We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, very close to Piazza San Marco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Royal San Marco
Ranked #206 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop on our honeymoon in '07. As expected in Europe, the room was small, but clean, quiet, and served its purpose. We did not go to Venice for the hotel, but rather for its beautiful scenery and we got exactly what we wanted. The hotel staff was very helpful as my husband's luggage was misplaced in Madrid during our layover and they called the airline daily for us, trying to track it down - unfortunately to no avail (not their fault). The continental breakfast was very good with a good variety of breads, crackers, cheeses, and meats. Whenever we have the chance to return, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laaia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in this quaint hotel in Piazza San Marco called Royal San Marco Hotel. Convenient location . It is just behind the St Mark's Square , about 50 meters from where there are outdoor music bands . There is free wifi in the common areas, but not in the rooms. The room is comfortable and clean. They have very strict policies regarding check out times, which is at noon. One can ask the hotel to store your bags in the lobby, please make sure that all your bags are locked and are with name tags. Please do not forget to get the claim stub for your bags. They have a small bar/ lounge where one can wait.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Porter120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights after traveling throughout the whole Italy in June 2012. The night that we got there, it was already late and I can't even star explaining how bad our stay was. It was supposed to be a nice place, but I was afraid of even sleeping in my pajamas, I slept with full clothes and socks, I was afraid of touching anything. The hotel was dirty, it had trash outside of almost every single door, the bed sheets were smelling bad, the shower hardly work, and when it did, the water would leak through the bathtub and go all the way to the bed. That's why the room had also a bad damp smell as well. They put some type of baby power to try to get the smell out, but it makes it worse. If you have a choice, don't stay in this hotel. They saud they were booked, couldn't give us another room. They never even tried to fix anything. I remember sitting at the bed and crying because I've never been in a place as bad as this, and believe I had paid a pretty reasonable price for it!!! Stay away from this place, really!!! If I remember well, we stayed at room 407!!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Ju R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel was just a few metres from the celebrated Saint Mark's Square and within easy reach by boat. The room was quaint, breakfast excellent, staff efficient and helpful. The shower was over the bath.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

After a tossing journey in water taxi from airport walking through Piazza San Marco we reached the destination with guide. In Venice they have not tempered with outer walls so we were not sure of inside of hotel. Lobby was good and we were taken to our suite which was a little away.It was beautiful well kept tempting to stay indoor . Would like to go again some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arunkjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just come back from a fantastic trip to Venice, I was returning after too many years and it was my husbands first trip. The hotel was in a fantastic location and so central, expected a room and got a suite, to our surprise. It was clean and tidy and very spacious which is a plus as space is of a premium!! The breakfast was fine we were both satisfied as we just wanted to get out and see all the wonderful sites!!!!! We will go back to visit and stay at the Royal San Marco again.

Room Tip: We had a suite room 322 it was spacious and very comfortable. Far too much space for us as we were n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

very expensive, uncomfortable beds, rooms are not pretty, uncomfortable andy tiny bathroom, and a whole list of other negative characteristics. In other words it is not worth its value. Only positive characteristic in my opinion is the location, but even not even that is worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjara104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#208 of 385 in Venice
922 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#260 of 385 in Venice
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 385 in Venice
1,041 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#221 of 385 in Venice
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal San Marco

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 848 | Piazza San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £62 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal San Marco Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing