We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid the annexe”
Review of Palazzo Priuli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Priuli
Ranked #186 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“avoid the annexe”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Venice on the whole was amazing, but to arrive at a picturesque hotel, then to be herded down the road to an attic room with two camp beds put together wasnt really my idea of a romantic weekend, also, no kettles in the room, so to get a coffee you have to work the 100 feet to the main hotel, but only after 7:30?

Room Tip: make sure u are in the main hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whamtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    132
    49
    26
    15
See reviews for
94
204
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I have not been to Hotel Palazzo Priuli for a few years, but recently recommended it to friends who report it is still a gem. When we went there, we were traveling with a grumpy teenage daughter. Even she was happy. The hotel is walking distance to everywhere. The people who work there recommended excellent non-touristic restaurants. One can eat bad food in Venice, but not if you follow the hotel workers suggestions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCV999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Even though we had to be booked out for the 1st night of our stay due to a water issue, we were pleased with Palazzo Pruilli. The décor is just amazing and the historic features are just amazing. The hotel is only 5mins walk for San Marco Plaza and is 10mins form the Railto.

Breakfast is a continental and is plentiful and tasty. They have a sister restaurant, where you can get a discount, which we did not try.

The only thing that was a little bit of a disappointment was that we did not know much about what the hotel had to offer - this may be due to us being moved to another hotel straight and was not explained to us. Apparently there is a terrace. Having stayed in November too, the weather was mild and the room just became unbearably hot at night and the AC had been switched off for the winter.

The staff were very friendly and even recommended a local restaurant which was divine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freakwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Priuli is a wonderful surprise of a boutique period hotel, with only ten rooms over two floors it hasn't the size or manpower to offer typical "4" star amenities.

A well stocked and very reasonably priced mini bar replaces the conventional bar. And the lounge come breakfast room is more than adequate for the sumptuous continental breakfast.
And unlike the three joined building hotel in front, wi fi is completely free in the rooms.

We stayed three nights in November and found this location perfect. It is virtually behind the Danieli amidst a charming T junction of two canals and opposite a junior school just a few minutes from the bustle of the San Zacarria water bus and taxi stops and the jostling gondolas.


Wedder the breakfast lady always had a smile as wide as her face and nothing was too much trouble for her. Joanna and the rest of the reception team were very welcoming and helpful. Our plane landed early but we still got checked in well before the set time.

I only gave 9.4 out of 10 because despite room service and breakfast in the room available, there was no tea/coffee facilities and we would have liked a drink both first thing in the morning and last thing at night.

However there was complimentary Prosecco and soft drinks with nibbles every afternoon.

So it is not suitable for families, the young or old as there is no lift and the stone staircase is lopsided and a little hazardous as the hotel has subsided hence the various cracks in the marble floors etc etc. But all that adds to the fantastic character of the hotel which was the former home of a Doge who had his office just 5 minutes away with a wonderful close up view of the Bridge of Sighs on his daily commute until taking up residence in the Doge's Palace.

Ignore the bad comments, those guests probably made errors in their bookings or didn't read the small print. This is a perfectly charming hotel, with perfectly charming staff, again unlike the hotel out front.

Thank you Hotel Palazzo Priuli for making us so welcome.

Kim and Ann from London Nov 2013

Top Tips:
80 euros for 30 mins or 120 for 45 is the norm.
Stick to the 30 mins and the gondolier will knock 20 off for the 45 minute run taking you under the Rialto bridge. Enjoy!

Turn right up the T junction and follow the back alley to come across a gaggle of gondolas all jostling for punters ( no pun intended)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front get noise from the early departure/arrivals with their wheeled luggage on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_Jerry_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We enjoy staying at this Palazzo since our first visit in 2006. The location is perfect for access to the the tourist sights or many of the quieter Campo's. We love the period decor of the bedrooms with direct view of the Canal and
modern well equipped bathrooms. The ample buffet breakfast offers a good choice and the staff are always helpful.
One thing! You are asked for the tourist tax in cash which I was a little short of having had a great meal the previous evening but that is another review!!

Room Tip: If possible go for a superior room with a view of the front canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Priuli is very old but quaint. Right on one of the little canals. The advertisement states that the water-taxi will let you out right in front of the hotel. Not anymore - it is a fair walk to the hotel from where you get dropped off. It would be best to hire a "meet & greet" person to escort you for the water-taxi ride, then they will call the hotel and a bell hop will come and help with your luggage. For the most part we had to (party of six) handle our own bags. Our room was very good but not what one would look for in the U.S. This is Venice, Italy, & most everything is pretty old but they are doing their best to keep things in working order. The bathroom was large & the water very hot! The bed was a bit hard for our tastes - and the others in our group reported the same. Breakfast was excellent - mostly fruits, yogurt, Danish pastries of every description, good hot coffee and tea. Rolls & cold cuts were available, as were many cold cereals to choose from. Hard boiled eggs & toast or croissants. Restaurants in the area are very, very expensive. For example, for two of us, we shared a salad & each had spaghetti bolognese, with two lemon-soda drinks - total a little over $73.00 US. ATMs are pretty plentiful & Visa & Mastercard are accepted pretty much everywhere. I rate this hotel at 3 stars by U.S. standards.

Room Tip: When using a water taxi be sure and let the hotel know so they can send a bell hop to help with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our recentThree night stay reinforced that quality and service is offerred in abundance. From front desk to waitress service at breakfast time.There was ample selection of cerials, fruits juices, pastries meats, boiled eggs, and of course the wonderful Italian coffee.Bed room looked directly out to canal.Bathroom clean , shower plenty of hot water . Bed initialy appeared to be a tad on the hard side, but having said that a good nights sleep was had , and on awakening no hint of back ache..Water taxi about a 3 minute from Hotel. Much to see with in easy walking distance from St Marks Square, Lagoon, , restraunts aplenty. Do not be put off by those who may say "oh Venice is expensive" Go to Venice with a mind set of walking and getting lost, and be amazed at sights you see down the many narrow ally ways.Make use multiple 1,2 or 3 day bus tickets..Make sure the memory card in your camera has plenty of free space.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Casa Nicolo Priuli
Casa Nicolo Priuli
#217 of 385 in Venice
374 reviews
Castello
Hotel Gabrielli
Hotel Gabrielli
#118 of 385 in Venice
919 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#64 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bella Venezia
Bella Venezia
#212 of 385 in Venice
406 reviews
Castello
Ca' Priuli
Ca' Priuli
#292 of 385 in Venice
94 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 385 in Venice
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Priuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Priuli

Property: Palazzo Priuli
Address: Castello 4979/b Fondamenta de l'Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#122 Family Hotel in Venice
#137 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Priuli 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Priuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Priuli Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing