We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accessible Option in an In-Accessible City”
Review of Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Hotel
Ranked #194 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Accessible Option in an In-Accessible City”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Tivoli Hotel is in a great location for setting out to explore (and likely get lost) in the city of Venice. The hotel was clean, air conditioning worked, staff were friendly- and breakfast was included...What more can you ask for for such a reasonably priced hotel, in an expensive city?

My family chose to stay in a quadruple room, located up one flight of stairs on the second floor (as one member of our family has difficulty walking long distances). The walk from the Piazzale Roma bus drop off point to the hotel is fairly accessible, by Venice's standards, for someone in a wheelchair. You will have to cross 3 bridges- one of which has a ramp. The walk took us approx. 10mins and the hotel allowed us to store my brother's motorized scooter in a room off their main floor, on our arrival.

There are plenty of restaurants in the near vicinity of the hotel, as well as some souvenir shops. Everything else seemed to always be a 20minute walk away (just be sure you have your path mapped out ahead of time!)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richelle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    143
    73
    14
    3
See reviews for
63
124
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I'll begin with the good, even great things; It is in a fantastic location for the sleepier, and arguably more beautiful area of Venice, away from the bustle of San Marco but close enough to walk to it and other areas of interest. There are some great restaurants around this hotel. Another plus; I had great sleep quality in this place - possibly because i'd been walking around Venice non-stop all week!! But because of the typical Venetian shutters, the room was kept dark and I personally slept better here than at home! I can only speak for myself though, as we had 2 incredibly flat pillows on the bed and one spare pillow in the wardrobe, which I got. We asked 3 members of staff for another one for my partner over the week and each member either brushed off the problem or said they'd dealt with it when they hadn't. So my partner soon got tired of this and ended up rolling up a blanket and stuffing it under his pillow for a week. The worst part of the stay was the breakfast. Breakfast was "served" between 8 and 9:30, but once its gone, its gone and was rarely replenished at all, so guests who arrived at 8am would get the fresh bread and eggs and we'd be left with nothing at 8:30/9. Other than that there were CAKES, ham and floppy cheese to eat. YUM. So we did not even bother to get up for breakfast for 3 out of 6 mornings. Staff barely spoke any English and night staff were completely useless to us, claiming we always needed to wait until the morning - even if we wanted toilet roll! There were days when our toilet roll wasn't even replenished by housekeeping. Not good. To be fair, this is a 2 star hotel, so my review may not come as a surprise to you, but I expect that when I am promised bed and breakfast, I will at least get that, and some things were really basic needs that were just not met by the staff.

Holiday was not ruined though, because luckily, we were in VENICE, and I don't think it's possible to go there and not enjoy yourself - nothing can ruin your experience of this place!! Plus, the main thing is that we were well rested and in a great location, however I would perhaps go up a star next time ;)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura87p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Excellent location. Far enough from the center (to avoid the high prices and crowds) but near enough to get there by just walking.
We've arrived by train (Santa Lucia) and took the Vaporetto nº2 til S.Tomà. It's expensive, but is a nice way to start your journey in Venice. From S.Tomà it's just 5 minute walking.
Staff is very kind and helpful. They recommend the best paths, restaurants, etc.
The first journey on Vaporetto was the only one we've made on the 2-day that we spent on Venice. Just because the Hotel is so central that you can reach point just by walking.
We stayed in a 4-bed-room. It was spacious enough for the four of us and it was clean.
Breakfast isn't top-rated but one cannot forget that this is a 2-star hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a budget room (shared shower and toilet). It was nice and clean, and breakfast was good. Breakfast variety lessens as the week goes on, not sure when it is replenished, but it was enough even on our last day.

The location is excellent for exploring the city. Lots of nearby places to eat and drink.

It isn't fancy, but good value.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FoodbLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pleasant hotel, pleasant staff, nice building, very good breakfast. Good value for a budget priced hotel (budget for Venice anyway). Off the beaten track a little but not too hard to find. We couldn't turn the air cnditioning off or the television on - no doubt this could have been remedied if we had the interest to ask.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just about 2 blocks away from Grand Canal. Lots of shopping and restaurants near by. Very good breakfast. Front desk staff helpful and friendly. The only draw back is there is no elevator and many steps to carry luggage up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Tivoli Hotel is both a short walk from the Santa Lucia train station and to St Mark's Square and other sites. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast has a good range of choices. There is a little shop just across the street which sells nice gelato (€1.50 for a small cone), pizza slices (€1.70-€2.20) and focaccia (€2.50) if you get peckish during the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninjakitten007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#97 of 385 in Venice
419 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#100 of 385 in Venice
481 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#176 of 385 in Venice
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#107 of 385 in Venice
601 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#226 of 385 in Venice
170 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#134 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Hotel

Property: Tivoli Hotel
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3838 | Crosera San Pantalon, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tivoli Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing