We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Canal
Ranked #300 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed in Venice for five days, and wanted to be close to St. Mark's, so we booked this hotel. First, let me say that it is extremely close to both St. Mark's and Rialto (5 min walk if you have a map). Rooms are nice and clean, even though the place looks a bit under the weather. The staff comes to clean when you're away, so your room will look spotless when you come back. The area is quiet (unexpectedly so) and has a lot of places to eat, but also shops and even a mini market. Rooms were heated enough (we went in february) to make the stay comfortable. Breakfast doesn't hold many options, but all was tasty, especially the croissant. Don't expect pool and sauna though, this is a small venetian hotel, and should be viewed as such.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Try to book room 107 as it is larger and has canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyloo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    76
    38
    17
    17
See reviews for
38
71
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed for two nights, shower room very clean- bed was comfy and room was quite quirky and spacious.
On a nice little "street" with a canal running through- easy to get to from san marco/san zacharia.
Staff seemed nice- breakfast is very limited but good for price!
Free wifi too which is always good! Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank she2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Starting off with the location, it is 5 minutes from San Marco's Square which is very convenient especially if you have to use the toilet as the public toilets cost 1.50euros! At first we had a hard time following the map to the hotel because it was evening and we took the long way! However, when you discover the short way, it is so easy! Its is also a nice short walk after a tiring day of exploring the city!

The reception is very small but the people there were very friendly, accommodating, helpful (booked us our tours!) and they speak good english.

Walking upstairs to the rooms, it was more like a big house turned hotel with a computer by the living room for those who does not have wifi-capable gadgets, and the breakfast room just past the living room. The bedrooms surround this area and you may hear clinging of utensils in the morning from your rooms!

The bedroom we got was a double bedroom with the view of the alley outside the window and a toilet & shower. The bed was ok, firm and has only 2 pillows. There were extra pillows inside the large wooden (antique-looking) cabinet but no extra pillow cases. There's a mini-ref with 2 bottles of water inside, with & without gas. Note: THIS IS NOT FREE!

The bathroom is nice, complete with little soaps, towels and a hairdryer. I also like the shower coz it looks like the one in spas, however, there is nowhere to place your toiletries... Either place it on the floor or on top of the shower head(which I cannot reach).

The breakfast is not that exciting but I guess enough to start your day. They have hard bolied eggs, cheese, cold cut, cereals, croissants and sliced bread. You will also be served coffee or tea. What's nice about it is that its just outside your bedroom... It's homey.

Overall, I recommend this hotel for the location and comfort. It's good except for some minor concerns.

Oh, I would suggest you check the weather forecast and bring the necessities coz we checked out on one of the worst flooded day of venice and had to wade thru ankle deep waters of the alleys and thigh-deep cold waters of San Marco's square. The reception doesn't have plastics or anything to keep us dry. Those selling boot-like plastics are by the dock.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Location: at the little channel, on picturesque place, but out of the crowd of tourists. Everything important is nearby from here: St. Mark square 5 minutes, 12 minutes Rialto bridge, the harbor steamers San Zaccaria 6 minutes (easy to find your way under the plan on the hotel website). My single room on the first floor had a patio and balcony great for watching traffic on the channel.

The quality of breakfast is not the price paid.

Room Tip: Room 108 has a terrace and a small balcony (+ specially designed chair) for observing traffic on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I paid $90/night for a hotel on a quiet street in the middle of Venice. It's a tiny hotel. So services are limited. But breakfast every morning was nice. The bed was pretty tough. And I only had one pillow. But again...$90/night in the middle of Venice...not so bad.

I overheard an argument while I was there with the front desk and a couple who were being asked to change rooms because another couple was arriving that day and had request in advance the room that overlooked the canal. I sympathized with that couple. Changing rooms in the middle of your stay is a pain in the neck. But then again, it's a tiny hotel. So what can you do? And it's not the end of the world.

I was traveling alone. Had I been with my partner, maybe that would have complicated things, as the room was tiny and the bed a bit uncomfortable.

Anyway, book this hotel if you're interested in paying a nice rate for a clean hotel that maybe might change your room in the middle of your visit. But again...$90 a night!

Room Tip: Ask for the canal view! It's a tiny canal. But it's still a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Texan_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

A typical little old Italian hotel. The room we had had a large roomy bathroom, high ceilings and good breakfast.
To get there, (Aquire a street map)
From airport Marco Polo, take the water taxi to San Marco, 15 euros each and takes about an hour. Get off and turn Right and walk about 100 metres then enter San Marco on your left and stop to oooh and aaah then proceed over to the far right corner. It has a money exchange on one corner and a American snack bar on the other. Go up the lane, pass the first street/lane with lots of eating places, (come back and have a drink) carry on up the lane and on your right you will see a sign saying Columbine Hotel. Go up there, Up some steps over canal and down steps, carry on down there and at the end turn Left and you should be there. ( can you let me know if this doesnt work?)
The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were made up each day and as it is so central, we found it really convenient and well priced. They are on quite a few sites, if you cant find it try another. Think in the end I tried 6!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OrkneygirlOratia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We booked to stay at the Locanda Canal however upon arrival we were taken to the Casa Pisani Hotel a few streets away. This was their sister hotel, also a 3* and we were more than happy with this. On the morning of our 2nd day, we were told we were moving to the Locanda Canal hotel for the remaining 2 nights of our stay. We were a little confused as to why we had to move however didn't have a choice so we packed our bags and the helpful staff moved them to the Locanda Canal for us so it was no hassle moving. Later that day when we went to the new hotel, we checked in and were given the option of 2 rooms. We opted for 108 which was a very small double room but had a little balcony which overlooked the waterway below. This was great after a long day with lots of walking around, as we got a takeaway pizza and bottle of wine and took it back to the room. (This was a great way of saving money...meals in restaurants are very expensive for what you get so this worked out great for us). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Venice and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap and cheerful trip. (The Locanda Canal is on the same street as on the cover of the Venice Rough Guide)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LowreyDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#99 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#328 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Castello
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#218 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#253 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Castello
Locanda Cavanella
Locanda Cavanella
#220 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Cannaregio
Casa Pisani Canal
Casa Pisani Canal
#291 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Canal

Property: Locanda Canal
Address: Castello 4422/C | Fondamenta del Remedio, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Locanda Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Canal Venice
Locanda Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing