We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not, hostel yes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Royal San Marco
Ranked #199 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Only your location deserves worth, because rest of all was terrible. Air conditioning was broke, the paving have got a patch that can hurt, the bathroom do not even have adequate screening that protect the shower against wetting the ground, little room and haven't got place to put the luggages. Therefore, don't recommend and I never comeback there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Temóstenes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal San Marco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel was very impressive, great staff, we had a lovely spacious suite with period furniture to add to the atmosphere and a very comfy bed. would definitely recommend. So close to Piazza San Marco and only a few minutes from the waterbus stop.

Room Tip: We had a suite at the rear of hotel with juliette balconies, peaceful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I left this hotel yesterday. can say "it ruined my trip to Venizia"
the room was cramp , so old ... the bath was so bad!! all the night we couldn't sleep you hear the shower of next rooms.
I 'm sure it's 1 star hotel. the only thing is good is location but it's not worth.I strongly recommend nobody go there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elmirnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Visited in summer 2013. This hotel is very centrally located, close to Piazza S. Marco. The room was OK, but had a weird musty smell- I'm not sure if this is normal for hotels in Venice. It was pretty unpleasant. The room was small, and the internet service didn't work, so we had to go to a cafe down the street to use the computer. The best thing that this hotel has going for it is the location- it really can't be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charmcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The location right next to Piazza S. Marco is fantastic. Some of the rooms are extra small with tiny bathrooms. Everything is clean. Breakfast is good but service is a bit slow. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ella_galili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is a stone's throw from Piazza San Marco and has friendly staff and a great breakfast room going for it. But I stayed there during a work trip so having a quiet room and good internet was important for me. Even though I switched rooms I never did get either. My first room was by the stair so I heard people coming and going at all hours like they were walking through my room. Then I moved to a quiet corridor but the plumbing is set up so that when anyone in the vicinity flushed their toilet I heard a waterfall in the wall and thought water would come exploding through. Also one corner of the wall was covered with mold which was a bit smelly. For the internet a wireless service shows up in your browser as their hotel service that you can buy for 10 Euros a day but I couldn't get that to work and was then told buy the front desk that it doesn't function any more. Instead they rent you a unit that you pay the same for but I tried several of these and none of them worked well enough to even download simple graphic files let alone streaming video.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onebadant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The booking was offered as a 2 night stay prior a Costa Magica cruise. It was my first visit to Venice and I had reservations about carrying my luggage across bridges. The hotel provided me in advance with the directions which was appreciated - although I was a bit sceptic about the time they gave to reach the hotel. What a surprise... just as we crossed the first SMALL bridge, it was in our faces. The booking in process went smoothly (it was a Saturday afternoon). We had a suite on the first floor with the windows open on a 'inner" square. The room had lots of storage and was spacious. It was very quiet, despite the location so close to the St Marco square. The suite had stow away kitchen facilities for "self catering". Although I did not see any pots and pans. The breakfast room was in an adjacent building with a great ambiance. Lots of glass decorations to admire. Self help type of breakfast and a wide variety of food and good service, ie filling up supplies,. We had a bit of misunderstanding about the inclusion/ of the breakfast but it was settled in a professional way. At the reception they provided us with a local map which was very user friendly, and helped to find the Realto Bridge easily. - a few minutes walking from the hotel. We also found a small restaurant close to the hotel that did not charged extra for seated dining. A good location for when you have limited time, ie close to most of the major attractions. If you can afford it, don't hesitate. We made use of vaporette transport for all our excursions.

Room Tip: The room was close to the lifts/stairs but the traffic did not bothered.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIMSPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#245 of 384 in Venice
216 reviews
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#207 of 384 in Venice
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#76 of 384 in Venice
1,013 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#218 of 384 in Venice
894 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#82 of 384 in Venice
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal San Marco

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 848 | Piazza San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £81 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal San Marco Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing