We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most friendly people on this Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de l'Alboro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de l'Alboro
Ranked #334 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most friendly people on this Earth!”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Granted, I went there 2 years ago (July 2010), but I was just looking through my pictures today and remembered how accommodating and wonderful the owner was. I didn't have a TripAdvisor account then, but having one now I felt compelled to write about my experience. I booked this hotel through my American Express card. Apparently, when I entered my credit card number, I typed a number twice, so the hotel never got the reservation. When we showed up and didn't have a reservation --and the hotel was booked --I was distraught! It was a Friday afternoon and we didn't have a place to stay. The owner assured me not to worry and offered us his friend's apartment right across the street. He said his friend was out of town for a few months, so as long as we didn't carry our biggest suitcase up the stairway (it was a tiny stairway) we could stay there for the same price as one of his rooms. He trusted us in his friend's apartment with all of the person's belongings still in there!

He also said he would still allow us to eat breakfast at his hotel! The hotel itself seems very nice and clean. I was upset we couldn't stay in one of the rooms, but was VERY grateful for the experience we did have while in Venice. Checkout was at 11, I think, and he allowed us to keep our bags in a room (that looked like a laundry room) in his hotel until 5:00 that evening.

I cannot speak more highly of the owner! I will DEFINITELY stay there again if/when I go back to Venice!!! I highly encourage you to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4TozToFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    44
    30
    6
    26
See reviews for
29
59
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. The vaporetto stop is 2 seconds away (San Angelo) and San Marco square a 10 min walk, so it's really central. The room and hotel was clean and the staff warm and welcoming. We had roopm 14 which had a beautiful romantic view of a canal. Would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolbakedalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I have lived in Italy for 15 years and have never felt so affronted or unwelcome as when I walked in the reception of this hotel just now. I am not a guest of the hotel, but now never will be - I was politely asking whether I could book a water taxi to pick up from here in the morning, but was told that since I wasn't a guest, I could basically get stuffed. Classy. It's ok to say no, or I don't know, but to be told to get lost by a hotel management is the pits. There are plenty of great places to stay in Venice, and some great people too, so my advice would be is that if is house they treat visitors, go anywhere else.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveLaveno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I had to make an unexpected emergency trip to Venice to assist a sick relative so I was under significant stress. The management and staff could not have been kinder or more helpful. They really went out of their way to help me during a difficult time. The hotel itself is very well situated and clean and comfortable. It has all the basic amenities and is a charming introduction to Italy and its people. I definately plan to return, but this time for a holiday!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unexpectedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Spent a 2 night stay here following a recommendation by the Hotel information office at Piazzalé Roma. At first i thought €120 a night for the room was too pricey, but for Venice and for the location, i realised afterwards that it was quite a good deal. We had the romantic, old fashioned room overlooking the canal (see hotel's photos). It was like staying in a museum (in a positive way). You had the lovely feeling that you were in Venice 200 years ago. If you stay here, you must have this room! The downside was that gaps in the door and windows meant that you did hear people talking and walking outside the hotel (in the streets) and in the corridor(inside the hotel). However, it didn't ruin the stay, we were there for sightseeing, not sleeping. If you need a 10 hour sleep, dont stay here. I read the other reviews on Trip Advisor and can only conclude that they have changed the staff. They were lovely and friendly, even the lady that couldn't speak english well, made a real effort and was so apologetic that her english wasn't so good. The Filipino guy on night duty was also happy and helpful, always smiling and cheerful when he let you in at night (they lock the doors after a certain time). Breakfast was simple, but the non english speaking waitress was also great - so, no complaints at all on the staff. The hotel is a bit dated and tired, but we loved it.. It oozed Venetian charm.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Edit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

the staff was terribly rude, didn't want to help us find places, didn't listen or sometimes talk to us. very unpleasant!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haniabania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Asked the hotel's reception for information in a rainy day and they wouldn't even bother to look at me - avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 73etraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#205 of 386 in Venice
360 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#172 of 386 in Venice
351 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#192 of 386 in Venice
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Marco
Hotel Piccola Fenice
Hotel Piccola Fenice
#245 of 386 in Venice
42 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#195 of 386 in Venice
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Alboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Alboro

Property: Hotel de l'Alboro
Address: Sestiere San Marco 3894B | Corte dell'Alboro, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Alboro 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de l'Alboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Alboro
De l Alboro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing