We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis of Calm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnival Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carnival Palace Hotel
Ranked #47 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our family stayed in this hotel for four nights in July, 2013 and were thoroughly delighted by the standard of accommodation and its situation. The hotel is situated in the Canareggio district of Venice and about 200 metres from the usual tourist thoroughfare and, literally, a ten minute stroll from the railway station. As my husband is disabled, we generally travelled by vaparetto but, as we had bought a seven day ticket, this was not too expensive.
The hotel itself was cool and quirky - immaculately decorated and impressively furnished. The staff were friendly and helpful.
I shall certainly recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank You very much for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a pleasure also to know that you enjoyed our modern Venetian decor as well as our authentic location. Thank you again for your positive feedback!

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace and wish you a wonderful day!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    565
    103
    27
    31
See reviews for
331
1,295
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are looking for and upscale hotel in a less noisy and busy part of the city then this is the hotel for you. The hotel is close to the train station, but beware that waterbuses are ridiculously priced at €7 per person per trip and water taxis even more so. Venice is much bigger than expected so the hotel was quite a walking distance from the main attractions although all the little alleys with their quaint shops made it worthwhile. We however enjoyed the peace and quiet in the evenings when we were tired and just wanted to sleep.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful and we really appreciated the fact that they could speak understandable English unlike some other places we have been to. We received a free map of the city from them and they marked a few places for us based on our interest. We also arrived early in the morning so naturally our room was not ready. They offered to store our luggage and by the time we arrived back at the hotel the luggage was already delivered to the room.

Breakfast was very good with a very good variety. We liked that you could take your breakfast in the lovely garden area, but during our stay it was already very hot in the mornings so we stayed inside in the air-conditioned dining area. In the evenings we had some nice coffee and snacks from the bar area. There are a few small restaurants within short walking distance from the hotel so you don’t need to go far for a good meal. It also wasn’t as crowded as some places closer to the tourist areas which was nice.

I would really recommend this hotel to anyone looking for upscale accommodation. The city is already old and dated and most hotels feel they keep the charm by sticking to old décor and antique furniture. This hotel however provides fresh décor in a modern style.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal. You get to see beautiful sunsets and the open sea. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank You very much for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a pleasure also to know that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our Secret Garden!
Thank you again for your positive feedback!

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace and wish you a wonderful time!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My friend and I stayed in this hotel middle of July, 2013. I would strongly recommend it to any one. The room was lovely, The attention to detail was brilliant. It was very clean and modern. The breakfast every day was outstanding with a large selection of food offered. There was even Proseco included in the price.... Could not fault this hotel, would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace we would like to Thank You for sharing your experience about your stay with us! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a pleasure also to know that you enjoyed our Breakfast Carnival Style!
Thank you again for your positive feedback!

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace and wish you wonderful day!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

If modern decor with a Venetian twist is your thing then this is the hotel to stay in Venice. Just a few steps from Tri Archi stop on the 5.1/5.2 waterbus. The hotel is very clean with air conditioning, beds are super king size and the bathrooms include bath/shower and separate shower cubicle with all the stuff you need. We booked two rooms (1 family & 1 double) and both rooms had very similar decor only the family room had a 4 poster bed and a little bit more space (of course). We stayed on the 3rd floor which was very quiet with a view overlooking the canal. The staff were very helpful and breakfast was pretty good. There are few restaurants and cafes in the area which seemed to come alive after 6pm. While seemingly away from the city centre, this was no way less central since it was very close to the ACTV bus station and train station. Where ever you stay in Venice it seems you are bound to take the waterbus or do quite a bit of walking or both. An unlimited pass on the waterbus (while still very expensive) was cheaper than paying for a few single trips up and down the canal @ €6 each way. And for €10 extra you can take the vaporettoarte.com tour which wasn't that bad especially when you need to rest your feet (comfy seats with foot rest). Back to the hotel, we were very statisfied with our stay and compared to other hotels in the same price bracket we think we made the right choice. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay above ground floor if possible for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iam_dre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace we would like to Thank You for sharing your experience about your stay with us! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a great pleasure also to know that you liked out authentic location!
Thank you again for your positive feedback!

Regarding the for poster bed, please note that this is available in certain rooms only. For a future stay if you would like all rooms to have this characteristic I recommend you to mark this on your reservation so we can assign you that type of room.

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace and wish you wonderful summer days!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed two nights in the hotel. It takes 20 mins by foot from Venezia S.Lucia train station to the hotel which might take slightly longer as there are shops and restaurants along the way attracting your eyes. The hotel sits on the one end of grand canal which is very quiet area. There is a waterbus station very close to the hotel. The hotel concept is very nice with carnival all over the hotel. The room is excellent with black colour + gold texture. There is also a bath tub with one led bulb that changes colours giving romantic ambience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TONY_TravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank You very much for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a pleasure also to know that you enjoyed our concept of a modern Venetian decor!

Again, thank you for your positive feedback!
We would be delighted to welcome you once again and wish you a wonderful day!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in Venice, the price of around £100 a night is fair with the rooms being modern, spacious and most importantly clean. It is a walk from the coach drop off, we would recommend jumping on the public coach from Marco Polo airport. It's about €6 each rather than a water taxi, although a water taxi could drop you right at the door. It's then a 15 minute walk to the hotel. The location is excellent but it is a walk from Mark Square and provided you aren't in a rush its a lovely 45 minute stroll. The Staff are not overly smiley or helpful but breakfast is lovely. Be prepared in July and Aug due to the heat most of the places have a siesta around 1pm. Great restaurants near the hotel, we would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitchref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank You very much for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

Again, thank you for your positive feedback!
We would be delighted to welcome you once again and wish you a wonderful day!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June and we were both very impressed. We decided to walk from the train station which wasn't very enjoyable in the blazing heat but only took about 10 minutes to arrive at the hotel. Once we were inside we thought the interiors seemed very modern, cool, with a relaxing atmosphere. We were promptly checked in by the receptionist and arrived at our room which was classed as a Deluxe. Again this was very clean and modern, the bed was so comfortable, the bathroom was lovely with a large walk in shower.

The rooms are very quiet I didn't hear any noise and slept very well. The breakfast buffet had a great selection of food, both hot and cold, and it was great to be able to sit outside. There were quite a few Mosquitos flying about in the hotel but what else do you expect when you're in Venice? They didn't bother us. Service at the bar could be slow but staff there always friendly.

Some reception staff could be rather unfriendly and at times quite rude! This did not however detract from an amazing stay at this lovely hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I found the location to be perfect within easy walking distance of main attractions. We used the Alilaguna boat service while we were there which made things easier!

If you are thinking about booking this hotel, do it! You won't be disappointed!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mchic2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace we would like to Thank You for sharing your experience about your stay with us! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a pleasure also to know that you had a great sleep and enjoyed our breakfast Carnival Palace style! Thank you again for your positive feedback!

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace and wish you wonderfu summer days!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#53 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#20 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnival Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnival Palace Hotel

Property: Carnival Palace Hotel
Address: Cannaregio 929, 30100 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnival Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Cannaregio Canal in historic downtown Venice, the Carnival Palace is an exclusive, sophisticated 4-star boutique hotel, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city, perfect for those who would love to discover the real Venice. The sophisticated elegance of Carnival Palace Hotel is clear from its captivating and romantic contemporary design, which brings to mind the most elegant and authentic Venetian furnishings. The hotel offers 67 comfortable and spacious rooms, all with their own unique style and charm with views of the garden or the Cannaregio Canal. Run by a young couple of hoteliers with the support of a multilingual staff that will take care of your every need, the hotel is easy to reach from the airport and is just a few steps from public transportation hubs, the train station and Venice parking terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Carnival Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing