We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for romantic Venice trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #79 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel is located 7 minutes walk from San Marco square, very nice looking and stylish building. Old school (in a good way) reception with nice hall and knights and swords and all ancient looking staff :))) Our room was 150 euro / night; it was tiny but very nice with a balcony looking into the canals where we could listen to serenades! Great experience and value.

The breakfast was very good, with one of the best cakes I've ever had :) Plus omelette, selection of ham/cheese, etc.

On the negative side, there were masquitos in the room: which you might expect in a town like Venice or Brugge, though. The hotel had anti-masquito thing (like tissue with aroma) but we found it only in the morning:(

Overall, this was a great experience. I will certainly reccomend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieTern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We just concluded a 5 night stay in Venice at the Hotel Ala. The weather was great this time of year however, it was warm and necessitated we have open windows, since we were on the 4th floor and the heat did rise. Unfortunately the management deems it too late to run their air conditioning. Our room was odd in that it had a central portion of the ceiling which was raised and about 15 or 16 feet high. The window was up there. We were shown how to open it the first night however since it started at about 9 feet, we had no view of anything but the sky. Then the mosquitoes came. I have 30 plus bites on my face. The rest of me was covered with a sheet, and that was too hot. One night I managed to get one of the little demons but unfortunately I smeared the wall with the blood he had already consumed. That being said, the cleanliness is impeccable, the breakfast is abundant and good. For breakfast there are eggs, meats, fruits, yogurts breads and pastries. The kitchen staff was very gracious and helpful.. I felt as if the desk clerks were a bit haughty, but perhaps my view is jaded by my bites.

Room Tip: Avoid the canal side and try for lower floors I hope they are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goombai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Staying in Venice can be a challenge with so many visitors. Hotel Ala is conveniently located in a quiet area with easy access to all the top sites and good restaurants. Easy to reach by water taxi. The staff was helpful with good advice and very friendly. Our room over looked a canal so we were often serenaded by the passing gondolas! Our room was average in size. We find most European hotel rooms to be on the smaller side. We managed. We would recommend the Hotel Ala.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake90245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights at two different prices. We had two days at 300 euros and then two at 207 euros. ....two days were during full occupancy....we should have booked all four days at once. ...our error. We had the same room, for all four days. It was quite large and seemed to be on the roof of the building. We had a sitting room with TV, desk, closet and couch, and bathroom with bidet and shower, and a fairly good size bedroom with king bed. The only negatives with the room were the beams in the not so high ceiling in places. Both my husband and I got a whack at least once. Our shower was not draining properly the first day but it was fixed promptly when we reported the problem. We both found the bed a little hard, but linens etc were very nice. All in all we were pleased with the room and space. Our room was called Antonia.
The cleaning staff in the hotel and front desk staff are friendly and helpful.....BUT the bunch working in the breakfast room all look and act like they hate their jobs and are above serving anyone. Deliberately banging cutlery and dishes, ignoring guests, rolling their eyes at guests requests, and NEVER a smile. It was not until the fourth morning that I got up the nerve to request as special coffee. ...they make no effort to let you know it is available, and quite frankly they are so unapproachable that no one would ask anyway.
Someone completely different must train the staff cleaning the rooms because they all smile and say hello, work really hard and are most friendly and helpful. This hotel should think about moving some of their cleaning staff into the breakfast room.
One other thing to keep in mind this time of year (October) is that if you open your hotel window the Mosquitos will come in and get you. I was covered in welts from mosquito bites in our room at night.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Hotel Ala is in a great location. It's only a 5 to 10 minute walk to St Marks Square and there is a vaparetto stop a few meters from the hotel. The breakfast served each morning was wonderful and the staff were helpful during our stay.
Unfortunately, the air conditioning in the hotel rooms is disabled early in October ( I assume to keep energy costs down). Our room lacked proper air flow so that night we opened the window which we found out later was a poor decision. The mosquitos were plentiful and aggressive. They were difficult to get rid of once they were in the room. It made for an uncomfortable and sleepless night.

Room Tip: If you're going to visit Venice bring along mosquito repellant and boots because precipitation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful, from taking our bags, helping us with itineraries and giving us wellies for the floods. Breakfast was a bit basic, some more choice would have been good.

The only real complaint I had was the room gurgles really loudly, it sounded like it was coming from the Air Con vent but could have been when the room upstairs/next door was using the shower/toilet. It was quite loud and quite annoying but being British I didn't complain so didn't give the hotel a chance to solve the problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bashyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hotel Ala, overlooking a canal on one side and faces out to a small square, reflects the history and ambiance of Venice. Rooms are not large, but are comfortable, and the overall hotel atmosphere is welcoming with sitting and breakfast rooms plus an intimate bar area. The location is superb, being a short walk to the St Mark's square and close to lovely shops and restaurants. Best of all, a narrow walkway of around 100 metres next to the hotel leads to a Vaporetta jetty in the Grand Canal, so it is simple to get around and get to the main railway station.

Room Tip: My room on the canal side had the old original thick wooden shutters - so wen they were fully or pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
750 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#58 of 385 in Venice
1,280 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,265 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#88 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £82 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Noble House in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing