We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great secret Venice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Casa Martini
Ranked #139 of 469 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great secret Venice spot”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We loved our stay at Casa Martini - we stayed one night, left Venice and came back to stay another night. Both rooms we stayed in were pretty, spacious, comfortable and clean. The location was fantastic and we loved the restaurants on the street. It's definitely tricky to find as it's down a tiny alleyway but don't let that scare you!

Look at this Google maps image to see the front of the building, and the alley is right next to a clothing store (you'll see bathrobes or coats outside on the racks out front): https://www.google.ca/maps/@45.443715,12.3263,3a,75y,334.67h,80.49t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sdzo4Ka0QxwBLMtGsWasqWQ!2e0

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    163
    57
    25
    39
See reviews for
68
235
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

OK, it wasn't that difficult to find the location after all since I read some reviews warning about not missing the little alley once you pass the De Guglie bridge but I certainly was surprised to have to knock to be admitted into the building and not having a receptionist after 7 pm. There is also breakfast but is not included in the price of the room. My reservation was mistakenly done for three instead of four so I knew I had to pay a little more upon arrival but a tourist tax was also added and I was expected to pay cash for all after a discount was applied. We only had to wait to be admitted twice for longer than usual but the experience overall wasn't that great. Our room was also located right next to the eating area so it was a little noisy in the morning. The free wi-fi was delivered as promised but a couple of times it had to be resettled because it stopped working.

Room Tip: Stay away from the eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Very rude staff and broken furniture! No lift and they charge extra to drop your luggage in room. Broken curtains! In short very bad experience! Location and price is good but other then that nothing is good!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabish U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The ratio quality and price fr this hotel is excellent. Check prices on line. They are not out of line especially for Venice.

The room was clean, comfortable, and lovely. Ancient build wood beams in the ceiling, incorporated in the modern design of the room. I loved it. The room was on the top floor. No elevator, but we were travelling light So that was not a problem. I loved the view from the windows (Venice rooftops). The room has an independent AC and heating system.

The large TV was hidden by a large mirror ad therefore not intrusive. Storage space is ok. There is a safe in the bedroom.

The location is ideal: not too close to the chaos of the railway station, but not too far: you do not have to cross bridges to get there (which can be a challenge with heavy luggage) except the Ponte dell Guglie, which has lateral smooth ramps with no bumps. From Ponte delle Guglie you are on the path to San Marco. You can take the Vaporetto nearby.

The breakfast offers yogurt, cake, fruit, cereals, and the usual coffee and the likes. No sausages or eggs, if you go for these stuff. Nearby there is a Break restaurant where you can get a meat-based breakfast.

For lunch, nearby, I propose a simple and cheap option. It is close to one of the University of Venice sites. So this is a trattoria for the students and professors. Cheap but clean and good food.
Trattoria dalla Marisa
Cannaregio, 652 30171 Venezia
+39 041 720211
Very close to the Casa Martini.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

In fairness to the hotel, I cannot knock the cleanliness or the location. However, something happened on the first night which was strange.

ANNOYINGLY, we had zero sleep on the first night. 4 times in total the fire alarm went off for about 20 minutes at a time... approx 30 minutes apart. There were no staff on site at all, and we were awoken another time by the local fire brigade explaining that it was a false alarm.

Understandably, we (my girlfriend was 6 months pregnant at the time) felt this was not on and demanded an explanation. Enrico, the Manager of the hotel explained that it was due to a faulty battery in the alarm. We asked if we were due any compensation and Enrico said "Yes, of course, a full nights refund will be provided" We followed Enrico's advise on how to claim this and 2 months later, we received £39. Bear in mind that the accommodation was £110 per night.

I have recently spoken via email with Enrico and he has advised that the Owner decided that €70 would be fine for a refund... not a full nights stay. (you will also see they clearly have a strange currency converter!)... this is Enrico's quote;

"I have done everything possible to give the full amount of the night, but it was not possible. The owner has decided. It is not my fault."

Basically, the money isn't the massive problem, but I took two things away from this.

1 - If something was to happen at the hotel, please beware that there is NOBODY on site for health and safety at all... what would have happened if there was an actual fire?

2 - The Manager is a liar... he clearly didn't have the authority to advise on the complaints process.


Dudders

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dudders82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Nice central place to stay one ore more days in venice. Very friendly people. When you enter one has to go up some stairs to the reception and rooms. Place has 2 very nice and quite terraces to rest after the walks within the crowded city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights - nice hotel and location. But needs serious sign posting as either no one knows about this b&b or are unwilling to help. We asked the cops also about the area Cannaregio - but they were not helpful. Google map shows wrong location !!

Pros:
5 mins walk from the Venezia SL station.
Main attractions also nearby - 15-20 mins walk.
Water taxi station- Guglie near by
Clean and beautiful rooms
Above average breakfast with fresh fruits, breads land bacon slices.
Free wifi

Cons:
Very difficult to find
One of the receptionist was not that willing to help and we had to ask multiple questions in order to extract info
No hotel staff after 7 pm - all the keys are left at the reception.
No lift !!

Directions: After crossing the ponte delle guglie bridge skip 2-3 shops which are on the left side and take the narrow lane to the left ( Cannaregio 1314) - google maps shows the wrong direction so please follow this.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Priyanka53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Al Canal Regio
Al Canal Regio
#244 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
San Marco
Graspo de Ua
Graspo de Ua
#337 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Hotel Vecellio
#179 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#142 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tintoretto
Hotel Tintoretto
#233 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Casa Martini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Casa Martini

Property: Locanda Casa Martini
Address: Rio Terra San Leonardo 1314, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Casa Martini 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda Casa Martini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Casa Martini Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing