We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay at a reasonably priced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #76 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay at a reasonably priced hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We "found" this nice hotel by looking at reviews on TripAdvisor, and the reviews were accurate.

Our desire was to stay at a hotel that was not expensive, had a nice breakfast, with rooms that were well sized, and to have windows on a canal.
All of those criteria were met here.

We got in quite late in the evening, on a rainy night, from the vaperetto stop. Upon leaving the boat we were confronted with a long dark alley. It was the only option! We started walking towards the other end, and within a block came out right in front of the hotel, at a small campo.

The waterstop was S. Maria del Giglio. If you to spend a lot of money, take a water taxi, directly to the door of the hotel. It will cost upwards of 100 euro ea from the bus stop, vs the public vaperetto at under 8 euro. Taking a bag on the vaporetto is acceptable and not difficult. We had come by bus from the Marco Polo airport. We bought our ticket at a ticket station from a clerk, which was simple to do. There is absolutely no motorized traffic or bicycles in Venice. You must travel by foot or water.

We checked in after 10 pm, and were greeted warmly and given our room key quickly. There is a tiny elevator, which will fit two people and their bags, but little else. Stairs are normally a good option, which we used always except when arriving and leaving with our bags. Because we knew we were going to be late we had emailed from Amsterdam to inform the desk.

The room was spotless, had a very nice bathroom, and had two windows overlooking a canal. Rio di Santa Maria Zobenigo canal was the one we overlooked. We occasionally watched the gondolas pass beneath us, 2 floors down. We could also easily hear the singing and playing of instruments in them. Doesn't get better than that!

Lots of storage in the room, a very nice breakfast, and very friendly staff. A lounge was also available, which was quite comfortable and inviting. Everything about the hotel was excellent.
The location, near a vaporetto stop was on a small piazza, with a restaurant in the plaza, some shops, a wonderful decomissioned church. Across a couple of bridges, and we were at the famous St Mark's Church

On the hotel's website you will find a great deal of information to help you choose a room, make reservations, find the hotel, etc. When reserving ask for a deluxe room, with a canal view. Get a confirmation of that.
After a few days in Venice we traveled to our cruise ship for a 17 day cruise back to the U.S., refreshed and with wonderful memories, as usual, in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with canal windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dalesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest, so pleased to get your awesome feedback. You so cute.
Enjoy
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    830
    193
    48
    29
See reviews for
357
1,173
66
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is in a fab location.We had a suite called Antonia and it was fabulous..The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful.The hotel is spotless and breakfast was plentiful.We will be going back and would only want to stay at Hotel Ala.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest, we deeply thank you for your kind words and wish you a pleasant Summertime
Enjoy
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Best Western Ala is a fab little hotel situated off the Santa Maria Vaparetto stop. I was a bit concerned that we would have to walk miles but no Just a few yards and we were at the hotel. there. Great rooms, clean and tidy and nice décor! A canal was right below our window and the gondola's were coming past. Couldn't beat it for value.
And the location was great too. Not far from St. Mark's Square. A nice rooftop area where you can order drinks from the downstairs bar and sip a drink whilst taking in the view. Good atmosphere in the bar thanks to barmen Ray and Dominico; very friendly! Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out over the canal. We had singing gondoliers going past! It was brillia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
So nice from you to share with all community your experience with us... Your wonderful words are a full of energy that encourages us to improve ourselves. Grazie dear Guests, see you soon in Venice!
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a great hotel with lovely rooms and well appointed and wonderful views of the canal from your room. The breakfast was wonderful, eggs, yogurt, meats, cheeses, and pastries as well as fruit. The staff was very helpful and very professional. Considering we got off the water taxi after a storm hit while we were on our way to the hotel. This hotel also had Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, even in your room. If I return to Venice, I would definitely pick this hotel to stay at. It is a short walk to St. Mark's Square and the Grand Canal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz do Sul, RS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very nice hotel. It has a traditional environment of the past centuries which give its typical appearance of an old house of Venice.
Nice and comfortable room, a very good and rich breakfast, with many varied fruits, breads and cakes. Good location and clean space.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlinhatfrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location, close to everything, Giglio vaporetto stop very convenient and short walk with bags. Rooms were individually decorated with attention to detail and character. They even had ice machines, a rarity. Staff is superb friendly and helpful, breakfast is plentiful. Easy walk to St Marks, La Fenice Opera, Accademia etc., but a more relaxed location to come home to. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arat821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent two nights at Hotel Ala - excellent location, right by St Marks Square, and for the water bus stop (Giglio). Very clean, comfortable room, great choice at breakfast. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing with us your holidays. Enjoy your Summer and see you soon again Venice,
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,522 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#38 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing