We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #78 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liberty, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was a very nice hotel. It was very easy to find - right off the Giglio Vaporetto stop on Line #1. Our room looked out into the square. It was a short walk to St. Mark's Square. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be that the bed was not that comfortable - it was a little to firm for my taste. Overall though this was an excellent hotel - clean and friendly and easy to locate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 731mcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear All, really nice from you to share your comment with other Travellers.
Thanks for your great experience with us. See you soon again in Venice
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    802
    187
    46
    28
See reviews for
340
1,121
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel staff was great to deal with and we are especially thankful for the manner in which our transfer arrangements to the airport were cancelled on our behalf while we were on our cruise. They were able to suggest a much less expensive method.
The rooms were comfortable and the buffet breakfast was amazing. We expected a continental type breakfast but it was a full breakfast with bacon, eggs, toasts, cereals, etc.
Please ensure all the staff have our sincere thanks.
If we travel to Venice again the Hotel Ala will be our first choice!

Room Tip: Rooms are all different and any room would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gshaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Fla.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights before a river cruise at the Best Western Ala in Venice.
We had a lovely stay there. The staff was gracious and helpful. the hotel has a fabulous location, 5 minutes from St Marks Square and right off the Giglio Vaporetto stop line 1.
Our room, 310 was on a canal and we could see and hear the gondolas go by under our window.
The room was well appointed ,very clean and had a great a/ c system.
The buffet buffet breakfast was good and a great way to start our day.
The hotel was close to many restaurants....we recommend Vino Vino for dinner.
Splurge and take a private Vaporetto directly from the airport to the back of the hotel (110 Euros)
The hotel roof garden was a great perk to relax in after a long day.
The hotel has a bar for drinks or a late cappuccino.
This hotel is comfortable and has everything you could desire for a reasonable price in pricy Venice !!!

Room Tip: Room 310 faced the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Benjamin0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Friends, Perfect description of all our services and way to work. Your point of view is important to us: we'll share with all our Staff your kind words, always trying to improve ourselves.
A big hug from Venice
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Greater Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Loved this room. We looked for a room close to a water bus terminal as we caught the bus from the train station to out room and from our room to the airport. It was great ,only a 5 minute walk to our room.We asked for a room with a balcony and a bit romantic and we got what we asked for. The room was just beautiful, clean, not too small but not huge and a beautiful bathroom with a spa. The balcony looked out over a canal where the gondolas went by. There was only one problem,I am short and couldn't really see the canal, but I could hear them singing. Hotel Ala is close to San Marcos square,restaurants and the gondola station. We dined at Raphealles as recommended by the hotel and it didn't disappoint, a little expensive but wonderful.the hotel also has a bar which we went to every night before heading off to bed. Venice was beautiful and staying here made our trip to venice very memorable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claireklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Best Western Hotel Ala is nicely situated about a five to ten minute walk from St. Mark's Square. It is nearly directly in front of the St. Maria del Giglio vaporetto stop (Line 1), which makes it easy to get to and from the Santa Lucia train station and the bus station. That being said, allow for 35-50 minutes of travel time; the stop is quite far down the canal (12 stops) so be prepared to sit or stand on the boat for awhile.

The hotel is extremely well-furnished, the rooms and comfortable. Wifi works well, and the breakfast is lovely. In short, I have nothing but nice things to say about this hotel and would definitely stay again if I were to visit Venice again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmgallimore90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in this beautiful hotel only for one night but it provides a comfortable and relaxing base for exploring the heart of Venice and its surroundings. The rooms are tastefully decorated and bed mattresses very comfortable. The front rooms face the square whilst the rear ones offer scenic views of the canal.

Room Tip: The rear rooms are right above the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AresZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We "found" this nice hotel by looking at reviews on TripAdvisor, and the reviews were accurate.

Our desire was to stay at a hotel that was not expensive, had a nice breakfast, with rooms that were well sized, and to have windows on a canal.
All of those criteria were met here.

We got in quite late in the evening, on a rainy night, from the vaperetto stop. Upon leaving the boat we were confronted with a long dark alley. It was the only option! We started walking towards the other end, and within a block came out right in front of the hotel, at a small campo.

The waterstop was S. Maria del Giglio. If you to spend a lot of money, take a water taxi, directly to the door of the hotel. It will cost upwards of 100 euro ea from the bus stop, vs the public vaperetto at under 8 euro. Taking a bag on the vaporetto is acceptable and not difficult. We had come by bus from the Marco Polo airport. We bought our ticket at a ticket station from a clerk, which was simple to do. There is absolutely no motorized traffic or bicycles in Venice. You must travel by foot or water.

We checked in after 10 pm, and were greeted warmly and given our room key quickly. There is a tiny elevator, which will fit two people and their bags, but little else. Stairs are normally a good option, which we used always except when arriving and leaving with our bags. Because we knew we were going to be late we had emailed from Amsterdam to inform the desk.

The room was spotless, had a very nice bathroom, and had two windows overlooking a canal. Rio di Santa Maria Zobenigo canal was the one we overlooked. We occasionally watched the gondolas pass beneath us, 2 floors down. We could also easily hear the singing and playing of instruments in them. Doesn't get better than that!

Lots of storage in the room, a very nice breakfast, and very friendly staff. A lounge was also available, which was quite comfortable and inviting. Everything about the hotel was excellent.
The location, near a vaporetto stop was on a small piazza, with a restaurant in the plaza, some shops, a wonderful decomissioned church. Across a couple of bridges, and we were at the famous St Mark's Church

On the hotel's website you will find a great deal of information to help you choose a room, make reservations, find the hotel, etc. When reserving ask for a deluxe room, with a canal view. Get a confirmation of that.
After a few days in Venice we traveled to our cruise ship for a 17 day cruise back to the U.S., refreshed and with wonderful memories, as usual, in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with canal windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dalesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest, so pleased to get your awesome feedback. You so cute.
Enjoy
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing