We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
668
166
23
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
166
23
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand canalvaporetto stoprialto bridgewater taxiprivate jettysan angelobeautiful hoteljunior suitelarge marble bathroomwalk in closetsmall balconiescomplimentary bottle of proseccoprivate waterjacuzzi bathhotel barexcellent locationorange line
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. They upgraded us to a Deluxe Suite with a Canal view and I'm so glad they did.

We arrived at night at the Venice Santa Lucia Train Station, and took a boat taxi to the hotel. The staff helped us with our luggage right away. The check in process was very smooth, but we did have to pay for internet. The room decor was victorian with the wall paper and the drapes, where as the bathroom was modern; regardless both were super clean and well-maintained. The grand canal was right outside our balcony, and the view, especially early mornings, was breathtaking. Super romantic! We were visiting at a time when there aren't many tourists, so there was no noise from the canal.

The location was very close to restaurants, and regardless where you wanted to go the front desk was very helpful in giving directions. They will help you organize tours, private gondola pick up from the hotels, and absolutely anything else you wanted. Also, if one of the days if you didn't feel like walking through the streets, the hotel is very close to a water public transportation stop. Hotel stop is only one or two stops away from the Rialto bridge.

I took off a star, because one of the nights we walked into our room and as we closed our door.. bang! - a wooden slab covering the vents in the ceiling fell and hit my fiancé on the head. Luckily it was very light, and he didn't experience any major injury. The staff fixed it for us right away!

Overall - Beautiful views of the canal + Great staff + Good breakfast + Watch the ceiling.... jk

Def recommend this hotel + would go back again!

Room Tip: Def get the canal view
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My 17 year old granddaughter and I spent 3 nights in this hotel. Great location -the water bus stops right outside the front door. The hotel is close to the Rialto bridge and several campos (squares). Our room was large and our bathroom was huge. Good buffet breakfast and a nice bar. The decor was a little ornate for my taste, but everything was clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and accommodating. My only complaint was that we had to pay for wi-fi - which was expensive. We visited Rome Florence and Paris and this was the only hotel where we paid for wi-fi access. It seems that this caliber hotel should be offering wi-fi for free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After a recent cruise in the Mediterranean that ended in Venice we decided to stay a few nights in this wonderful Italian city. It had been a few years since we visited Venice and decided for this trip we really wanted to stay in a great location right on the Grand Canal. We chose this hotel for our stay and it was the perfect property. The location was ideal, right on the Grand Canal with a Vaporetto stop less than 200 feet away. The rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was friendly and helpful including organizing our transportation from the cruise ship to the hotel. Also, there is a great bar that overlooks the Grand Canal. For this trip we decided to treat ourselves and spend the extra money to have a room that overlooks the Grand Canal which was worth every penny. Our room had three large double doors that each opened to a small balcony overlooking the Grand Canal which was an amazing view any time of the day. We highly recommend this hotel and the rooms with a view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our family of five (two adults and three pre-teen/teenage children) stayed for three nights in July 2013. We had a fine experience but some improvements would be appreciated.

Pros: Location is quite good. It is easy to find via water taxi (with a private dock) or the water bus dock is just a few feet away. It is located walking distance to all of the major attractions but also a bit removed so the area is not overly crowded which is nice.
We had two interconnecting rooms which were spacious and ideal for a family.
The bathrooms were both quite large and sparkling clean.
Our rooms were located on a side canal providing a quiet sleeping experience. The staff are friendly.

Improvements needed: This was the only hotel (out of six) during our entire trip to Italy that charged for wifi in the room. The hotel charges per device and per hour. It was also inconvenient and somewhat complicated to log-on and enter passwords each time wifi was needed. The rooms and hallways could use updating. The rugs were worn out in places. The beds were rock hard. One of our showers leaked water all over the floor every time it was used. The breakfast did not seem fresh and lacked any sort of special quality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side canals are quieter. The hotel also offers interconnecting rooms which are nice for families.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadelineSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was my third visit to Venice so I knew a little bit more about where I wanted to stay. The location of this hotel is phenomenal. Right on the Grand Canal, steps to the vaporetto, and a close walk to everything without having to stay right in the thick of the crowds. Easy walk to San Marco, Rialto, Accademia bridge. Also, very close to a grocery store so you can pick up snacks/drinks for the room. We arrived early and were amazed that not only was our room ready, but we had been upgraded to a junior suite. The room was well-appointed and quite spacious with windows on three sides and a side canal view. A lovely bottle of prosecco was delivered to our room within 10 minutes of checking in. The good life! The staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times. We looked forward to the breakfast every day, which contained a lot of variety and great food and capuccinos. In short, Venice is one of my favourite cities in the world, I plan to return, and Palazzo Sant'Angelo is my first choice of hotel as far a value for the luxury you receive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverHamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews