We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Casa Querini
Ranked #73 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed at Locanda Casa Querini for two nights. This was my first time in Venice.

The hotel was mostly fine. Room was small but clean and had everything I'd expect for the price. Location is excellent, close to major attractions, some restaurants and shops, and the vaporetto stop. Breakfast was adequate, with coffee, yogurt, croissants, cereal, and juice. Staff was friendly.

Unfortunately a few problems detracted from the experience.

The heater in my room would not turn off. It was on a very low setting but was clearly producing heat. The outdoor temperature was about 65 F and over a few hours the room would get hot (about 80 F). I told the staff and they checked it out but were unable to fix it. I could cool off the room by opening the window, but there was constant activity in the alley below so it was too loud to leave the window open while sleeping. Also, there was an unpleasant small emanating from that same alley.

The walls are VERY THIN. I have honestly never experienced such un-soundproof walls. I could hear my neighbors talking at normal conversation volume. I also must congratulate the male resident of the nextdoor room -- it sounds like his girlfriend was very satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Whilst Locanda Casa Querini can't be called a luxury hotel, it's spotlessly clean, charming and perfectly situated to explore Venice. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to make us welcome and even provided the house corkscrew for our supermarket bought wine.
Our budget room was cosy and the sliding bathroom door didn't offer much privacy, but as we didn't spend much time in the room was fine for our needs. In comparison to the prices charged by other hotels a stone's throw from St Mark's square, this was a complete bargain.
Highly recommend and would definitely stay again.
Many thanks!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Casa Querini in March 2014.

Verdict: Don't stay here unless you enjoy bad breakfast, invasion of privacy in the form of a male cleaning staff barging into your room without warning, and being treated like a suspect/criminal instead of a guest.

The GOOD
The room was spacious, clean, and well-furnished. The location was also convenient -- it was near the water-taxi stop at San Marco and we only had to wheel our luggage for about 5 minutes.

The BAD
The behavior and conduct of management (the owner, the service staff and especially the "help" from Bangladesh) was extremely appalling.

(1) Breakfast was terrible.

Most Italian B&Bs give a buffet breakfast spread where you can choose what you want to eat, but not here. They offered stale buns and croissants (which I saw the Bangladeshi helper handling with HIS HAND), limited to ONE EACH per person. No trading allowed: you can't even swap a bun for a croissant if you don't like buns! (We asked.) The salami was stale, and we saw them take out the SAME butter cake for the entire four days we were there.

And for coffee lovers out there... don't bother with the coffee. It is only fit to be poured down the sink, which is where my first and only cup of coffee went. Shocking, especially since it's Italy, the home of gourmet coffee.

(2) They falsely accuse their guests of theft.

This B&B states that they allow breakfast in the room. Instead of squeezing in the really tiny breakfast room (squashed with three other couples, with barely enough space for our plates, cups, and coffee jug on the table), we decided to bring breakfast to our room on the upper floor. We brought a small supply of jam, honey, butter, yogurt and other breakfast items -- we took one portion of each item for the two of us, so we wouldn't have to go up and down the steep, winding stairs just to get more. When we didn't finish all the items, instead of throwing them away, we put them in the room fridge (to consume later or to use during breakfast the next day). After that we went out sightseeing.

When we returned to our room, we saw a note just above the fridge -- we have attached a photo of the note. In the note, the management falsely accused us of going down to the kitchen IN THE NIGHT TO STEAL THEIR FOOD and said they would charge us extra for this.

We were both aghast and very offended. These food items they were referring to were actually leftovers from breakfast earlier that morning. Without first clarifying this matter with us, they sent us an extremely rude and hostile note accusing us of theft. Honestly, would we sneak down in the middle of the night just to steal a couple of yogurts and small, single-serving portions of jam from their fridge?

When we confronted them, they claimed it was just a miscommunication due to the language barrier, which we find highly doubtful since the note was written in clear English. They also claimed that their cost of providing the meager breakfast was "extremely high", so they could not afford more than 1 jam/yogurt to be taken per person. Seriously? They charged us 70 Euro per night (which was more than what we paid for excellent rooms/service in Florence and the Dolomites) -- that price can't cover a few single-serving portions of jam saved by guests? The mind boggles.

The point is, they have the prerogative to make a rule that we could only take only one jam per person, or that we had to return unused items and take them again the next day instead of just saving them in the fridge. However, they should have a) informed us of these "house rules" when we checked in, or b) told us nicely to return the items (which we would have gladly done so) instead of leaving us a hostile and offensive note accusing us of theft that we didn't commit.

They supposedly have CCTV in the reception -- apparently it doesn't actually work, or they could've easily checked the footage to see whether we sneaked down and went into the kitchen in the middle of the night (which we obviously didn't). Instead, they resorted to wildly accusing their guests with no proof.

(3) Invasion of privacy -- watch out for the "help".

This B&B employs a Bangladeshi man who takes on several roles, such as night porter, breakfast server and most strangely, chamber-"maid". Yes, a man cleans the rooms, which is rather unusual in hotels/B&Bs. We have no problem with male cleaners -- except this man will just BARGE into your room WITHOUT KNOCKING FIRST.

My husband and I had just returned to our room after breakfast and were getting ready to go out when we suddenly heard a key jangling in the lock from outside! Startled, we shouted that we were still in the room getting dressed. When I poked my head out to ask the Bangladeshi man to come back later, he just smirked at me and didn't even apologize for the intrusion. I felt thoroughly disgusted.

This same male Bangladeshi chamber-"maid" was also the one who looked into our fridge and reported the leftover breakfast items we had put there. Note that this fridge isn't a hotel mini-bar where they need to check daily to see what you've taken and bill you for it. No, the fridge was completely empty when we arrived, and it is merely there for us to put our own stuff. The fact that he checked the fridge while cleaning the room gave us the weird feeling that he might also have gone through everything else in the room, including our personal belongings, bags, toiletries, etc. For anyone who values their privacy, like we do, it was a really uncomfortable feeling.

(4) Unhelpful service staff -- and no change!

On the day we checked out, we received the bill, which was 300 Euros including tax. We gave the receptionist a 500 Euro note and she told us she didn't have change. We were surprised as it wasn't as if we were paying 30 Euro with a 500 Euro note. The 300 Euro bill was more than half of the denomination we were paying in. Instead of going to get change, the receptionist gave us a set of complex directions to go to a nearby bank to change the note. We stared at her -- WE were the tourists, SHE was the local, and here she was sending US out to change our money, just because SHE didn't even have basic change for us to make payment? Again, the mind boggles.

She was adamant about it and we decided not to waste our time bickering, so we went out to change the money. We spent a half hour searching for two different banks before we were finally able to break our 500 Euro note into smaller change.

In summary, the staff at this B&B is stingy, rude, and lacks basic respect for their guests' integrity and privacy. I can't even say "you pay for what you get" or that bad management and service is an affliction of small B&Bs (this one has only 6 rooms) -- we stayed in relatively small B&Bs in Florence and the Dolomites, paid less, and still received amazing service. The abysmal service (particularly the accusatory note) we received at Casa Querini really spoiled our stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluefire1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaquerini, Proprietario at Locanda Casa Querini, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

I respond to this unfair judgment only to inform and reassure our future customers.
These criticisms are unreal .Everything said in this criticism is a deliberate exaggeration.

The stair of the hotel is comfortable stair with very normal stair with wide steps, any old customer has ever complained, their criticisms are absurd but I know it's a sad attack.


Our breakfasts are served to our customers in good and fresh quantities and never refuse if a customer ask us an extra over the normal equipment. With an "extra" we intend, a verbal request of more food inside a normal balance!!!!!

In this case, the customer always came down to have breakfast in the breakfast room and then over to the one they just ate , they brought in the room an exaggerated amount of room jams, fruit juice , yoghurt , prunes, honey, butter and apples , filling the fridge of the room.
From the huge amount of breakfast food, we thought they was not going to have dinner but they ate for dinner the products of our breakfasts.

Infact all of our products are fresh and prepared every day, so their criticisms are absurd but you know it's a sad attack.

In conclusion, we receive this criticism and how our style, we continue to improve even more for customers that prefer to travel by applying the true art of travel.

As all can understand, it's easy to write "bad management"..........

The Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hotel is very well placed near place Saint-Marc, really quite and nice rooms ! Few rooms so you must reserve in advance. Service is very well and very attentive to your happinness. Thank you for so good times !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a very charming hotel! Confortable room with the venetian style, well located and very nice and friendly attention of the staff. The space for the breakfeast is small, but you can stay in a outside tablete, what is even better!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is welcoming, with a very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet location away from major tourist areas, located on a small piazza. The hotel is very clean and renovated. They are also very dog-friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anderkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Wife and I went in late November. Because it was the off season, we got a great rate. We were the only two people staying at the time. The staff was wonderful. Beautiful room. Quiet, but just 5 min walk from the Grand Canal and St Mark's Basilica! Couldn't be happier and will definitely recommend this place to my friends in the future.

Room Tip: We got the first room on the right after you head up the stairs. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#158 of 385 in Venice
651 reviews
Castello
Locanda La Corte
Locanda La Corte
#29 of 476 in Venice
971 reviews
San Polo
La Villeggiatura
La Villeggiatura
#61 of 476 in Venice
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' San Trovaso
Ca' San Trovaso
#60 of 476 in Venice
113 reviews
Cannaregio
Apostoli Palace
Apostoli Palace
#42 of 476 in Venice
380 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 476 in Venice
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Casa Querini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Casa Querini

Address: Campo San Giovanni Novo | Castello 4388, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £79 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Casa Querini 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enthusiastic family management, the Casa Querini inn in Venice is pleased to welcome you from the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere of the 6 rooms in a quiet and elegant residence in a building of the '500. An ideal solution for families and groups of friends looking for a convenient accommodation close to St. Mark's Square. Spacious rooms where you can always add a bed, with private bathroom and shower, some with views of the picturesque Campo San Giovanni Novo. With a beautiful terrace complete with umbrellas and tables where you can have breakfast or sip a good glass of Prosecco wine offered by Signora Patrizia, Casa Querini will put you gently in contact with Venice, giving you the gift of relaxation and courtesy in comfortable rooms complete with the best services. The inn's reception desk, open 24 hours a day, will provide all the information you need for visiting Venice, pointing out the principal city events taking place during your stay and giving advice on a good restaurant where you can pass a fascinating, romantic evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Locanda Casa Querini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Casa Querini Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing