We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #76 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Staying in Venice can be a challenge with so many visitors. Hotel Ala is conveniently located in a quiet area with easy access to all the top sites and good restaurants. Easy to reach by water taxi. The staff was helpful with good advice and very friendly. Our room over looked a canal so we were often serenaded by the passing gondolas! Our room was average in size. We find most European hotel rooms to be on the smaller side. We managed. We would recommend the Hotel Ala.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake90245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    824
    191
    47
    29
See reviews for
353
1,158
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for four nights at two different prices. We had two days at 300 euros and then two at 207 euros. ....two days were during full occupancy....we should have booked all four days at once. ...our error. We had the same room, for all four days. It was quite large and seemed to be on the roof of the building. We had a sitting room with TV, desk, closet and couch, and bathroom with bidet and shower, and a fairly good size bedroom with king bed. The only negatives with the room were the beams in the not so high ceiling in places. Both my husband and I got a whack at least once. Our shower was not draining properly the first day but it was fixed promptly when we reported the problem. We both found the bed a little hard, but linens etc were very nice. All in all we were pleased with the room and space. Our room was called Antonia.
The cleaning staff in the hotel and front desk staff are friendly and helpful.....BUT the bunch working in the breakfast room all look and act like they hate their jobs and are above serving anyone. Deliberately banging cutlery and dishes, ignoring guests, rolling their eyes at guests requests, and NEVER a smile. It was not until the fourth morning that I got up the nerve to request as special coffee. ...they make no effort to let you know it is available, and quite frankly they are so unapproachable that no one would ask anyway.
Someone completely different must train the staff cleaning the rooms because they all smile and say hello, work really hard and are most friendly and helpful. This hotel should think about moving some of their cleaning staff into the breakfast room.
One other thing to keep in mind this time of year (October) is that if you open your hotel window the Mosquitos will come in and get you. I was covered in welts from mosquito bites in our room at night.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Hotel Ala is in a great location. It's only a 5 to 10 minute walk to St Marks Square and there is a vaparetto stop a few meters from the hotel. The breakfast served each morning was wonderful and the staff were helpful during our stay.
Unfortunately, the air conditioning in the hotel rooms is disabled early in October ( I assume to keep energy costs down). Our room lacked proper air flow so that night we opened the window which we found out later was a poor decision. The mosquitos were plentiful and aggressive. They were difficult to get rid of once they were in the room. It made for an uncomfortable and sleepless night.

Room Tip: If you're going to visit Venice bring along mosquito repellant and boots because precipitation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful, from taking our bags, helping us with itineraries and giving us wellies for the floods. Breakfast was a bit basic, some more choice would have been good.

The only real complaint I had was the room gurgles really loudly, it sounded like it was coming from the Air Con vent but could have been when the room upstairs/next door was using the shower/toilet. It was quite loud and quite annoying but being British I didn't complain so didn't give the hotel a chance to solve the problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bashyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hotel Ala, overlooking a canal on one side and faces out to a small square, reflects the history and ambiance of Venice. Rooms are not large, but are comfortable, and the overall hotel atmosphere is welcoming with sitting and breakfast rooms plus an intimate bar area. The location is superb, being a short walk to the St Mark's square and close to lovely shops and restaurants. Best of all, a narrow walkway of around 100 metres next to the hotel leads to a Vaporetta jetty in the Grand Canal, so it is simple to get around and get to the main railway station.

Room Tip: My room on the canal side had the old original thick wooden shutters - so wen they were fully or pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel Ala is a typical European hotel at a reasonable price (for Venice) and is in a great location! The rate includes a very generous complementary breakfast buffet. The rooms are clean and had a nice shower. Ours room was located 3 floors above a narrow canal and you could hear the singing Gondoliers from the room! The staff is nice and friendly. They conveniently have ice machines in the hallways which wasn't common in other Italian hotels. On Thursdays starting at 9:am, and running every 10-15 minutes, they have a free water taxi to and from Murano. It drops you off at one of the glass factories for a tour. It is neat to see how they have made the amazing Murano glass for centuries. However, the glass is very ornate and pricy. I have consistently had good luck with the Best Western chain of hotels in Italy and Paris. I would definitely stay at the hotel Ala again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I visited in October and paid €270 per night as single occupancy. The room really wouldn't have comfortably held 2 in any case....room was the size of a postage stamp and the shower room tiny and the shower cubicle leaked. The basics were all there. My room was on the first floor facing onto the canal and every half hour or so gondolas would come by full of tourists and some with opera singers on board. Delightful for the first few and then quite tedious.
Breakfast was included and was very good. Service polite and helpful but not effusive.
My friends stayed in a the Westin and paid € 200 per night for a bigger room.

Room Tip: Don't choose room facing canal... noisy...unless you are above 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodisall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,490 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing