We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #77 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Solihull
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bellissimo”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel was booked for us as a gift, and was excellent. Staff were helpful and answered all our questions and gave helpful advice. The situation is very good for all the central sights and the vapareto dock is only 50 yes away, which is ideal for getting about and arrival/departure from the airport. The room was spotless and well maintained, and delightful as the sounds of the serenading gondoliers drifted up from the canal below. The Ristorante de Rafaelle, owned by another member of the hotel family, close by was also staffed by friendly and helpful staff serving very good food and drink. We had an excellent stay and did and would recommend the Hotel Ala. Grazie David &Judy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    860
    199
    49
    32
See reviews for
382
1,223
71
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay in May, hotel was perfect, the room was beautiful, we had a canal view, lovely bathroom with bath and shower (nice and powerful) staff were very nice and the breakfast was good! Only wish we could have stayed longer :) situated right by st marks square, fist time in Venice it is a little tricky to find your way around but the hotel is only a few minute walk from the water boat stop.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank louisedenise80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Spent a few days in Venice and the hotel was centrally located close to all the sights and restaurants. We had a view of one of the canals with a lot gondola action, but it was very authentic and a great experience to open the window and watch them go by with serenades. Good international breakfast and comfortable rooms charmingly decorated - the Italian way. I'll definitely be back if I'll visit Venice again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pernille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest, thanks for all your kind words. See you soon again in Venice, Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is not a review of the hotels facilities as due to ill health we firstly had to defer our holiday and then finally cancel,but a statement of how helpful the staff at the Hotel Ala were in offering advice, options and sorting out our problem, special thanks to Andrea and Silvia.
If the hotel itself is as good as its staff i would recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lazyh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

All in all not a bad experience. Very well situated. Good value for money. Clean.
Breakfast good, although not much choice. rooms are rather small, but I guess that 's to be expected. Nice lobby. Staff weren't very friendly !

Room Tip: We could look out onto the canal which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chink3831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a three star rating that at times could be a four star and at other times barely a three. My wife and I stayed for three nights. Very good location, we got off of the vaporetto at the Giglio stop and could not believe the short distance to the hotel. I think check-in is at 3pm we arrived around 10am and was told that check-out is at noon and we could have our room at 1pm. So they stored our bags and we strolled venice, and we did check-in at 1pm which was great after a long travel day. The staff carried our bags to room(the only way to first floor is by steps then steps or elevator) we took the steps the whole trip which I did not think it was a problem unless you are elderly or have a disability. We stayed in room 243 deluxe canal view without balcony(I requested a balcony by email when I booked the stay 11 months in advance) but a Jacuzzi tub. We entered the very beautiful room(we thaught was a perfect fit for venice) to a flushing toilet that would not stop. I called the front desk and asked to be moved, the manager said he would send someone to fix when we step out. My wife and I discussed and after a long day wanted to get some rest. I called back and asked again for a room change, manager said only room he had was a plaza view. We booked a canal view and I asked for it fixed immediately. They sent someone up and it was fixed all this took about 1 and half hour. Ok next, the first day left windows open to hear the gondolas sing (great experience). There were mosquitoes the second night so keep the windows closed when not viewing. Also on second day the toilet started cycling water every 5 min. As for staff we thaught they were fine seamed kind of reserved but not unfriendly as all in venice but we are Americans. Breakfast was great! Gondola station very close. VERY CLEAN HOTEL! All n all for the money and location fine stay and memories we will not forget.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

very basic hotel , didnt have high expectations but again nothing was a highlight here , the room is outdated , TV is out of a show in the 80's , the reception staff are not very friendly but the location is great

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abood S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#75 of 385 in Venice
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,639 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#57 of 385 in Venice
1,233 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Noble House in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing