very convenient to take a water taxi directly here from the airport and travel across to St Mark's is simple by boat or walking across the academica bridge. The hotel has pleasant common areas, with columns and old murals. Rooms are nice and clean but not that exceptional and not terribly large. Very pleasant breakfast in a courtyard included.Good choice of restaurants near by. Second time e have stayed here and this is very good value for it's location

Room Tip: Larger, more expensive rooms may be a better choice, as some of these have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#170 of 385 in Venice
459 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#20 of 385 in Venice
1,713 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#115 of 385 in Venice
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,855 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
San Polo
La Villeggiatura
La Villeggiatura
#49 of 474 in Venice
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda San Barnaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda San Barnaba

Address: Campiello del Tragheto 1, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 474 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £106 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome in a 16th century Palace, where the enchantment and magic of Venice are complemented by the modern conveniences required by even the most exacting clientele. An architecturally sensitive restoration has brought back to life serene splendor of the era of which this building is an admirable example. Each of the fourteen rooms has a story to tell: the lover's nest, the philosopher's refuge, the artist' s studio, the playwright' s chamber, where echoes of his muse still linger. The "Locanda San Barnaba" is located in the center of the city, between Accademia Gallery, Piazza San Marco and Rialto Bridge, easy to reach from Piazzale Roma or "Santa Lucia" Railway Station by Vaporetto n° 1 (Ca' Rezzonico Stop). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Locanda San Barnaba Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing