We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,246)
Filter reviews
1,246 results
Traveller rating
503
466
155
71
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
466
155
71
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main island bed dorm day pass giudecca island boat bus common areas buffet breakfast lounge area san marco third floor vaporetto stop water buses train station beds lock privacy euros
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,246 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The room was too crowded and had no space at all for walking inside. Also poor ventilation. Bathroom inside the room was good but no soap for the sink. The common areas were fantastic and great food at a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sofiatorresriveros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear sofiatorresriveros,
thanks for taking the time to review the stay. Sorry to hear that you have had some issue in relation to the standards. Your comments will be brought up to the attention of the team.
Best regards
Generator Venice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

My third stay here and pretty sure it won't be my last! A clean, safe, welcoming hostel in a quiet and easily accessible location with friendly, helpful staff - a perfect base from which to explore my favourite city!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kr062018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear kr062018,

Thank you a lot for your great review. It seems you got all the #GenLove experience. This makes us proud of our job. Reviews like yours help us understand that we are in the right tracks and that we are doing our job the way It should be done.

A big thank you from the Generator Venice Team and we hope to have you again with us.

Best regards

Generator Venice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

I love the place! Cozy, quiet, scenic and clean! The only issue was that I wish I was told that it would cost €7.5 euro to cross to the hostel’s side of Venice and back each way! I ended up paying more for the transfer than for the hostel itself!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nonharvard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear nonharvard,
It is great to see that you loved our Venice Hostel. We put a lot of effort to make it the best it could be. You are right, we are just 5 minutes away and a single way tickets costs 7.50 euros. However, you can buy a 24hrs (20 euros), 48hrs (30 euros) and also 72hrs (40 or 29 euros for the Venice Rolling Card for people under 29 years old) water-bus tickets which reduces the transportation cost drastically.import, an important thing to know is that the waterbus operates 24 hours. Next time you come and Venice just hop by and say Hello.
Best regards
Generator Venice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

The location is great but services from some of the staff is poor. When I checked-in I was assigned to used bed, and the bed that was given for the second time was not madr so I made it myself. The staff at the bar not friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank asianwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear asianwonderer,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us after your recent stay here in Venice

It’s always good to receive feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve the service we offer and understand what it is we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

We are disappointed to read your comments and understand that we have failed to meet your expectations in some areas on this occasion.

Hopefully we will have the chance to show you a better Generator experience again in the future if you return to us here in Venice.

Thanks again for choosing Generator Venice

Best Wishes,
Generator Venice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

The hostel is very crowded, 2 small bath room are available to cater 30+ people. The bathroom require improvement and hang the towels and small racks to put small items. there is no arrangement of trouble shooting the facilities. I like the restaurant only.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mumtazh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabio M, Direttore at Generator Hostel Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for getting back to us with such a great review. Apologies for not matching your standards, having said this your comment are appreciated and represent a valid point of discussion for future improvement.

Best regards

Generator Venice Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews