We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Generator Hostel Venice
Ranked #6 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The Hostel is a really nice option for going on vacations to Venice with your friends. It has a young ambiance going on in all the corridors and the staff is very kind.

The showers not having a more private door is an inconvinience but still is tolerable when you are staying in the 8 beds room.

All in all it is very cool and a really good option to stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Manuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This hostel is located on the island on Giudecca, which means that you have to take the water ferry (not cheap) to get here. Bear that in mind if you choose this place! That aside, this hostel exceeded all my expectations. You are greeted by a classy interior once you step in. The 24h reception was very friendly, and gave us advice as to how to plan our two days in Venice. There is a simple buffet breakfast available for 3 5 euros. I stayed with 3 friends in a private 4 bed dorm for 22 euros each/night. The room is small but very clean, with linen provided. There are also small lockers available in the room, and free luggage storage. Very very nice place, and I highly recommend this if the location is not an issue.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank travelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This hostel was very modern and 'funky'.
The decor downstairs in the bar area was really cool, the bar had a good selection of drinks.

The room was a little cramped, but I can't really hold that against it with the location being Venice after all.

Whilst we liked the hostel and would likely stay again, there are a few downsides.

Breakfast is average, it's below the level of some free breakfasts I've had at cheaper Hostels - and in this case you actually have to pay for it. We skipped on breakfast after the first day, not really worth the money. Other meals are of average value too, which is disappointing when no coming facilities are provided.

The other thing was the staff.
We personally had good experiences with the staff we dealt with, very friendly to us. However we did witness on two separate occasions staff being very unhelpful towards other guests as we were sitting near the bar. Some of them really need a different attitude to work in customer service.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hostel redefines the general connotation of the word. Generator Venice is located in an old granary and this imposing structure inside has been warmed up with a funky, artsy feel upon entering, with mismatching vintage finds and neon signs and a caffe that turns into a bar at night. Keti and Fabio who run the place welcome you like family throughout your stay.The location is on the island of Guidecca, a short vaporetto ride away from the main island, which is a fabulous and very romantic way to arrive!
As for the rooms / hallways, they are very clean with wooden floors.
The staff is friendly, efficient with any queries and accommodating and the front desk is on call 24/7.
It's an easy ride to the airport direct; 2 minute walk to the Vaporetto station, which is one stop to San Marco. The views are amazing, there is a substantial breakfast buffet.
This is a great budget option for individuals or for school groups.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londontraveller789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hostel interiors, decor and the facilities will blow you away..definitely miles ahead of what you see in average European hostels..the location is right across the San Marco on the canal...and the views from the hostel doorstep or room windows in mindblowing! However, the hostel being off mainland Venice in Guidecca is a bit of an inconvenience if you are there on a short stay; because getting around from Zitelle (the vaporetto stop for the hostel) is a bit of a pain.
The rooms were clean and the breakfast was ok...but I felt that it lacked personality. It has none of the Venetian charm that you come across rambling around the city.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wanderlust_pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Generator hostel is modern and clean but it lacks character and is not conducive to creating an atmospher to met people. Everyone just stays in their little corner. Don't order food it's terrible. But my biggest problem was the showers. There was one bathroom that has 2 showers and 2 toilets but the showers have glass doors and there is no lock to the hallway so anyone can come in and see you showering in all your glory. Not a fan at all.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Daniella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Daniella

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after your stay with us. Your feedback is our best tool to understand where we are meeting the expectations and where we should be improve and concentrate in order to keep the standards high.

We, at Generator Venice, believe that the social factor is the essence of our hostel and the ground floor area is designed to encourage the travellers to meet each other, share stories and make new friends.
We are disappointed that we have not met your expectations, but let me reassure you that all your comments have been taken on board and will have a follow up with the team.

Let me have the opportunity to thank you on behalf of the housekeeping team, but mostly to ask you to get in touch with me on keti.camillo@generatorhostels.com so that I will have the opportunity to understand the comment on the food.

Warm regards

Keti Camillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at the Generator hostel in Venice for 2 nights and I loved it! The rooms were very clean, the beds were super comfy, and the main floor/common room itself was awesome -- fully equipped with a bar, pool table, photo booth, tv & couches and wifi. I originally booked a bed in a 14-bed female only dorm, however when I arrived I was moved to a 10-bed female only dorm for no extra cost, due to a large school group that had booked their stay at the hostel, and the staff (assuming the group would be loud when put all together) booked them in separate rooms to accommodate their other guests, which I really appreciated. I will admit that the breakfast wasn't great and it's an extra €3.50, so if you skip out on it, you aren't missing anything. Many of the reviews I read prior to my booking stated that, because the hostel is located on Guidecca island, it was a hassle to get to and from the centre of Venice, however I personally enjoyed the boat rides from Guidecca as you got to see the less-touristy parts of the city, plus it was a much quieter area. It was a quick 10 minute boat ride to Piazza San Marco, though it didn't seem that long because there was always so much to see! I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling alone or with friends and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,148 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#120 of 385 in Venice
517 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#108 of 385 in Venice
844 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range: £21 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing