We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 5-bed ensuite, decent 7-bed mixed room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Generator Hostel Venice
Ranked #5 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great 5-bed ensuite, decent 7-bed mixed room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The beds were great -- they each had an individual outlet, reading light, and drawer.

My friends and I first stayed in a 5-bed ensuite with an amazing water-front view and a sink, toilet, and shower in the same room (but with separate doors, which made sharing really easy). They provided towels too.

The last night, we stayed in a 7-bed mixed room, which lacked towels and was more cramped. We also had to share a bathroom which was down the hall.

Location was decent -- the view was amazing and during sunset there will always be people sitting by the water in front of the hostel. The down side is that you do have to buy a vaporetti pass in order to get to the main island every day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sherry,

thank you for taking the time to submit your positive review.

As you have mentioned, from the 5-bed en-suite you can enjoy a spectacular view of Venice, but sitting on the front door and enjoying the sunset is magic.

Keep spreading the Generator word and we hope to see you back again soon.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    374
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
42
88
422
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The service at this place is unimaginably bad. The staff has an enormous amount of contempt for the patrons of the hostel. The staff will roll their eyes if you try to use your credit card. Everything for sale at the hostel is overpriced and low quality. If you make the mistake of ordering food, be prepared to wait 45 minutes for microwave fare. By far the worst meal I had in Italy. Of course I would never be dumb enough to order food from a hostel while in Venice ... Except that the hostel is located on an isolated island where everything else closes before 10pm. I had a very negative experience here and would recommend that you stay somewhere else while in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I was very disappointed to read your comments after your stay with us.

We strongly believe in our customer care, so please accept our sincerest apologies that you had a poor experience.

Your feedback will be passed and analysed by the team so I will be thankful if you can forward to my e-mail a bit more information about your experience ( fabio@generatorhostels.com )

We would love to have you back at Generator London so that we can restore your faith in the Generator brand. Our mission is to provide fantastic budget accommodation and to help create great experiences and memories in London.

I really hope to be able to personally welcome you back and please do feel free to contact me to discuss anything further.

Best Wishes

Fabio Moccia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Hostel is located 200 yards away from water bus stop and over look San Marco Square. The interior design of the hotel is modern and clean and most of staffs are very friendly (except the young female receptionist whom were slightly rude and impatient). We had stayed in double room on the third floor over look the canal. The room is spacy and clean. They had good quality hair dryer and straightener which would be useful for ladies :) The breakfast is good and cheaper if you pay at check in for 3.20 EURO per person. They have a storage room you can use to keep your luggage after you have check out by 10am. I liked that they have decorated the room with magazines to read and few book. We would definitely stay there again. Of course they have shared domes available if you are single traveller. The best way to travel to there is by water bus and it's definitely worth to get a travel pass at any HelloVenezia counter if you intend to stay more than two days. The pass can be use on any actv buses apart from one go to the airport.

Room Tip: If you are couple and ask for a waterfront room which overlook canals is the most romantic thing you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IonaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I liked the individual 'pods' you get for your bed - helpful to have little things like a shelf, a light, a power point and a big lockable drawer (bring your own padlock).

But the hostel lacks atmosphere - the quietest hostel bar I've ever seen. And please get some locks fitted to your toilets(!). My room felt quite small, seemed like my 8 bed dorm was once a 6 bed dorm and they've squeezed in a bunk. And they need to get some nets for the windows...we opened our windows for fresh air (8 people in a small room!) and pigeons kept flying in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pesh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The guy in the reception was really rude to me... We got there late at night, super tired, all the trains were late and he said we lost the reservation... So the price for one night in a seven room bedroom would be 46 euros without breakfast... I think its a lot more worth it if you stay in a hotel alone with breakfast included... We had to move from there and stayed in a HOTEL, with breakast included for 35 euros....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophcoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in this hostel for two nights in a 14-bed all female room and loved it. For just €3.20 you can eat a buffet breakfast (ham and cheese sandwich, yogurt, fruit, cereal, tea/hot chocolate/coffee) and it was definitely worth it. The vaporetto (boat shuttle) stop is only 100 yards from the entrance and so easy to find - just follow the hostel's instructions. The beds were clean and comfortable, the only problem I had with the room was that the shower and toilet were in the same room and with 14 girls, that was definitely not the most efficient plan. Otherwise, it was in a great, quiet location, and I would absolutely stay there again as a traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hostel is exceptional. Friendly staff at an amazing location (on an island, on the other side of the San Marco square which is such a relief!). Everything was clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable. A bummer that the breakfast was not included. A great value for your money though. I would definitely recommend this hostel if you're staying in Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#131 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
No photo provided
Hotel San Samuele
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Property: Generator Hostel Venice
Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 216 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing