We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel on Giudecca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Generator Hostel Venice
Ranked #6 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great hostel on Giudecca”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a great time at Generator for Carnivale - it has to have one of the best views in Venice, straight over the water to San Marco. We slightly cheated and used it's brand new private rooms with en-suite bathroom so it was more of a hotel for us than hostel but well worth it and they threw a great party on the Friday night! Modern, cool and comfortable. Would definitely check them out in their other locations

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    379
    119
    52
    32
See reviews for
43
89
430
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I slept 2 nights in this hostel. Very nice rooms, friendly and helpful personnel and the coolest lounge ever! I would recommend it to anyone. It is ideally located, just in front of san marco but you have to take the boat. Breakfast is basic but good; you can also buy italian breakfast or muffins/donuts/pizza.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Originally I booked 6 nights in Venice assuming there was a bunch of stuff to do since it was my first time. After I arrived at the front desk and started chatting with him, he said I could do Venice in 3-4 days. So when I asked for the policy of being able to leave a few days early he said I couldn't do anything since I already paid. FYI I had no itinerary on this trip but he waited until I paid to have the nerve to basically say I just swindled you and there will be no refunds. Also BEWARE!! All of the hostels in Venice are not on the main island with all of the sightseeing. You will be required to buy a certain amount of days pass that will cost no less than 30-35 euros. As for the bathrooms they were always drenched and had a pool of water on the floor because of the weird set up of the showers being in the front and not really being all that private. The bathroom itself has only one sink or two at the most, so it's a huge hassle to compete with kids in the morning to start your day. Lastly the staff wasn't all that helpful with giving you a poorly drawn map upon arrival, you any bring alcohol into the hostel which makes Venice way more expensive. Not a very accommodating hostel, it's all business to them

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truthspeaksnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Really enjoyed this hostel, I was in a 16 bed female dorm, on the 2nd floor. The room and bunk beds were set out in a way so it didn't seem like you were sharing with 15 other people, however when I was there the room was half empty which was nice. Each bed had an individual light and power outlet and the beds were so comfy, it was hard getting out of bed in the morning. The bar/common room area was nice with several seating options and there was the hostel cafe next to the reception area.

My only bad experience was when I arrived to check in, there was a guy and girl on reception and they both didn't even look up and say hello or acknowledge I was just standing there for a minute or so and then they were both trying to get the other person to deal with checking me in.... But later on when I came down to ask a question about the water buses the same guy on reception was really helpful and answered my questions.

The Wifi was excellent and the bathrooms were good.

Overall I would definitely stay here again, it was nice staying off the main island, the room and location of the hostel was quiet and the beds were so comfy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I loved this hostel, it had great style, atmosphere and hotel quality. It's full of positive energy. The main bar/lounge was cool and clean. The kitchen was nice enough to make me food even though it was about 10seconds until the kitchen closed. The food was ok. The reception staff was very nice and helpful as there was a transportation strike the next day and I was due at a 12pm flight which meant I now had to leave at 8am instead of 10:30. But the staff members were friendly and helped me as much as possible on figuring out how to navigate around the strike. The room was very nice and clean, the beds were the comfiest hostel beds I've ever slept in! The beds were also very high end/tech with individual lights, plugs, usb ports and shelves & hooks on each bunk. The showers were great and the bathrooms in general were nice and clean. The location is great. Easy to get to by bus or boat and right near the heart of it all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twistedtippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian de los Reyes, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

All I can say is come here and spend as little time as possible actually in the hostel. From what the moment I got there all we had was problems. From the wi-fi not working, to which there response was: "try again in an hour," which when I did, it still didn't work and when I asked again they gave me the same response. The staff was unhelpful and cared very little about any problems you came into. Don't even try to order food here, it'll be the biggest mistake of your life, even if you think you ordered something simple. I tried three different times to have a meal here, all three times it took two hours for the food to come out and it was cold and looked like it just came out of a can, even though it costs around ten euros. The one thing that was decent is the bed was comfortable. Go for a hotel, this place is terrible, the staff doesn't care, and if you have a complaint keep it to yourself, no one will listen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zach A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi Zach,
I was very disappointed to read your comments after your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies that you had a poor experience.
We want to give all our guests the best possible stay and a unique experience while they are with us and I am very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Please feel free to email me on: keti.camillo@generatorhostels.com or contact me on 0039 347 3166671.
I hope to hear from you very soon.
Sincerely

Keti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Views on the water's edge, 2 min walk from water taxi and a short 5/6min boat journey to St Mark's Sq. Friendly reception, very large, clean room and huge bathroom. Fun bar in the evening. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#128 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#152 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#108 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#105 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Property: Generator Hostel Venice
Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing