We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Ranked #28 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful again”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed in this hotel a little over a year ago and returned with my wife prior to commencing a med cruise. This time I splurged on a grand canal suite which while not cheap is worth every cent. Revisiting the scene of a past great experience is usually fraught with the peril of disappointment but not on this occasion. This hotel is in such a great location. So sonvenient to almost everywhere in Venice (even on foot-but easily using the vaporetto stop at the front door) but also so quiet. A drink at the bar or at a table on the embankment overlooking the grand canal in the late afternoon is simply fantastic. The service is good and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are perfectly decorated and the bathrooms a marble dream. Again I very highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AntipodeanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    151
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
124
478
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The service was great, and the rooms were roomy and comfortable. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFr0mFl0rida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley UK
Level Contributor
238 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I travelled with my mum who is waiting a hip replacement and wanted a hotel easy to get to the ferry this hotel is on the grand canel and you can see rialto bridge and the stop was just down from the hotel with wonderful views so you cant beat the location and the rooms were lovely just as the photos on the website, Venice is not cheap but I thought this hotel was worth the extra splurg to treat my mum and have a convienient location

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annettet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Palazzo Sant'Angelo is a fabulous hotel with much to offer... convenience, luxury & cleanliness. What I liked most about this hotel was the decor of our room... classic venetian style with beautiful wallpaper and two windows that opened right onto a side canal off the Grand Canal. The lobby, which has beautiful marble floors, opens up right to the Grand Canal with a Vaporetto stop less than 20 yards away... you can't beat that! We chose not to even use the Vaporetto and walked everywhere from the hotel...perfect location. The complimentary breakfast was also a nice incentive...a beautiful dining room with a wait staff and buffet style breakfast. While it is a nice and luxurious hotel, I'm not quite sure why it was THE travelers choice for most luxurious last year. Irregardless, I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

I found three downsides to this hotel... the lack of a lift, the cost to use Internet and the size of the rooms. The latter of the three is what bothered me the most considering there were two of us with a sizable amount of luggage so we found it difficult to move around...even the bathroom was small. The shower in the bathroom was rather awkward and caused us to splash water everywhere but that was not a big deal.

A tip... I booked my reservation through www.kayak.com (it ended up taking me to www.skoosh.com) and I obtained a rate far cheaper than what the hotel website requests. The rate from kayak was even much less expensive than that off hotels.com or expedia.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salmantino6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel fo 4 days in September 09 and found it to an excellent and very clean hotel. The location is brilliant, not up near the busy/touristy Rialto bridge area but all within walking distance. It is on the (airport water bus route) - the water bus stops within 10 meters of the hotel (great when you don't know where you are going and are lugging bags!) It is very quiet and pretty. I loved it and will go back there to stay with my Mum who is coming to visit me next year. The breakfast though is the only downside, it was very disappointing - the breads are frankly awful and not a good range available. It is not a cheap hotel so I think they should offer guests a lot better breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseLondon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I spent one night in Venice with my boyfriend, and was delighted to have found such an amazing hotel. We arrived very early, tired from our overnight travel and hot from the humid August weather, and was welcomed by a cool, air coniditioned hotel with the friendliest staff. The hotel wasn't fully booked, so they upgraded us to a Junior Suite, which was above and beyond my expectiations. The suite overlooked the Grand Canal and was incredibly romantic. My favorite thing about this hotel was the location. You are a bit away from St Marks, but everything is a short walk away in Venice so it really doesn't matter (although the narrow/winding streets are confusing). It is so quiet in this area because there aren't millions of tourists running around. The other bonus is that there is a water bus stop right outside the hotel, which makes getting to/from airport and train station very convenient. Some may say this hotel is a bit expensive.....but if u can splurge in one city, let it be Venice. You can save yourself a ton of money if you skip the gondola (130 euro an hour!!!!!!!) and take the water bus instead of the private water taxi from the airport (90 euro vs 13 euro). Breakfast was one of the nicer ones we had in Italy. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaddyCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We recently spent a weekend at his hotel. It is in a great location in Venice and our room did have an amazing view of the Grande Canal, though at a high price. We were disappointed with the breakfast - the bread was very poor and the toaster the slowest I've come across.

Mostly the staff were very helpful, especially those in the breakfast room.

The thing that really grated with us was around internet access. We were keen to use the internet, mainly to check in and print boarding passes and were very shocked to be told that there was a charge of three euros per hour to do this. Given the high cost of the rooms, this gives such a poor impression. We found an internet cafe instead.

The bar was very expensive and we would agree with previous comments that the 'nibbles' offered with drinks were poor quality.

Overall we were disappointed, especially given the very high cost of the room.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nigelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#23 of 385 in Venice
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 385 in Venice
735 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
673 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo

Property: Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Address: Sestiere San Marco 3878/b, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Venice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#48 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SERENEST OF SIGHS Elegant and aristocratic, the SINA Palazzo Sant'Angelo sits like a modern Atlantis on the Grand Canal between the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square. A patrician residence with a luxurious ambience in which to delight in the unique, vibrant, enchanted and romantic experience that is Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing