We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Royal San Marco
Ranked #201 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent location, very near San Marco Square and within easy reaching to the vaporettos. Nice and helpful staff. Wonderful rooms and common areas. Breakfast of top quality, free wifi access and taxi drive included

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    349
    228
    127
    97
See reviews for
234
485
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Hotel has a very good position, being located near Piazza San Marco. It is a welcoming hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are quite spacious, with old furniture but in good condition and equipped with LCD TV, minifridge and air conditioning. Sheets and towels are clean and the maintenance service is pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

A fairly average hotel, beautiful clean reception, helpful staff.. However room too small for a double... Most definitely not a 4 star hotel... But the location is unparalleled metres from the piazza San Marco.. However in hindsight I'd pay more and be a little further away

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haseeb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were good sized and the hotel is near the major tourist sites. Down side was the lack of air conditioning for our whole stay. The hotel's solution was to offer a fan, not to repair the AC. The breakfast was the worst we had in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in the Royal San Marco for 2 nights in early July 2014. The staff on reception were helpful if brisk, but the reception was often busy so you cant be too critical.

Anyone looking at hotels in Italy, and venice in particular, must be prepared to accept that 4 star is generally going to be 3 star by UK standards so there is no point complaining that your 4 star room wasnt up to the mark.

I suspect that in this hotel the rooms are something of a lottery. Our room was in the attic and certainly not one that made it into the brouchure. It was small and rather tired. However, it was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was a reasonable size. We also had the benefit of a view across the rooftops of Venice which was really nice.

As per all the other reviews the location is excellent - 20 seconds walk to San Marco.

The breakfast offered was fairly good - continental as well as bacon and eggs are available.

The only real criticism I have is that if you wanted to leave your case at reception if you arrived before you can check in, they simply put it in one of the common areas. Whilst they do put a tag with your name on the case, there is no one monitoring which case you take. We didnt have any problems and risked leaving ipads etc in the cases but other people may find that more of a problem.

Overall, you're not getting a luxury hotel, but you are getting a good one in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 500 and up are the attic rooms and are only accessable via a rather rickety staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just spent three nights at this hotel. It is in a superb location just 50 metres from San Marco Square but that is all that I can recommend. Our room was on the 5th floor but the lift only went to the 4th, say no more. The staff seem unhappy and not very helpful, except for Dev, the barman, who works in the afternoon. He was most informative and was very willing to assist. The Wi Fi is a disgrace. The only areas that has access is the breakfast room which is shut at 10am and an outside area behind hotel. This is an area for smokers next to a smelly canal. How inappropriate for a supposed 4 star hotel!

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

San Marco total hotel is over priced dirty hotel with no faculties we could not get a coffee between breakfast which was not great until the bar opened at 5 we were told we could use the bar opposite although if was the same company it was not part of the hotel when we went to use it got charged 10 euros each cover charged !!! No you could not eat or drink during the day the hotel was do grotty and dirty I asked for extra pillow they said no I asked for umbrella they did not have no sky tv Internet was a little area our of the back where you had to stand outside two alcoholic drinks came to 24 euros the service was appalling I picked the hotel for its location but it's worth walking 5 mins extra than to stay in this hotel it was my husbands birthday while there and I felt do bad I choose it .

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JLuxford_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#270 of 385 in Venice
208 reviews
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#208 of 385 in Venice
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 385 in Venice
976 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#156 of 385 in Venice
392 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#224 of 385 in Venice
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal San Marco

Property: Hotel Royal San Marco
Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 848 | Piazza San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal San Marco Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing