We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Ranked #76 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great value for money!”
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We loved our stay at Hotel Ala. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the best of our trip (and we love breakfasts!). The location perfect within walking distance of all the major sites. We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant they recommend and are affiliated with (can't remember the name but it is literally just the other side of the piazza).

We'd thoroughly recommend this hotel. It was great value for money. Our room was lovely with a spa!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarob09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA2494, Silvia - Customer Care at Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
Grazie, grazie, grazie we are delighted that also this year you have decided to stay at our Hotel Ala. It 's important and valuable to us when all our efforts are rewarded with many of our guests stay "reaperts"
See you soon, to discover and experience the "secret Venice" of the Venetians.
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    865
    201
    49
    32
See reviews for
394
1,229
71
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Stayed here with friend - her first visit to Venice. Hotel Ala is in perfect location- 2 minute walk to vaporetto stop and quick walk past beautiful shops to St. Marks Square. It shares piazza with world famous Gritti Palace hotel. Staff helpful,;rooms comfortable and well equipped; breakfasts the best on our trip! Have recommended Hotel Ala to friends and this month using it for Italian adventure package for hospital gala . Best Western hotels in Europe are excellent and more like boutique hotels- we have stayed in them in France, Italy and Poland

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Nothing to complain. Well located, great breakfast, beautiful rooms ... not cheap, but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafaTP_FBPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wandererantwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2009

This summer we stayed for the fourth time in hotel Ala in Venice, and we were so satisfied that we intend to come back in the summer of 2011.
Hotel Ala is a very nice and comfortable hotel with a friendly staff. They will make inquiries and reservations if you want to see something special.
Its location is very good. It is very near San Marco, and a few minutes from piazza Santo Stefanno: a very nice piazza with good restaurants. It is also just a few minutes walk from the Academia, and the Academia bridge where you have a wonderful view on the Canal Grande!
Hotel Ala is just one minute walk from the vapporetto stop, which is an great advantage when you have to carry your luggage.
The hotel also gives a discount voucher for a nice restaurant located nearby along a small canal: restaurant 'Rafaelle'. Enjoy nice Italian food while watching the passing gondolas laden with enjoying tourists and their more annoyed looking male partners.
Don't be afraid to come to Venice during the summer. Piazza San Marco and the Rialto are very crowded, but once in other 'sestieri' Venice is very agreeable and quiet, with lots of magnificent things to see.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wandererAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My mother and I only had 2 nights here and wished we could take the hotel with us on the rest of our travels.
We booked to hotel directly through the Best Western website, a few months out and got a great price for the room.
The hotel is exceptionally easy to find just 2 minutes walk from Vaperatto stop Giglio (Line 1). Our room (271) looked directly onto the square in front of the hotel. The room was best described as "thin". I believe that this was the case as we had requested twin beds. Although "thin" the room was immaculate, very clean and tidy. The room had air conditioning and all the mod cons you would expect. We were also presently surprised when we returned from an afternoon stroll to have the beds turned down. Wi Fi is also available for 24hours for only 2 euro!
Breakfast was superior for European standards with a vast selection of cold cuts, breads and pasteries as well as scrambled eggs! We had an early departutre and the staff were also kind enough to make up a breakfast basket for us to take on our travels.
All in all, considering the price of accommodation in Venice this place is a gem. I would definatley go back to this hotel in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzyRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I stayed at the Ala about 12 days in July. The location is perfect; close enough to San Marco to feel the energy, but not too close. Campo Santa Maria Zobenigo has a peaceful feel yet is steps from Calle Larga for shopping, about 100 yards from the Fenice, 5 minutes from San Marco, and in the other direction 5 minutes to the Accademia Bridge and onward to Dorsoduro, the Guggenheim, etc. Some rooms face a small canal with gondola traffic which is fun. Some rooms face the Campo and the church with great views. The Hotel is a 3 star and is part of the Best Western group. Excellent continental brkfst is served daily, Bar Tarnowska is great for cocktails. The Bar staff take great pride in their work and do a great job. The family also owns Ristorante Da Raffaele which is excellent and the setting on a canal is unbeatable. There is a rooftop terrace with views in every direction. On a clear day, you can see the Dolomite Mountains to the north. The staff was always helpful with any request and also was able to get a room last minute for friends who came in for the night form the Veneto. The hotel is always clean and well attended, and common areas are bright and cheerful. The final weekend of my stay was Redentore and the fireworks display in the lagoon. Spectacular, better than any I've seen before and the whole experience was great fun. The Ala is a great choice for a visit to Venice and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oakleycmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2009

the hotel you look for in venice .nice and quiet rooms .staff so kind great breakfast coming back soon

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venitienParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,842 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#74 of 385 in Venice
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,106 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
2,025 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy

Property: Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient Noble House in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service Line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 yds) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with best cocktails/wines in town. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. Complimentary Water. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Best HYPER SPEED WI-FI in town. Check-in: 2 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing