We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vicious in Venice”
Review of Hotel Caneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caneva
Ranked #334 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Cheshire, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vicious in Venice”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The old saying location is everything is true with this place located just off he grand canal a quick walk to all other attractions that is all this place has to offer. The hotel is dank and the people are rude. The room we stayed in was like a tomb it had plaster walls with large cracks running down the walls there was only one light fixture beside the bed and an overhead one with the bulbs burnt out the wardrobe was missing a door the bathroom was outdated with only a small handheld shower with horrible water pressure. The breakfast which was included in the room was sparse to say the lease. Wifi was available if you stood in a small hallway near the breakfast room and it was very slow. There are so many hotels in Venice recommend not trying this one yuck !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steepleview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    122
    100
    37
    60
See reviews for
65
180
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Not new but what is in Venice? Good value, had a private bathroom, clean, reasonable breakfasts, free wifi and most important close to everything. Staff were helpful and there were lots of places to eat close by. Very quiet at night, comfortable beds and good sized rooms, some with balcony overlooking the canal. Avery pleasant place to stay. We would definitely stay there again when visiting Venice.

Room Tip: private bathroom and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodgerskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompeii, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was really run down very very noisy the towels were so hard like sand paper would not recommend anyone to stay their horrible place.location was good but that was the only thing good about the place.It was so noisy we could here everything the next room was saying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianehskns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

£175 for two nights in the most basic hotel I've ever been too. The location was PERFECT, staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was cheap at five euros, however the hotel itself was extremely basic. Two single beds, back to back, one shower shared with ten other rooms, a tiny TV that barely worked. I wasn't expecting luxury in a one star hotel, however for the money I feel it was unacceptable. I have paid much less to stay in beautiful hotels in other citites, however my general feeling is that Venice is an expensive place, especially considering this was the cheapest hotel we found. Our room had an amazing view of a side canal, however in the morning boats were so loud! Part of the culture of course and I liked it but don't head here for a lie in! Overall it's a basic hotel that does the job, but it is not good value for money whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ6400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Caneva this August for £200 for a double room with shower / loo. Rooms and hotel very basic but cleaned everyday, and a brilliant price for location. Staff friendly and smiled a lot - even when my italian was awful - i.e all of the time! Location is great - Rialto 5 mins and san marco 10 mins - that is when you don't get list - which is also frequent. Rialto waterbus / vaporetto near so perfect for siteseeing. Recommended if you want a good priced base for visiting sites of Venice. Don't book if you want to stay in a stylish chic place! Overall recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cubalibre10
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was a little concerned about my stay here due to the broad mix of reviews already available, but our four night stay at the Hotel Caneva put that straight!

This is a fantastic hotel in a very central location - easy walking distance to the Rialto Bridge and St Marks square. In fact on the way back we even walked to the station which despite the heat was very easygoing.

The hotel staff's directions from the Rialto bridge vaporetto stop were excellent - good landmarks (disney shop/bank) that show that someone has taken the time to actually walk the route. It took us just a few minutes before we turned the corner and found the hotel in a lovely heart of the city location. With the canal surrounding one side and local apartments the other it really is quite secluded, whilst extremely central!

The rooms were of a great size, the high ceilings making them feel even bigger and the sink within was perfectly adequate for essential washing. My partner thought we might end up queuing for the bathrooms but this didn't happen once in the 5 days we were here.

The rooms were immaculate and cleaned well everyday, the staff friendly (even more so if you try out your Italian!) and the breakfast was an excellent foundation for the day - coffee, juice, croissants, cereal etc and very plentiful. It starts early as well, so perfect for getting out and about before the cruise-ships arrive!

We had a lovely stay at the hotel Caneva, it was easy-going, comfortable and great value for money. If you want to stay in your hotel room then this probably isn't the place for you but if you want somewhere to set you up for the next day of exploring, relax after a hard days walking and stroll from to eat, drink and see - this is it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubalibre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in July 2013. We were looking for an affordable place to stay and needed a budget-friendly room. This hotel fulfilled those two requirements. The rooms are no-frills with a bed, tv, and air-conditioning. We were very greatful for the latter as it was around 40 degrees celcius in Venice at the time. We had a canal view room, which sounded romantic at first but we ended up hearing the boats drive by every morning around 7:30am, which inevitably woke us up. Also, the rooms are not sound proof and we heard our neighbours laughing late into the night.

The location was great and the hotel was decent. There is a breakfast which wasn't the best (5euro/person) and wifi access in the breakfast room. The rooms are clean and the maids replaces the towels. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable stay near the Rialto and St. Mark's square.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brocncheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#266 of 385 in Venice
239 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#319 of 385 in Venice
349 reviews
San Marco
Hotel ai do Mori
Hotel ai do Mori
#133 of 385 in Venice
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Canada Venezia
Hotel Canada Venezia
#222 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#105 of 385 in Venice
470 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Rossi
Hotel Rossi
#332 of 385 in Venice
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caneva

Property: Hotel Caneva
Address: Castello 5515 | Ramo dietro la Fava, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Caneva 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing