We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,783)
Filter reviews
2,787 results
Traveller rating
1,465
1,005
224
56
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,465
1,005
224
56
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamerican bargiglio stopgreat locationsanta maria del gigliowater taximark's squaresinging gondolierssmall canalminute walkgrand canalorange linerooftop terracecanal viewhotel barquiet squaregondolas passingpastries
Filter
Updating list...
1,220 - 1,225 of 2,787 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights at two different prices. We had two days at 300 euros and then two at 207 euros. ....two days were during full occupancy....we should have booked all four days at once. ...our error. We had the same room, for all four days. It was quite large and seemed to be on the roof of the building. We had a sitting room with TV, desk, closet and couch, and bathroom with bidet and shower, and a fairly good size bedroom with king bed. The only negatives with the room were the beams in the not so high ceiling in places. Both my husband and I got a whack at least once. Our shower was not draining properly the first day but it was fixed promptly when we reported the problem. We both found the bed a little hard, but linens etc were very nice. All in all we were pleased with the room and space. Our room was called Antonia.
The cleaning staff in the hotel and front desk staff are friendly and helpful.....BUT the bunch working in the breakfast room all look and act like they hate their jobs and are above serving anyone. Deliberately banging cutlery and dishes, ignoring guests, rolling their eyes at guests requests, and NEVER a smile. It was not until the fourth morning that I got up the nerve to request as special coffee. ...they make no effort to let you know it is available, and quite frankly they are so unapproachable that no one would ask anyway.
Someone completely different must train the staff cleaning the rooms because they all smile and say hello, work really hard and are most friendly and helpful. This hotel should think about moving some of their cleaning staff into the breakfast room.
One other thing to keep in mind this time of year (October) is that if you open your hotel window the Mosquitos will come in and get you. I was covered in welts from mosquito bites in our room at night.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Hotel Ala is in a great location. It's only a 5 to 10 minute walk to St Marks Square and there is a vaparetto stop a few meters from the hotel. The breakfast served each morning was wonderful and the staff were helpful during our stay.
Unfortunately, the air conditioning in the hotel rooms is disabled early in October ( I assume to keep energy costs down). Our room lacked proper air flow so that night we opened the window which we found out later was a poor decision. The mosquitos were plentiful and aggressive. They were difficult to get rid of once they were in the room. It made for an uncomfortable and sleepless night.

Room Tip: If you're going to visit Venice bring along mosquito repellant and boots because precipitation tends to puddle easily and can get quite deep in some areas.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful, from taking our bags, helping us with itineraries and giving us wellies for the floods. Breakfast was a bit basic, some more choice would have been good.

The only real complaint I had was the room gurgles really loudly, it sounded like it was coming from the Air Con vent but could have been when the room upstairs/next door was using the shower/toilet. It was quite loud and quite annoying but being British I didn't complain so didn't give the hotel a chance to solve the problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bashyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hotel Ala, overlooking a canal on one side and faces out to a small square, reflects the history and ambiance of Venice. Rooms are not large, but are comfortable, and the overall hotel atmosphere is welcoming with sitting and breakfast rooms plus an intimate bar area. The location is superb, being a short walk to the St Mark's square and close to lovely shops and restaurants. Best of all, a narrow walkway of around 100 metres next to the hotel leads to a Vaporetta jetty in the Grand Canal, so it is simple to get around and get to the main railway station.

Room Tip: My room on the canal side had the old original thick wooden shutters - so wen they were fully or part closed it was very quiet and private
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Hotel Ala is a typical European hotel at a reasonable price (for Venice) and is in a great location! The rate includes a very generous complementary breakfast buffet. The rooms are clean and had a nice shower. Ours room was located 3 floors above a narrow canal and you could hear the singing Gondoliers from the room! The staff is nice and friendly. They conveniently have ice machines in the hallways which wasn't common in other Italian hotels. On Thursdays starting at 9:am, and running every 10-15 minutes, they have a free water taxi to and from Murano. It drops you off at one of the glass factories for a tour. It is neat to see how they have made the amazing Murano glass for centuries. However, the glass is very ornate and pricy. I have consistently had good luck with the Best Western chain of hotels in Italy and Paris. I would definitely stay at the hotel Ala again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews