We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Palazzo del Giglio(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bel Sito e Berlino(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Torino(Venice)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
A2 - Stella(Venice)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (2,498)
Filter reviews
2,498 results
Traveller rating
1,247
949
216
51
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,247
949
216
51
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamerican bargiglio stopgreat locationsanta maria del gigliowater taximark's squareshort walksinging gondolierssmall canalgrand canalorange linecanal viewrooftop terracequiet squaregondolas passinghotel barpastries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
966 - 971 of 2,498 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Room was very comfortable overlooking the canal. Free wifi. The buffet breakfast was extremely sufficient. Fantastic location. A stones throw from the Giglio vaporetto stop. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014
Google Translation

Grazie mille delle gentili parole. Un caro saluto mascherato ihih!
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is just 5- 10'min walk from st marks square and a few yards from Giglio stop
Safe streets even late at night and early morning
Good breakfast
Room ok - nothing special but perfectly adequate as I was out most of the time
One of our group did have a mosquito infested room - if this occurs ask to move immedialty as she was covered in bites all over her face - In January

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkGailJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest we deeply thanks you for sharing your experience and will take in high consideration any of your commets.
warm regards
andrea salmaso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Hi once you have worked out how to navigate your way around Venice, you will appreciate the central location of this Hotel, just off the main square (San Marco) also very close to water taxi. 1-2 minutes. Organized us a courtesy trip to the Murano Glass factories... Great breakfasts and very comfortable accommodation...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Ala for six nights in late September 2013. We really enjoyed the location, very close to all the sites and easy to get to when our water taxi dropped us off at the Giglio stop (just walk down the narrow laneway and you are there). We really enjoyed that our room had a small balcony overlooking a canal as we were serenaded by the gondola singers and musicians throughout the day. The front desk staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with dinner reservations. Our room was very clean and well maintained. The room was not overly large, but about what we would expect in the central area of Venice. We were happy to see there was a bathtub but then found it was really too narrow to enjoy, however the shower worked very well. Breakfast was very good, although the service was a tad brusque. We enjoyed drinks in the American Bar several times. We felt Hotel Ala offered us very good value and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the canal allow you to enjoy the sounds of the gondoliers throughout the day, but it's possible some may find it too noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kskCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile reception at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for sharing your experience at the Ala!

We hope to welcome you in Venice in other occasions!

Thanks and best regards
Hotel ALA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Ala at the end of December. The best qualities about this hotel were the location and breakfast.

The location is really great as it is within easy walking distance of all the major sites you would want to see and can also be reached on the Vaporetto line 1 - Giglio stop. We easily reached the hotel from the train station by walking out of the train station, buying our tickets (7e each) and hopping on the Vaporetto (Lido direction) and then hopping off 30 minutes later at the Giglio stop.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted and brought to our room #112. When we were brought to our room, I was initially nervous about it being noisy as it is literally right off the central steps leading up to the rooms and overlooked a piazza. I asked Ardit, the bell hop, if it was noisy and he said no it wouldn't be. Sadly, the room was very noisy. It was easy to hear people walking up and down the stairs at night. I slept with earplugs instead of asking for another room... Maybe I should have. The room was very small - something we anticipated ahead of time.

Our last morning, we woke up and the electricity was not working in our room. This had not happened before this point. We assumed the entire hotel had lost power. When we opened our door we realized it was just our room. We called down to the front desk and Ardit once again helped us. They could not get our electricity back for roughly 45 minutes and could not figure out why it went out in the first place. Because this was our last morning and we needed to get ready, grab breakfast and then hop on the Vaporetto to catch our train, it was very stressful. Ardit gave us a flashlight to use as the room was pitch black. Packing up and getting ready in the dark never makes for a relaxing final morning. When we checked out, we somewhat assumed that we would be given an apology for the loss of power - or a discount - or something...anything. That not happening was disappointing and speaks a lot about the management of a hotel. An apology would have been appropriate given the circumstances.

On a positive note, the breakfast was great. There is a solid selection and it helps you leave the hotel each day feeling satiated and ready for a full day.

I think the 3 star rating is spot on. The location and breakfast were excellent. The room and management - not so much...

Room Tip: Do not stay in room #112. Noisy, tiny and the power went out for no reason!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelLovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear guest, we thank you for your review and are sorry for not exceeding your expectation. We will investigate further on what was not working properly in your room. We already talked with Ardit about this concern and hope to solve promptly.
Enjoy 2014. Andrea Salmaso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews