We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious boutique hotel on the Grand Canal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Ranked #26 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Just returned from this hotel after a terrific 3 night stay. Excellent location- easy access to the airport and the rest of Venice with the boat stops just outside. 10 minute walk to St Mark`s Square and less than 10 minutes walk to the Accademia Bridge. Very pleasant to walk anywhere from the hotel with quaint streets and canals. No crowds near hotel which would be quite a relief during the busy months. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite on arrival which was beautifully decorated with a huge marble bathroom. The room was immaculately clean and overlooked the side canal as well as having views of the grand canal when we stuck our heads out of the window. The huge double bed was very comfortable- but the sofa bed had a thinner mattress which was less comfy to lie on. Venice had not cooled down at night by the end of October so as the air-conditioning was set to heating mode the room felt slightly warm even when the heat was turned off- which meant that we had to open the window on 2 nights. Staff were very helpful - spoke good english and were always very obliging recommending some good restaurants. We found an excellent restaurant- Trattoria Casa Mia on Trip Advisor. It was a nice touch to have printed news sheets available in the lounge- for several countries. Breakfast was very good- lovely scrambled egg and delicious fruit salad. Fresh bread rolls and various filled croissants. Will come back to Venice soon and would definitely stay here. If you email the hotel, they will send you very detailed information about arriving at the hotel from the airport. We found the orange line boat bus to be ideal - less than an hour from the airport to the hotel and less crowded than the vaporetto.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

Venice is like being transported back into the sixteenth century. It conjures up images of canals, gondolas and masks and walking through the narrow streets it is easy to imagine Casanova coming round the corner in his long cloak and three-pointed hat. The hotel is perfectly situated. The Orange Line waterbus will take you from/to the airport for a very reasonable 13 euros per person (a water taxi will charge 95 euros) and the bus stop is right by the hotel so no shlepping suitcases along the busy narrow streets. The waterbuses are punctual: there are no traffic snarl-ups on the Grand Canal. Even so, everything in the San Marco district is within a 15 minute walk of the hotel. Special thanks to hotel receptionist Marco for being so thoughtful ! A tip for photography enthusiasts: the waterbus stops are floating piers that jut into the canal and provide an unobstructed view of the bridges and waterside palazzos.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HandyShandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

My friends and I stayed at the Palazzo Sant Angelo last September 2009 for 4 nights. Overall, I think the hotel does not deserve its high rating on Trip Advisor. I had relied on the reviews and rating when I chose this hotel, and I was disappointed.

Good points: the buffet breakfast was great; a decent spread, and champagne included. The hotel is also located beside the Sant Angelo vaporetto station, and Vaporetto Line 1 – the main line – stops at the station every 10 minutes. The bed was very comfortable, sheets and towels white and pristine. If you like heavy and old red-and-gold brocade drapes and wallpaper in your room, then you’d like this hotel.

Bad points: If you’re paying top dollar hoping to be around the St. Mark’s square area, then do not consider this hotel. The hotel is beside a vaporetto stop and near the Rialto, but it is a looong walk to St. Mark’s. If you want to enjoy Venice late at night in St. Mark’s – an absolute must at least once – then be prepared for a long walk through dark passageways, since vaporettos do not stop at the Sant Angelo station after 11:30pm.

Next: My friends in Room 27 complained that the shower hose leaked (although housekeeping promptly repaired it); in Room 26, the tub Jacuzzi was defective.

Also, this is NOT the hotel to be in when it rains. On our second day in Venice, it POURED, and we hastily made our way back to the hotel because we were drenched and shivering. First bad sign: when we entered the ground floor, they were sweeping flood waters out of the hotel, near the stairway leading up to the rooms. If you had just checked in then, and your luggage was still in the ground floor, it would have been soaked.

Worse, when we entered our room, rain water was pouring in from a window, even when we closed it. So the floor was flooded. We called housekeeping, but the best they could do was line the floor with used bath towels…

A few minutes later, the POWER went off; and stayed off for several hours. No generator, and the room was pitch dark. What upset me was that after a while, other areas and rooms in the hotel had power… but not the rooms assigned to us (rooms 26 and 27).

Because we were still chilled to the bone, and could not take warm showers, we went down to the hotel lobby, hoping to at least warm ourselves by the fireplace. A lot of guests probably had the same idea, because there were several guests in the lobby and bar. Unfortunately, according to management, Venice prohibits lighting fireplaces during “summertime”, regardless of how wet, cold and chilly the weather actually is.

Management did however apologize for the inconvenience, and offered us free drinks at the bar, and a complimentary bottle of wine.

It’s not a bad hotel. It’s fair to middling, a tad over-priced, and not deserving of the high rating it gets on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ahmlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel over the August bank holiday weekend for 4 nights. We arrived in Venice via the airport from the uk and caught the public water taxi direct to a stop within 20 yards of the hotel. The cost for two was 50 euros return excellent service. The hotel has an excellent location, for touring the Venice area generally. The rialto bridge you can see from the hotel and St Marks square is within 15 minutes walk f. The hotel has a really good location on the grand canal in a quiet area.

The room we were allocated was towards the rear of the hotel. It was large with a bedroom and separate seating area two tvs the bath had a Jacuzzi well impressed on the whole with the hotel. The exception was the breakfast if the hotel room was 5 star the breakfast certainly was not, very average. But that besides a great hotel . We did the usual tourist things we tried to visit Harry's Bar but were refused entry due to a dress code we were not aware. Had a great short stay but expensive or what? you just have to forget about it for the few days you are there. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation for 1 LOCATION 2 ROOMS. The other thing I should mention I found Venice on the whole very clean no smells shame about the graffiti

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Excellent service and location.Old world charm and ambiance.Twenty minute walk to St.Marks Square or take water taxi at front door.Room was on 4th floor back with elevator.No views but had king bed,bath with jacuzzi and separate shower.Not much in closet room for clothes.Bed turned down in evening with chocolate on pillow.Breakfast included but eggs were runny.Croissants were so good!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorsforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed in this hotel a little over a year ago and returned with my wife prior to commencing a med cruise. This time I splurged on a grand canal suite which while not cheap is worth every cent. Revisiting the scene of a past great experience is usually fraught with the peril of disappointment but not on this occasion. This hotel is in such a great location. So sonvenient to almost everywhere in Venice (even on foot-but easily using the vaporetto stop at the front door) but also so quiet. A drink at the bar or at a table on the embankment overlooking the grand canal in the late afternoon is simply fantastic. The service is good and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are perfectly decorated and the bathrooms a marble dream. Again I very highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AntipodeanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The service was great, and the rooms were roomy and comfortable. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerFr0mFl0rida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#20 of 385 in Venice
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,046 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 385 in Venice
789 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#6 of 385 in Venice
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo

Address: San Marco 3878/b, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Venice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#48 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £172 - £1,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the Grand Canal, the Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo is the first hotel to have a pedestrian entrance to the Grand Canal, in addition to direct access by boat. "Casa Tito", occupied in part by Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo, was rebuilt in 1954 by architect Angel Scattolin with columns, Corinthian capitals, door mouldings, corbels and pillars and a large number of original paintings illustrating the joyous Venetian life of the late nineteenth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing