We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic & Quaint with helpful staff”
Review of Bel Sito e Berlino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bel Sito e Berlino
Ranked #70 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed there for several days, the room was clean and romantic, a bit small (typical in Venice). Nonetheless we loved it, free wifi, nice breakfast, and the staff was so kind to keep our luggage after we checked out, until the train time so we can still enjoy the city

The location is great, less than 10 minutes to San Marco square. The small garden in the back is a piece from heavens!

They are great with giving pointers. They even gave us utensils to use for the food we bought at the local supermarket.
Loved it! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank primnpretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived for our first Italy experience on 8/10/14 to a back door entrance to The Bel Sito Hotel via a waterway in Venice, Italy. How exciting and overwhelming. We were in a a strange and beautiful country! The hotel was clean and quaint, The continental breakfast was great and the location was convenient to most areas. The upsetting portion of our experience was the two front desk attendants that we were exposed to on the evening of our arrival (between 6:30 pm - 8/11 1:00 am). The evening attendant was rude and degrading. When I asked questions and directions, his abrupt responses and arrogant attitude were very offensive. The younger man during the night shift was very unhelpful and rude. It was unfortunate that such a nice hotel had poor staff greeting their patrons. It's mandatory that the staff be friendly, helpful, and willing to assist their customers especially when the tourists are visitors from another country.

Room Tip: The rooms were tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossella S, Direttore at Bel Sito e Berlino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,
I am glad about the nice words concerning our Hotel, but sorry for the unfair judgment on my front desk attendants.
I agree with you that the staff must be friendly, but in this case they acted according to the rules and the good sense and their behaviour, sorry, but couldn't be different.
The first, allowed to your friends (not Guests of our Hotel) to leave their luggage in deposit and, on my opinion, more kind than ever, even to leave them in your room, underlining that doing this, they couldn't stay more than 5 minutes upstairs, as they were not guests of the Hotel.
The second one has been guilty to repeat on your return, to you and to your friends, that your friends were allowed to enter in your room for the time required to retrieve baggage, coming then downstairs in a short time.
Not having signal of them, he called you to repeat the rules, but also in alternative offering them the possibility to overnight in another room, still available.
The “Short time” became longer and longer and only after 40 minutes and several “calls” of the concierge your friends have left our hotel with baggage.
In this case it seems to me that the meaning of your bad review could be explained this way : the best defense is a good offense.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The location is great, being easily accessible from the water bus stop Giglio. It is also very close to get to San Marco and an enjoyable short walk. The room itself was ok, it had a strange smell but perhaps this was just some incense used to freshen the room. Nevertheless we opened the windows as frequently as possible. The bed was a little hard but other than that good. The bathroom was also good. Service when we arrived could have been better, certainly the guy we encountered on our first day was very sarcastic and even a little patronising, and he clearly wasn't used to smiling. But this improved as on the second night a nicer cheerful man was on reception. Breakfast here was also great.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was superb! It's a Venezia gem.
We needed a new hotel since the one we were booked into did not provide us with a smoke-free room. After checking around, Hotel Bel Sito was recommended. The desk staff (Antonio) was very kind and helpful by showing us a room (not what we rented, but gave us an idea). Plus, it was much less expensive than what we were paying at the other hotel.

We required two beds, so the top floor room(s) was offered. It has a great campo view of Chiesi Santa Maria del Giglio (a church with an amazing facade) and a view of Campo Giglio and the Grand Canal (with traghetto stand) to the left. The main room was large with, a view, useful furniture of good quality, Murano glass chandelier, and a good bed with good pillows. The smaller, separate room with a twin bed was pitched at an angle on one side due to being under the roof. It was small, but cozy and had a small window. Our daughter loved it.

The free breakfast was delicious. It had fresh fruit, fruit cocktail, yogurt, pastries, bread for toasting, granola, meats, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausages, and very good coffee, freshly made to order. One could sit inside in a chic, Venetian-style dining room with linens, sit outside on the campo, or out back on their private patio. Staff was friendly and helpful.
The location is close to San Marco's, as well as to Dorsoduro and the Rialto. This can be good to access these sites, but during the middle of the day expect to be stuck in a human traffic jam of tourists. At night, when many have left for the day, it was the perfect central location.

Room Tip: The top floor room was quiet and secluded. Great view, too, of the Campo. Only downside was that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank redwagon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It is in a great location, close to public boat stop and St Marks square. Good restaurants close by. There is a canal entrance which the private taxi used on our arrival (this made the stay for me). Very Venetian shabby chic (more chic than shabby) It gave a feel of past grandeur. The staff were particularly helpful and very friendly. Room and bathroom possibly a bit small if you are expecting large, but they are what they are and it wasn't an issue for us. Also the WiFi was good.

Room Tip: We had a garden view, there are canal-side views but need requesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foodyjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived by water taxi from the train station, the hotel has its own private water entrance which was very nice. The hotel staff were kind and helpful.

The room was rather small but was in a great location (5 minutes walk from St Marks Square) was quiet at night and came with a small buffet breakfast too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have just returned from a month in Italy and this was the best hotel we stayed in .
Clean , breakfast wow ! , service great especially the staff at the reception desk and Michael serving the drinks , coffee and breakfast . Well done to you all . Thank you for a lovely stay .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happy4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 388 in Venice
1,952 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 388 in Venice
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#49 of 388 in Venice
1,330 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#35 of 388 in Venice
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Sito e Berlino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Sito e Berlino

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2517 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Venice
#95 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £80 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Sito e Berlino 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTEL BEL SITO The hotel Bel Sito is located in the heart of Venice, very close to St.Mark's Square in a typical Venetian "campo" just in front of the beautiful Baroc Church of Santa Maria del Giglio close to the public boat loading of Linea 1 and of the shuttle service from and to the airport Alilaguna. The hotel has 34 fashionable rooms equipped in the '700th and late '800 th Venetian styles all different one from another whether for space and furniture having each a peculiarity to give a personal and unique character. Being close to St.Mark's Square the hotel is ideally located to visit the most important monuments of the city that are all at walking distance. Distances: 200m from San Marco Square. Only 30m. From the public boat loading of Linea 1 from and to Train Station and Piazzale Roma and of the public boat Alilaguna from and to Airport. Close to the main street of shop with the most important Italian and International Firma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bel Sito e Berlino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Sito And Berlino
Bel Sito & Berlino Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing