We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Fantin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Fantin
Ranked #307 of 385 Hotels in Venice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Strange building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

In a strange building, with cannons and cannon balls embedded in the main facade, small room but to our surprise overlooking the canal where the gondolas passing by.
A bit old but clean, friendly staff, walking distance from the historic center.
No wifi in the room but only in the entrance hall. Normal breakfast, for the price paid is ok.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesgaelle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Modest but a few minutes walk from Piazza San Marco.
Unfortunately it did not lift, we climbed to the second floor via a staircase with red carpet. Room a little small but with a canal view .... classic 2 star unpretentious.
We will be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Markpacino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

If you are looking for a budget hotel, choose this hotel. The room is very small, the hotel itself needs more lights to make it bright. Since we only need a room to sleep this hotel is ok for us. The location is about 20 minutes from San Marco.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisahendrawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I were in room 11, although the paint and wall paper were peeling a little, on the plus side the room was large enough for our luggage and the bathroom opened up onto the internal hallway. We viewed a brighter room, overlooking the canal, but there was hardly any space for luggage and the bathroom door was next to the bed. It was in October so very little mosquito activity. The area was not scary although dark if one turned right when leaving the hotel. If one went straight ahead, or turned left, there were no problems. Excellent location for everything in Venice. We did not find the staff rude, in fact, most were very helpful considering we spoke no Italian.

Room Tip: We only stayed in one that was room 11 which was more spacious than a canal room we viewed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Cocolalla, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was the hotel my son and gf had to stay in because Hotel Locanda Antica, the one we payed for, had broken plumbing. Very scary area neat the Phoenix Theater.This is a mosquito infested place with blood spatters all over the walls, no air,community bathroom, rude staff. NASTY, DNR = Do Not Return. This is a scam in Venice!

Room Tip: Never Stay Here !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marz2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel La Fenice Et Des Artistes
San Marco
Hotel Piccola Fenice
Hotel Piccola Fenice
#242 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#96 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#204 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#111 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#56 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Fantin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Fantin

Property: Hotel San Fantin
Address: San Marco 1930/A | Campiello della Fenice, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Fantin 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Fantin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing