We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Randomly stumbled upon it, but we're glad we did!”

Chiesa della Madonna dell'Orto
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.69*
and up
72-Hour Venice Transports Pass
Ranked #54 of 700 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Randomly stumbled upon it, but we're glad we did!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We started off our day by walking through the streets of Venice and stumbled upon this beautiful church. We didn't wind up going inside, but we did stay to soak in the beauty of the church!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RN240134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    100
    28
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A bit too far, not very spectacular, except for the paintings by Tintoretto who is buried there. Go instead to Frari or Santi Giovanni e Paolo.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatalinVlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you love Tintoretto......”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I specifically wanted to visit this church because I love Tintoretto's paintings. Well, the Church is in an area of Venice quite off the beaten track, and that already is a plus! Moreover, inside the Church I had a chance of following a free tour offered by a local guide. A great experience for an art lover like me!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RomanHolidays67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Well worth finding this church which is in a quieter sestiere of Venice. We walked from our hotel near the Accademia but the route took us through fascinating parts of the city. The Church contains some beautiful high renaissance paintings. Bring binoculars to see them clearly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gumbycat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Delighful church in a quiet corner of Venice``”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Tucked away in Cannaregio in the Campo Madonna dell'Orto on the Fondamenta Madonna dell'Orto lies this church sometimes known as the "Tintoretto Church". It is an old foundation and was originally dedicated to St. Christopher but in 1377 a statue of the Madonna and Child in a nearby garden was transferred to the church and the name changed. The church was rebuilt between 1399 and 1473 and the interior decorated with several paintings by Tintoretto.
I was fortunate to see the quite small but very beautiful Madonna and Child painted by Giovanni Bellini before it was stolen in 1993. Sadly, it has never been recovered.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiesa della Madonna dell'Orto also viewed

 

Been to Chiesa della Madonna dell'Orto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing