We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Giuliano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Giuliano
Ranked #340 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

The hotel is located in Mestre, near bus stops, 10-15 min (with bus) apart from Venice . Considering that all hotels in Venice center are very expensive, San Giuliano is a good option, rooms are clean, decent space, staff very friendly and able to provide all the information needed for traveling. The breakfast was enough, with lots of sweets..Could use some more diversity on the actual food though. Anyway, we had a good time, and for sure we will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad_002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    70
    71
    41
    27
See reviews for
48
99
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is not at a good location. It was selected by Special Tours. It's a regular hotel (three stars). The rooms are very little, the bathroom has a box so tiny that it's impossible to pick the soap up, if it fell on the ground. We have to have our meals at the restaurant hotel, because the other options are so far away. As our vacation was in winter, it was difficult to walk one km to the nearest one. Wi-fi not free. The refrigerator was completely empty and off.
As it was a very simple hotel, the breakfast was simple too.
We expected high category hotels. In this city we haven't it.

Room Tip: Don´t choose this hotel in your trip to Veneza, Italy. It's badly located, the rooms are small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LINZMEIER_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

We couldn't get a double even though we booked ahead and i saw doubles on a booking site the day before we arrived but when i asked was told we had to pay for a triple. Glad we did when i saw how tiny the room was. Bathroom door had peeling tape wrapped around the lock. Pretty shoddy presentation. Had the worst coffee in Italy at breakfast the next morning - undrinkable. Had to leave our keys with the hotel staff in case they needed to shift our car as parking was crowded - my husband was not at all happy about leaving our keys. On the plus side the bus stop close by was just 10 mins from Venice. Bed was comfortable. But everything seemed to be done 'on the cheap'.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sharroncarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I spend some nights here in June 2012 while attending a conference in Mestre. I picked the hotel for its price and proximity to the conference venue, the latter of which was excellent.
The building itself is pretty old. My room was cell-like narrow and small with a very small bathroom. The bed itself was small, too, and if you really have to work anything else than giving a final touch to a presentation you are about to give, the desk is way too small. I terms of cleanliness the room was ok, not that I would eat from the floor but also nothing to complain about really.
The mornings there started with a rather sad breakfast. Watery and very sweet juices were accompanied by soft white-bread buns and a small selection of stuff to put on them. This was really more to kill the morning hunger than to start fresh and motivated into a working day. However, I understand that Italians in general are not big on breakfast, so maybe that’s something you have to live with in this country.
Slightly annoying, and a real downside if you want to do serious business (or facebooking, etc.) is the bad internet service. WiFi (or any connection) is only available in the small common sitting area and not even fro free. Not up to standard at all nowadays.
Around the hotel, in Mestre it takes a 15-20 minutewlak to reach the next real supermarket and town centre. However, in about 5 minutes you can easily walk to several small kiosks and a few restaurants, including a good but rather expensive Indian one.
To Venice city it takes about 30 minutes by bus, which during the day leaves so frequently that you don’t really need to check the schedule. Tickets are cheaper at the hotel desk than in the bus; 1.80€ vs. 2.30€ if memory serves. Staff at the desk was friendly and helpful.
Generally the hotel was ok, but if you have a bit of time I’d advice to look around for a better or at least cheaper option. Since most probably you are going to visit Venice, it could be good to book early and try to find something cheap there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hotel offers good service for the money. It is clean and the staff is very helpful. They even have a bar next to the reception desk. The rooms are very small, but we managed because we only stayed for a couple of days. There isn't much to choose from at the breakfast and the coffee is not as good as italian coffee usually is. The location is fine, there are restaurants nearby and the bus stop to Venice is very close. The buses go frequently.

I probably wouldn't go there again, it was an ok experience. I definately would not recommend to someone with higher standards, you will be dissapointed, as I was.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaterinaPetrankova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

We've looked into various budget accommodation in Venice; most of them look dodgy and so we decided to look in Mestre, a town just outside Venice. San Giuliano is value for your money. The reception staff are very helpful and speak english. Rooms are very clean and presentable. Bus stop to Venice is just behind the hotel. Venice is only 15mins away. Bus stop to Mestre train station is right in front of the hotel.

Brekky is good, and is included in the room rate. Also nearby is a mini-mart, a fruit stand, at least 2 restaurants and a tabacchi (news agent).

The only thing I didn't like in this place is that wifi's not free.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boogierobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

“San Giuliano” is not one of the best hotels I’ve been in, but still I would say it’s OK if you plan to visit Venice and you don’t want/can’t stay within the city itself. It’s located in Mestre, but actually the location is very good. It’s near the bus stop – something like two blocks (the busses to Venice are on the next big parallel street “San Marco”). Using bus No 12 you’re just about 4 short stops away from Venice (15-20 mins). The public transport is working 24/7 so it’s quite useful. There is a grocery store near the bus stop (one block away). Also big plus for me (especially in Italy) – the hotel really has a parking and we didn’t have any issues with the parking spots. There is no extra charge for the parking.

The hotel is clean. Don’t expect big rooms – they’re quite small, as well as the bathrooms. Actually taking a shower might be a challenge if you’re not a tiny person. Anyway at the end of the day – you have comfortable bed and a place to take a shower and my guess is that nobody goes to Venice to stay into the hotel room. It can get noisy if your room is facing the street or you’re on lower floors. There was an issue with the air conditioning; it was out of order for two days. During the summer situations like this is not pleasant for sure. The breakfast is very simple – mainly cakes and sweets, I wouldn’t call it typical continental breakfast.

Hotel’s staff is friendly, helpful and is speaking English. They can help you if you need any directions or information. You can buy from the reception a card for the public transport (it’s valid also for the vaporreto-s) which I highly recommend. We bought 72 hour cards for 33 euro each and used them a lot!

To summarize – if you need a hotel on a good price, with a place to park your car safely and enjoy Venice, “San Giuliano” will work for you. Of course do not expect more than a clean, small place to sleep and take a shower.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#247 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#198 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Hotel Altieri
#346 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#325 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Russott Hotel
#336 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giuliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giuliano

Property: Hotel San Giuliano
Address: Via Forte Marghera 193/A, 30172 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giuliano 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Giuliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing