We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely balance between being close enough and far enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Carnival Palace Hotel
Ranked #49 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely balance between being close enough and far enough”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here in July 2014. We went for the upgrade having got a good deal originally (booked really early). We stayed in a deluxe room with a canal view and it was worth it. We were shown a regular room with a view of the side and we thought it was worth paying the extra. The bathroom in our deluxe room was much bigger and had a bath, shower and a bidet.

The welcome was great - lovely touch with the cold towels at reception. The water bus from the airport arrives at a stop about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. (Much better than going to the train station.)

There are a couple of vapareto stops nearby. Watch for the "recommendations" they give for restaurants etc. We heard some people complaining of them. It is probably better to stick with impartial things like other travellers or certain books.

The breakfast was lovely. 2 types of museli and other cereals, toast you make yourself on one of those conveyor belt things, wine, hot stuff, great coffee etc. And you can eat outside if you like in a lovely patio area courtyard.

Aircon works great. Wifi (as others mention) it a bit shocking but this is Venice - what do you want - Silicon Valley speeds?

I got about 0.25 meg which (when you are used to 4G London) is pretty rubbish. I think all hotels have the same issue so I wouldn't not go here because the Wifi isn't great. If you are that fussed about it don't go to Venice.

The bar area was lovely - a great place to relax at night before bed. Drinks a bit pricey though for the cocktails. A couple of Euros less and we might have tried them!

The hotel was about a 30 min walk from San Marco which I think strikes the right balance between being close enough to the action that you can walk everywhere, including at night, but far enough away that you aren't paying stupid prices for being in the centre.

It is also near Gam Gam if that is what you are into.

Overall - highly recommended. I couldn't think of what they could improve on and I'm pretty discerning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbielondonuk613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Dear Guest

We would like to thank You for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's also a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our breakfast Carnival Style as well as our authentic location!

I also would like to thank you for your understanding regarding the wifi... We have have the most expensive and "fastest" wifi contract (hard to believe, I know).

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you soon again and thank you very much for your positive review!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,341
    583
    106
    27
    32
See reviews for
341
1,342
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I have been to Venice on a number of occasions and have stayed both within and outside of Venice. This time we booked the Carnival Palace Hotel through Qantas. We travelled by private boat and while the hotel doses not have its own pier, the drop off was only a short distance away.
The atmosphere on entering the hotel did not disappoint and our room overlooking the canal was exceptional. Yes the decor not the usual style that you would see in most common hotels but we found it to our liking. The breakfast was more than sufficient and it did not take us long to enjoy the Prosecco every morning which would eventually lead to our couple of Spritz's throughout the day.
Staff were excellent, location was far enough Away from St Marks Square but walkable to most locations with the ferry only a short distance away.
The best part was that you mixed with the locals rather than other tourists which made our visit that much more enjoyable.

We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Dear Guest

We would like to thank You for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's also a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our breakfast Carnival Style as well as our authentic location!

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you soon again and thank you very much for your positive review!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is situated in the quieter end of Venice but that has it's advantages i.e you can easily walk from the station to the hotel with your suitcases. Venice being Venice you will do a LOT of walking, so to me it doesn't really matter where your hotel is.

The hotel itself is immaculate and personally I loved the ultra modern mood lit décor but I suspect it's not to everybody's taste.

Breakfast was excellent, a good selection and topped up right until they stopped serving.

Only slight complaint would be slightly aloof staff on reception.

All in all well recommenced, I struggled to find a modern hotel in Venice but this ticked that box!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTay-Loc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assitant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Dear Guest

We would like to thank You for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast Carnival Style as well as our modern Venetian decoration!

On the other hand I would like to apologise for the fact that you found the staff at the reception a bit aloof. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you soon again to proof the opposite ;O)

Thank you again for your positive review!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto ON Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just a heads up that the directions from the train station to Carnival Palace on tripadvisor and IPhone Maps is incorrect.

This is a pain when carrying luggages. Right in front of the train station is the public boat bus. Take line 5.2 and it's just 2-3 stops to Carnival Palace. The boat stops right in front of the hotel!! 7 euros a ticket per person if you buy on boat and cheaper if you buy your tickets before boarding (not sure where).

Google maps did provide correct directions though. Not a long distance from the train station but with luggages and up/down bridges it does turn into a pretty exhausting workout.

Back to the hotel, the staff are very nice. Breakfast was really good. The bartender makes amazing mojitos!! There's a garden in the back of the hotel where we had drinks and it was sooo nice.

Take a map from the hotel and walk around. We took the 5.1 bus to San Marco (main attraction area) cause it was too hot but we walked back and it wasn't so bad.

Hotel room was really clean and very nicely designed.

We really liked this place.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Dear Guest

We would like to thank You for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you soon again and thank you very much for your positive review!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel was just perfect for our short visit to Venice. Arriving by train, it was a pleasant 10 minute walk from the train station. Located a bit out from the crowded area, it offered a quiet, peaceful setting though it was within easy access to all of Venice's attractions. The staff were welcoming and gracious with helpful suggestions of what to see and how to navigate around the island. The rooms were outstanding, well appointed and quite romantic, just like the city. A wonderful breakfast was served with a huge selection sure to appeal to all tastes. We would surely stay here again. In an expensive city, this hotel offered good value and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assitant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Dear Guest

We would like to thank You for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's also a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our breakfast Carnival Style as well as our authentic location!

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you soon again and thank you very much for your positive review!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here back in May for 3 nights/4 days for our honeymoon and it was a very pleasant stay! We really enjoyed everything this hotel had to offer. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning out on the outdoor patio area and it was delightful. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean, modern, and spacious. Great location, right by the vapretto stop and you can walk almost everywhere. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assitant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Dear Guest

We would like to thank You for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a pleasure to hear also that you enhoyed our Secret Garden very much!

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you soon again and thank you very much for your positive review!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Everything in Venice is expensive, this was worth every penny. Avoid the lobby pc, it's not worth the expense. Ask the front desk to look up or print whatever you need. Room was large, clean, and well furnished.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalPalace, Assitant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Dear Guest

We would like to thank You for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's an honor to be listed as the best hotel you have ever visited! ;O)

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you soon again and thank you very much for your positive review!

Sunny regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#29 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnival Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnival Palace Hotel

Property: Carnival Palace Hotel
Address: Cannaregio 929, 30100 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carnival Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Cannaregio Canal in historic downtown Venice, the Carnival Palace is an exclusive, sophisticated 4-star boutique hotel, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city, perfect for those who would love to discover the real Venice. The sophisticated elegance of Carnival Palace Hotel is clear from its captivating and romantic contemporary design, which brings to mind the most elegant and authentic Venetian furnishings. The hotel offers 67 comfortable and spacious rooms, all with their own unique style and charm with views of the garden or the Cannaregio Canal. Run by a young couple of hoteliers with the support of a multilingual staff that will take care of your every need, the hotel is easy to reach from the airport and is just a few steps from public transportation hubs, the train station and Venice parking terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carnival Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing