We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Marconi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rialto(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Graspo de Ua(Venice)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Sansoni(Venice)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bortolo 2(Venice)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
176
288
129
41
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
288
129
41
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrialto bridgegrand canalno liftgreat locationwater taxigondola stationrooms are smallbreakfast was includedyour luggagehampastriestriple roomshort breakcanal viewcold meatsmarco polo airportexploring venice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Four of us stayed here the end of May. The location near the Rialto bridge simply could not be better. There are restaurants and gondolas right in front on the hotel on the Grand Canal. When we landed in Venice three of the four people did not receive their luggage. The hotel was kind about contacting the Venice airport trying to assist us in tracking the luggage. They were also very kind in that they located fans for both rooms upon request. The breakfast area and quality of selection was quite good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Denver-KCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Love this hotel. No elevator would be the only negative, and it didn't matter!!
The location is 5 star...the cafe right in front sits on the canal and is lovely. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was included and was good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Marconi Hotel is a 3* hotel located right in the middle of Venice and just by the Rialto Bridge on the Grand Canal.

It is also ideally located if you travel from and to the airport via the Alilaguna boat-taxi (which I recommend) as you alight just opposite the hotel and have a 5mn walk via the Rialto Bridge.

This is absolutely brilliant!

The outside of the hotel is not really attractive as it looks a bit run down, as do so many buildings in Venice because of the humidity linked to the water.

You realize that the inside is absolutely fine when you push the door to the reception hall that is decorated in a very dark, obsolete and baroque style.
It is in fact quite attractive as it fits perfectly with the city.

The hotel’s common areas and rooms have all this obsolete style that gives them a lot of charm and character.
The rooms are of excellent standard and the bathroom not brand new but fairly recent, with new style appliances and tiles.

The whole hotel is immaculately clean.

As I had booked a package and therefore got a special rate, we were placed in a room that was not too far from the kitchen.
This means that it was a bit noisy as we could hear the staff getting the breakfast room ready early in the morning (not their fault, just the location of the room!)
This was not too much of a disturbance though as we set off early but it might be for other customers.

It also seems as if none of the rooms have view over the Grand Canal but on the lanes running on both sides of the hotel.
You therefore don’t have any view but the positive aspect of it is that you don’t have the noise from the traffic on the canal.

The entire hotel though was a bit noisy because of the age of the building and therefore the lack of modern sound insulation.
But I guess we could consider this as an extra charm!

The buffet breakfast is ok and good value for money and proposes a wide selection of food ranging from bread, croissants, fruits, cooked eggs, bacon and sausages, juices, coffee various teas etc…

I didn’t see any restaurant in the hotel but the restaurant located next door might be part of it (no idea just guessing).

The serving staff (mostly of Asian origin) is friendly.

The reception staff members (Italians) are professional but are certainly not going out their way to assist you or smile!
Someone told me that it is a common issue in Italy and I have to say that I could easily believe it: they make very obvious that you are neither Italian nor Venetian!
They are a bit abrupt and short when talking.
In fact they don’t really make you feel welcome in their city.

The only smile we got was from the night receptionist - he must have been very tired! ;)

The fact that the hotel was perfectly located in town and easily reached made us overlook this lack of warmth as we spent so little time in the hotel!

As a conclusion I would recommend the hotel if you don’t mind having to deal with ‘unfriendly’ staff and old fashion style equipment essentially because of its fantastic location and good value for money.

Would I go back there when returning to Venice? On a 2-day trip as we just did yes, on a longer stay may be not!

Room Tip: Most rooms (if not all) are facing the lanes running along side the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFranceOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I had booked the Locanda Gaffaro a year ago for our recent stay but the night before leaving I emailed them to advise my approx arrival time, only to be told they had no rooms!! I emailed them back enclosing a copy of our reservation confirmation but 2 hours later I had still heard nothing so panic set in. I looked at booking.com to see what was available and it was mostly hotels out of our price range. However the Marconi came in at approx £160 a night which seemed reasonable in a very expensive city.

We found the hotel quite easily by getting the coach to Pizzale Roma and then walking for approx 20 mins to the hotel. The hotel is very easy to find just in front of the Rialto Bridge. On arrival we were told we had got a very nice room on the 4th floor (no lift but we knew). I think we must have been upgraded as it was larger than the standard room with plenty of room for cases and moving around. We were on a corner with 3 windows but only views of roof tops. A/c worked very well.

Bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. Bathroom very clean with all the basic shampoos/soaps etc.

The hotel is in a great position as it was our first time to Venice. Opposite the Rialto vap stop and walking distance to most places. Just don't be taken in by the restaurants right outside the hotel. They will only give you the most expensive menu unless you ask, the food and service isn't great, and they are very expensive. Walk 5 mins away from the Grand Canal for a great selection of cheaper restaurants.

Breakfast was included and was both hot and cold served between 7.30 and 10.00. Quite acceptable and there was enough choice to vary it slightly each day. Plenty of fresh coffee or make your own tea.

Reception staff all speak very good English and are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Hotel Marconi is at the Rialto Bridge and faces the canal. They don't have a restaurant but on either side are very nice restaurants that have outdoor eating on the canal. The hotel is quaint, the hallways are narrow, the decor is typical Venice. The location is excellent with so much activity around the Rialto bridge that includes shopping, restaurants, bars. You can't beat it, it's a great place. When you park your car at the main parking area for Venice, you take a water taxi (please ask the price prior to boarding, some do charge more) to the hotel and the taxi driver will get your luggage out for you. When you are leaving, you can ask the hotel to call a water taxi for you, but make sure you tell the caller that you will pay no more that you paid to get there. This way you prearrange your fee for the ride back. Enjoy Venice, it's lovely.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are towards the front and look out onto the canal. There are no balconies. Our room looked out onto an alley that we used to get to a great shopping area. There are locals who live just behind the hotel and go about their daily activities such as hanging clean close out to dry and the like. I enjoy things like that but if you think you can avoid it in Venice, you will be disappointed. Very close living. There is no lift, but the hotel employees brought the luggage to the room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews