We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a Likert scale, my review is neutral ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Generator Hostel Venice
Ranked #6 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Fairborn, OH
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On a Likert scale, my review is neutral ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Knowing nothing about Venice and having never stayed in a hostel, I chose the Generator Venice location due to its mostly positive reviews and the decent price. I slept in one of their 16 person rooms at $35 euros a night.

The good: if you are younger than thirty and single, you are more likely to enjoy staying at this hostel. Walking into their lobby, it is readily apparent it has a young and hip atmosphere. The bar is a good one that stays open later than many on the main island.

Also good, if you have a complaint and speak with a manager, your problem will be listened to. Specifically, Keti is a fantastic manager to work with.

The bad: if you are over thirty and used to a more relaxed and slower pace, you will probably not enjoy staying at this location. This is the catagory I fell into. The bar was directly below my room, and the music went on through one a.m. The door slammed constantly due to any one of the 16 individuals coming or going until two a.m., and my bed was a top bunk almost directly below one of the lights and right next to the slamming door. I don't have the patience for that anymore.

If you do decide to reserve a room at this location, make sure your dates are correct and if you do want to change them, you do so more than 24 hours before check in. I decided to change my reservation the day of check in, and was told it wasn't possible without incurring the full charge, regardless of it being more than 24 hours before before the date I wanted changed. I must reiterate, reservations must be changed 24 hours prior to check in. This is their policy due to the booking sites taking 20% of the reservation price on the check in date.

Another item worth noting, if you are staying here, get a boat pass for the number of days you are staying. This location requires the boat to get to it. The boats are seven euros one way, or a fixed price per day for the pass. If you are caught on board the boats without a pass and didnt try to purchase one as soon as you got on, you are subject to a fifty two euro fine. While its a pain to get a boat to this location every day, you can't beat the morning view looking at Venice while drinking a cappuccino next to the water or the night view while having a beer.

Finally, be sure to give yourself ample time to get to the airport or train station. The boats go on reduced services overnight, so if you have an early departure, you may have to take a water taxi which is ungodly expensive ($140 euro plus to get to the airport). Flying mid morning or in the afternoon should alleviate this issue.


Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AudioVox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Audiovox

Thank very much for the very extensive feedback.

It’s a pity that your experience with us was not of your standards and mostly you have not enjoyed the atmosphere.

Generator Venice has reopened 1 year ago with the vision of offering more than just a bed. A place where travellers and young professionals can socialize, work, be inspired but also have a great sleep.

We offer a variety of different rooms from the small private to the larger dorms, making the hostel ideal for young travellers, families and couple. The social factor is the key for each one of these groups that clearly choose us because of the event and fun that we create.

The location is great as we are placed right across the canal from St Mark Square and we can also be easily reachable from the airport thanks to the Alilaguna service.

Lastly, let me take the opportunity to offer a tip for fellow travellers. Before reserve a room always read the terms and conditions, or else drop us an e-mail on venice@generatorhostels.com so that we can offer the best support.

We hope to welcome back in your next trip to Europe to have a second chance to show you our true spirit.

Warm regards

Fabio Moccia

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    397
    126
    53
    33
See reviews for
47
92
456
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The dorms are very small and the privacy of the showers is questionable as there's no locks on the doors and you can basically see through the shower doors... The bar area is very big and cool looking, but IMO it has no atmosphere and lots of larger groups (mainly from the US) coming together makes socializing harder. The location is also very big minus for me.
The hostel was very safe and the view from our room was amazing! I still wouldn't recommend this hostel, not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear FionaHelmi,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your views following your recent stay.Generator Venice has a wide offer of rooms and dorms that can be sharing or en-suite, depending on what our guests suit best.

The sharing facilities are split by male and female, and extra privacy is futherly guaranteed by adhesive film that darken the door.

Our bar and ground floor area is thought and designed in favour of making guests socialize, and create a great vibe during the hot Venetian evenings. It’s a pity that you’ve find it hard to experience.

We truly hope as a team to have a second chance in the future so that you can feel our #GenLove and true spirit

All the best

Fabio Moccia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Normally, I prefer something cheaper. But after staying in Venice a few nights, I realized this really was the best option. So many hostels aren't on Venice at all, they're on the mainland which is still considered the Venice area. Generator Venice is actually on one of the islands in Venice, and had a great view of the city. It's EXTREMELY easy to get to from the train station. A few things: if you're going to do laundry, don't bother drying it. It cost 3.50 Euro to dry, and it does not work at all. The food is fine, but the wine is expensive. They don't allow outside food into the hostel (dumb) but that doesn't mean you can't enjoy wine outside the hostel. For 3 euro (the price they sell a very small glass of wine for), you can get a whole bottle in the supermarket and drink it outside along the water's edge. Other than that, it's a great place and a wonderful option for venice! I'm giving it a 4 instead of 5 simply for the food thing. It's a way to make more money on overpriced food. I understand they're running a business, but at how expensive this place is, I would expect a little better (even a corner table with hot water and cups to make tea would be nice).

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank morgabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Morgabob,

thank you so much for your great comments after your stay.

We would love to have you back again soon and please keep spreading the #GenLove and tell all your friends about us!

See you soon Morgabob

Best wishes

Fabio Moccia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

After traveling around Europe for awhile this is the best hostel I've come across. Worth the money. Modern, clean. Great bathrooms and wifi really does work everywhere. Great bar, nice staff. Loved my stay here, a bit hot in the rooms ( 8 bed room) otherwise 10/10.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Tayla S,

thanks for such a great review.

We love to hear about that you had a great stay, and all your comments have been shared with the team.

Looking forward welcoming you back in one of the Generator Hostels, #GenLove

Kind regards

Fabio Moccia
Generator Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Only to stops on the vaporatto to St Marks!
I stayed in a female only 14 bed dorm. They packed those beds in there! They were surprisingly comfortable beds though, and they had little privacy walls which was nice. I was lucky enough to get a bed next to the window and the view was amazing!
Sadly theres no kitchen, but the food wasn't too expensive and it was pretty tasty. Still, I'd suggest eating out and getting some real italian food rather then the fish and chips they sell at the hostel.
My only complaint is that the shower doors didn't close properly so the bathroom floor was always wet!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jessica S,

Thank you for your review, really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all the positive comments.

Hope to see you soon for another visit

Kind regards,

Fabio Moccia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel was very impressive. It's very worth the price but that was before considering the mandatory water ferry to get to the hostel. The water ferry was 26€ for three days so it adds up if you're on a tight budget. It's right on the water of the Guidecca island and there is a nice downstairs bar and kitchen. They have good prices of food and drink. A lot of people spent their nights out on the water with a beer or a glass of wine. There are in-room lockers and each bed has it's own personal light. They pump the air conditioning too so my room wasn't as hot as others I've been in. The internet came and went so I had to go into the lobby to barely get a signal. The staff was very nice and helpful and very understanding of our situation (we got lost, HARD). If you book this hostel, take into consideration the cost of the water ferry and time it takes to get to and from here (about 40 minutes to Sta. Lucia Station). It's a nice place and very tidy. There are communal bathrooms and showers per floor some of the bathrooms didn't have locks. Make sure you know which direction the hostel is before you get on the water ferry. We ended up riding it for an hour and a half in the wrong direction! But once you get there, it's like heaven.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Daniel,

thanks for such a great review. Glad to hear all your very positive comments about the hostel and services in general.

Hope to see you back on your next trip to Venice

#Genlove and regards from all the team

Fabio Moccia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having stayed in a Generator hostel before, the choice was clear I would stay in this one in Venice as well seeing as there are hardly any other hostels. The location, though it's not on the main island is really easy to get to. From nearly all the rooms you have a stunning view of the city. For single travellers it is really easy to meet other people. Would definitely do it again.

Room Tip: 8 bed dorms are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello Charlie N,

Thank you so much for such an awesome review!

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay in Venice.

Keep in touch with us via all our social channel, #GenLove

Safe travels

Fabio Moccia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 385 in Venice
2,100 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#129 of 385 in Venice
495 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,348 reviews
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Venice

Property: Generator Hostel Venice
Address: Fondamenta Zitelle, 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 222 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Generator Hostel Venice 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Generator Hostel Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing