We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Generator Hostel Venice
Ranked #5 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hostel is as gorgeous as you see in the picture in their website. A big hostel with big common area and bar. Free breakfast was great. Most people stayed here from 1 to 3 days, I stayed here for 8 days. Located in the quiet island 1 stop from st.marco, if you have the travel pass, the location will not bother you. Hostel serve breakfast (free) and dinner (well priced). Room are great , comes with cabinet underneath the bed, lots of privacy, reading lights and power plug, good mattress and linen. Lots of toilet and are always clean. Overall love this place, i feel classy!!! Good place to meet people! There is a supermarket along the hostel (cross 2 bridges) selling cheap wine and beer, great thing about this hostel, no restriction in bringing drinks and food from outside as they do not have guess kitchen. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are well organized, so any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyTio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    374
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
42
88
422
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed as a solo traveller for four nights from 13/1-17/1/2014. It is on Giudecca island in the south of the city but is only one vaporetto stop from San Marco piazza where St Mark's basilica, the Doge's palace and many other famous landmarks are based. Found the place really nice, helpful staff, a very decent breakfast for 3.50 Euros and a well-stocked bar for evening shenanigans. Good communal area for meeting fellow travellers or starting up conversations with pretty much anyone. And the price @ roughly £90 for four nights was an absolute bargain. Really lovely, modernist decor as well, was definitely one of the best European hostels I've ever stayed in, will be looking for Generator's in future, I have heard the Berlin one is also in a really good location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiegvardSilverstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Generator Hostel was the most amazing place I've stayed in Italy and probably also the best hostel I've ever been to.
The bed was super comfortable, the room was warm and clean.
The common area was beautiful, super nice and food cheap and good too!

I'll definitely be staying in a Generator Hostel everytime I travel to a city where there's one ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofia-P8lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

In the Giudecca island, The Generator is themost charming and comfortable hostel I've ever been. Form the decoration to the staff, everything is flawless. The wifi works perfectly from every room of the hostel and the food and localization is great.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect hostel for a stay in Venice. Great facilities and lounge area, comfortable beds and personal lockers. Quick boat ride to the main island, but ask the staff about the rolling Venice discount card and you can save a lot of money! Venice isn't known for having a large nightlife so the bar and entertainment area at the hostel ends up being a great spot to meet other travelers and have a few drinks.
I will definitely stay at other Generator hostels in other cities.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylaliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hey there
Generator is one of the best hostels I've stayed. Amazing location, friendly helpful staff, clean. One or two issues. The food is not good. The service can be painfully slow. And MTV turned up loud in the morning (9am) is not cool. Maybe I'm getting old. Nevertheless I enjoyed my stay.
Michael

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpatricka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

By far the most amazing hostel we have ever stayed in. We had their double ensuite which was beyond hostel standards!

+
: Staff are friendly and extremely helpful
: Feel good, relaxed atmosphere
: Decor (mix of old and new)
: Guidecca island is peaceful (don't be put off by the location)
: 5 mins from San Marco by boat

-
: large groups (with no manners) engulfing communal areas, they seemed very young...

I wish them every success as I believe they only reopened 8 months or so ago.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#129 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#153 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#101 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Property: Generator Hostel Venice
Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing