We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice for Families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #77 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We needed a place to stay for our family for two nights after a Disney cruise from Venice. We selected the Best Western Ala after looking at reviews, prices and what this hotel offered and could not have been more satisfied. Great service and support. Superb hot breakfast with something for everyone. Excellent rooms which would accommodate up to our four per room (X2) needs, two adults/two kids. Nicely located on a canal which we used to arrive by water taxi at the side door entry. Rooftop lounge and adjoining "American Bar". Easy walk to San Marco and the Grand Canal. Many good restaurants nearby, we liked "Le Café" at Campo Stephano, minutes away. Highly recommended, especially if you are looking for larger, family rooms

Room Tip: consider different configurations and sizes, we needed rooms for up to four
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Grazie, grazie and grazie again, we'll try to do all the possible to satisfy our Guests.
Happy you enjoyed this experience with us, hope to see you soon in Venice, again
Warm regards, Silvia
Customer care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    800
    186
    45
    28
See reviews for
339
1,117
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. We returned for 3 reasons-1) good value,2)because of the relative closeness to San Marco square and 3) because it is a short walk from the Giglio stop on the valporeto route-no stairs with your luggage straight to the hotel . This time we booked direct with www.bestwestern.com to be able to get a room with a wonderful canal view. During the afternoon and evening, the gondolas sailed below our window each day. The breakfast was a full breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and fresh pastries, as well as eggs, toast, bacon. A fresh cappuccino was also available for the asking. This trip was for our 40th anniversary, and we were very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Repeater Guest, really happy you enjoyed your stay with us once again.
Very kind words, that help us to improve ourselves and our services.... See you soon in Venice,
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Not the best looking hotel in Venice, but can't beat the location! The hotel is just a few steps away from the water bus stop WITHOUT any steps! As we walk around Venice, seeing people struggling with their luggage going up and down the bridges, I was really glad of Hotel Ala's location.

Room Tip: It has room(s) that can accommodate up to 4 people in one room....not many hotels in Europe has that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights during a weekend visit to Venice and couldn't have chosen a better base.
Arrived in style, private water taxi straight to the reception.(Don't ask the cost!!)
The hotel is handy for all the sights, the Pier Giglio stop 100mts from the front door.
The room was small but adequate, with a small, clean shower room and a canal view(OK it was a side canal not the "Grand")
The hotel only has a breakfast room but the selection is first class, it can get fairly busy so the earlier the better. But with so much to see in Venice why stay late in bed?
There is a small bar in the hotel which is ideal for a either a drink before you go out in the evening or a night cap on your return.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast staff kept the tables clear and replenished the bowls of fruit or hot plates and the staff in the bar were exeptionall.
When we return to Venice we will definitely stay at the Ala.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Buongiorno dear Guest,
Thanks for all your kind words, your point of view is important to us!
Enjoy your Summer and warm regards,
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Went by the orange Alilaguna line from the airport, booked on line & exchanged the voucher at the ticket office on the pier for the tickets, €50 for two return. On arriving at Pier Giglio you have a 50m walk up a narrow alley, the hotel is on the left at the end.
Staff are very attentive and polite. Our room was overlooking the canal at the rear on the first floor. Small room with seating area, but adequate. Beds are hard, just how we like them, but the pillows were slightly uncomfortable. Air Con was great.
Breakfast was continental, but there was everything there to choose from. You will not be disappointed.
There is a small American bar on the ground floor, which service our evening needs, cocktails were fab.
If you wish to go in the Gondola trip on your own, don't go through the hotel, just come out of the hotel pass the restaurant on the right in the square and turn right, down to the Grand Canal, €80 for half hour.
The porter recommended the Da Raffaele restaurant for a 10% discount meal, avoid it! did not rate it! poor service, poor food and overpriced.
Would certainly return to the hotel, it was beautiful and very located for arriving from airport and the sights of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodcop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A short 2 minute walk from Pier Giglio to a hotel placed in a perfect position for visiting all attractions in Venice. A stressless transfer from the aiport using the Alilaguna orange line although the cabin is low and visibility poor. We had a lovely air conditioned room with sitting area & balcony overlooking rooftops. There is no restaurant facility in the hotel but they have a restaurant nearby. The breakfast area although small provided a very good choice of continental breakfast, certainly enough to start the day. A peaceful shaded rooftop terrace to escape the crowds and chill after a day sightseeing. The small hotel bar is friendly an perfect for a nightcap. Staff were always friendly and helpful. After watching tourists tote suitcases along alleyways and over bridges I would certainly recommend this hotel both for ease of location and a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: A lower floor for anyone who struggles with stairs. Or ask for a floor that is serviced by a lift as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,
we wish to thank you for sharing your experience into our house with the community of Tripadvisor.
Enjoy
Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel situated at 5min from St Marco, at 50m from the boat terminal to the airport is located in a very nice building, the rooms are perfect , the decoration in the style of the town is also very pleasant. Breakfast is in the avegage . The service is good but some more smiles would be we, come.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardBouree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,
we deeply thank you for your feedback and we'll improve us suggestive.
Warm regards,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#67 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing