We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighbourhood bar with a hige choice of foreign beers”
Review of Il Santo Bevitore

Il Santo Bevitore
Ranked #107 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Cannaregio
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great neighbourhood bar with a hige choice of foreign beers”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What afind ! The people are lovely, ghe beer is excellent but the very restricted amount of wines by the glass (or Prosecco) is luke warm. Then again, it's beer youcome for & also some nice snacks. Outdoor seating adds to the very positive feel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AFRScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    103
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a bar/pub stile close to Paolo Sarpi square. You have a good choice of wine, spirits and beer (this is the reason why is called pub). I tried also some "Cicchetti" - typical venice apetizers (e.g.omelette, focaccia, fried shirps). They were all very good. Another good advantage is that, as is not right in the centre of the city, it is slightly cheaper. Definitely a place to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleFox81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great beer”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This little pub is just off the main road: jut cross the bridge at Campo Santa Fosca and there you are. It offers some tables outside which is very nice and relaxing after the rush on the main street
Really wide selection of beer. Not cheap but especial … and don't forget you are in Venice
Interesting decoration of the ceiling: the second time here, we got stuck here during a shower and had a lot to "read".
The bread with topping is good and very fresh.

I highly recommend this little pub.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank carinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Beer Choice by Far”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Wandering along the area's Main Street looking for somewhere to enjoy a pre-meal drink, my wife spotted the sign for "Pub". Luckily this undersells this place as it combines the best of say the British pub format, with that of a continental bar. Great beer choice and clear info to help choose; only perhaps weakened by a lack of local (Italian/Venezian) brews. Great location by a quiet picturesque canal and bridges. And with seats outside you can enjoy a beautiful Venezian sunset if the weather holds and you look the right way between buildings. We went back on our second night for a post meal beer, so that says everything. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Mr-Reeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Terrific late night beer bar in quiet Cannaregio”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Perfect spot for an after dinner drink or a late night out. The bar is conveniently located in quite Cannaregio district, but has a very energetic vibe in the evenings (it opens at 4pm and it stays open late at night). We stopped here several times in our 5 day stay in Venice, due to its close proximity to our B&B. We loved it and we kept coming back. Not only they provide a wide selection of draught beers (at least 10!) but the girls at the bar are highly knowledgeable about their beers and their other drinks, which we deeply admired (they really enjoyed their job and they conferred the place a very energetic and pleasant vibe). The bar also serves cicchetti (small snacks, like tapas). You can sit inside in the beautifully designed bar, or enjoy your drink outside, alongside the canal and the bridge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Santo Bevitore also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Il Santo Bevitore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing