We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal San Marco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Royal San Marco
Ranked #204 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent, 20 metres from Saint Marks Square and brilliant access to all boat services. The rooms were of a good standard; clean, well decorated and the maid service was very good. Breakfast was of a good standard and plenty of choice. Go early though because it started to get very busy around 9 - 9.30. I would use this hotel again due to its location and price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I booked this hotel through Hotwire and was really worried about it upon then reading reviews here. However, I was pleasantly surprised by my experience. The hotel is indeed in the perfect location, just off of Piazza San Marco and walking distance to the Doges Palace. I found the staff to be polite and courteous. The room we were given was more like a suite which was huge considering we were only two people. The room was very clean although some of the furnishings were a bit worn. The bathroom, as expected in Europe, was small. The air conditioning worked efficiently. There was a full American breakfast every morning that was quite good with lots of options. My only problem was the wifi. You had to go out on a back patio with very few seats to use it. That's the only place in the hotel that it worked which I found to be unacceptable. Overall, my experience was pleasant and I fell I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My first visit to venice it was amazing every corner we turned there was a suprise we stayed for three nights but we didnt see everything,st marks square was amaizing but be aware of people trying to sell you things they try forcing things onto you even when you say no. the gondalas are a must it is so relaxing. the hotel was nice clean and comfy breakfast was very good the only thing that was dissapointing was there was no facilaties in our room to make tea or coffee also when i asked for an iron I was told they didnt provide them even though it said in the brocher in our room we should ask at reception appart from that everything was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JANETTE418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It was a very pretty hotel with clean rooms and good quality breakfast produce. The only downside was that we had booked a triple room and when we arrived, we were given a double room with a double bed and a tiny single camp bed. There was no room to open cases and it was very crammed. We asked for a bigger room and they gave us one but we had to wait until the next night before we got it as they said they were fully booked. A bit disappointed with this as we booked and paid for a triple room from the start and they tried to fob us off with just a double room. On a positive note, it was a great location, just round from the Quadro, so central to St Marc's Square. The location was fab and as I mentioned earlier, the breakfast was good quality and their morning coffee was delicious :-)
V. Houston
July 2014

Room Tip: Make sure that if you book a triple room, that you get a triple room and not just a double room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location, and walking distance the main square. It was also convenient to pop in and take a rest stop and use the toilet while exploring the area, as public toilets are lacking. The reception is very welcoming, the rooms were clean and tidy, however we found the bathroom to be very cramped and everything got wet as they had a shower curtain instead of a screen. We also found that wifi was a inconvenience as you could only access it from one area at the back and outside of the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent location, very near San Marco Square and within easy reaching to the vaporettos. Nice and helpful staff. Wonderful rooms and common areas. Breakfast of top quality, free wifi access and taxi drive included

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Hotel has a very good position, being located near Piazza San Marco. It is a welcoming hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are quite spacious, with old furniture but in good condition and equipped with LCD TV, minifridge and air conditioning. Sheets and towels are clean and the maintenance service is pretty good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eric Andrei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#260 of 385 in Venice
216 reviews
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#210 of 385 in Venice
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,029 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#215 of 385 in Venice
908 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#163 of 385 in Venice
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal San Marco

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 848 | Piazza San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £69 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal San Marco 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal San Marco Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing